We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eclectic hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Triton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Triton
Ranked #67 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Eclectic hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel and was not impressed with the decor, but I think some people really love the decor, so it just wasn't for me. I am used to staying at Hiltons, which are a little more upscale and less eclectic. I loved that they had a happy hour and I loved that they had free bikes to rent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tawnyaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Hi tawnyaluna ~ Thanks for sharing your experience with us. I'm sorry to hear that we weren't the right fit for you. Next time you’re in the city please feel free to reach out to me. We have plenty of other hotels that might better suite your taste. I would be happy to help you find the right one for you.

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    602
    213
    97
    55
See reviews for
249
623
124
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Arrived on Gay Pride Day 2013 - not the best day to drive into San Francisco. We were recommended to try Kimpton Hotels by local friends in the USA. This is not a beige boring place, we loved the colour reflecting the fun and vibrant city we had just arrived in.
This hotel is a refurbished old hotel, with a warm genuine welcome by all the staff and a central location just out of the bustle but an easy stroll into union square area. We also loved being close to Chinatown for a quick dash for noodles and quirky shopping.
Staff at front desk were most helpful with all our little queries from where to have breakfast before our early morning trip to Alcatraz, finding taxis, organizing onward flight confirmations and transport and always a cherry hello and goodbye. My son loved the rubber duckie in his room and had drawn a picture of it on the blackboard in the room, somehow front desk knew about this and mentioned to my son since he loved the rubber duckie so much he was welcome to take it with him...I think little touches like this really make a hotel stay memorable.
We all had a great time here and would not hesitate to return, indeed we are planning to one day!

Room Tip: I think the upper floors would be the preferred rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Hello collsgal ~ TRUST, we don't like the "B" word either (beige)! Thank you for the awesome review!

Come back soon,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

It is a bit quirky but not bad. The room smelled funny (cigarettes perhaps, also there were dogs wandering around the hotel so perhaps that's the reason).

Also my bed was right under the air-con unit. Even though the fan/unit was switched off, unfortunately it still let in some ambient freezing cold air which gave me a head-cold every night. I had to sleep with the covers over my head unfortunately :-(

The wine-hour and cookie-hours are a nice touch, as is the 10$ raid-the-minibar thing where you get to take whatever you want from the minibar up to a value of $10.

The location was excellent, right near Union Square.

If I visited SF again I'd likely stay in a more "run of the mill" place although this was a typical taste of everything SF had to offer.

The service was fantastic - all of the guys at the front desk were v helpful.

Room Tip: Not with an air-con unit above the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p0lak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Hi p0lak ~ Thanks for sharing your experience with us. I'm sorry to hear about your head cold, that's never good. I hope you won't keep this from thinking of us again in the future. Should your plans ever bring you back to the city please reach out to me. I promise you'll be chillin' and not so chilly next time.

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I must say the bed quality was great. I slept like a log. Pillows also great.

Hotel was a bit quirky, but its San Francisco for heavens sake!

Great location, walking everywhere highly recommended. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
HI Christian W ~ From your lips my friend! Thanks for the awesome review.

Till next time,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Having stayed at a number of different hotels in San Francisco, and a number of Kimpton properties across the US, I thought the Triton would be up my alley. We received a very upbeat and cheerful e-mail from the front office manager a few days before arriving. We were told that "we plan to rock your world with our service".

However, the cheerfulness was nowhere to be seen on our arrival. We walked in with a lot of luggage, and got absolutely no support with our bags. We were given our key, and made it to our room. Taste is a very subjective matter, but that aside, we seriously believe that a more tasteless hotel in terms of design and interior decoration is hard to find. We have stayed in many trendy and chic hotels, but the Triton is beyond "shabby chic" and is simply run-down and needs a major revamp urgently. It is the worst Kimpton property we have seen (out of more than > 10 Kimpton hotels we have stayed in the past few years), and is very far from the consistently high level of other Kimpton hotels.

Another area that needs improvement is the service level from some of the staff. There are some outstanding employees including the front office manager, but there are unfortunately several staff members that could benefit from some basic training in how to manage customer relations. If showing an aloof and superior attitude is part of the shabby concept, we are even less impressed.

In summary, there are much better hotels very close by, including a number of Kimpton hotels, so we would suggest you steer clear of the Triton, and choose something else instead.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xp01321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear xp01321 ~ Wow, what can I say other than I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It sounds like we just weren't the right fit for you. As you mentioned, we do have a few other hotels in San Francisco that might better suite your needs. I would be happy to be your guide in discovering the right one for you. I do hope that you won't let this be your last experience with us but if it is, let me at least help you find your home away from home while in SF.

Sincerely,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The Hotel Triton is in an excellent location in SF--striking distance to Union Square shopping, Chinatown, and the Financial District. We actually walked almost everywhere, including AT&T Park (about 20 min), Hayes Valley (about 15 min), and the Haight (about 25 min). It's very convenient.

We chose this hotel because we are fans of Kimpton hotels in general (particularly the Palomar in DC) and liked the funky decor of this one. We also like the free newspapers and the happy hour. At this particular hotel they seemed happy to serve people off the street during happy hour, which made for some interesting and fun encounters. So, we liked the decor, the location, and the amenities.

However, there are a couple of things to note: the rooms are pretty small. I've stayed in other hotels in SF and this was definitely on the small side. If you like a spa bathroom, this is not the place for you; the bathroom was very tight, with the sink outside the bathroom proper. We also had to move from our first room, which was located on the side of the hotel above the alley leading to the Irish bar. This was after three consecutive nights of the recycling truck coming to empty the bottles (there were many) from the dumpsters between 3:30-4:30 am. On the third night they came twice. This was not drowned out by the sound of the window AC unit. So, make sure you stay away from that side of the hotel if possible.

Also, maybe I've been pampered by my experience at the Palomar in DC, but this staff was not that friendly. They never greeted us when we came down in the morning or in for the afternoon. they were nice when spoken to, and couldn't have been nicer when we asked to switch rooms, but they just lacked a certain graciousness. I can't tell if that's all part of the hip/funky/edgy vibe or if it was a lack of training.

Other than that, the stay was great. We also got a good deal on it, which helped. Given another good deal, I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms along the alley. The rooms along Grant and Bush will not have the noises of trash an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cb00561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hello cb00561 ~ Thanks for sharing your experience with our friends on Trip Advisor. I was happy to see that you enjoyed our location. We are in the heart of the city although it hurt to read about your experience with my staff. We like to think that our service is what sets us apart from everyone else. If you're ever back in the city please reach out to me personally, I would be honored to help make your stay as right as a Philly cheese stack!

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
228 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Im not sure i can figure out what the Kimpton 'standard' is? I am new to Kimpton, trying their properties around the country. I was not impressed with this property at all....

The location is good. Across the gate from Chinatown, and just a quick walk to Union Square. The staff is friendly and attentive....

Now...the rest. The decor, in my opinion is dated. Very dated and worn.

As an inner circle member i was upgraded to a small suite. The room was noisy. The 'window unit' air conditioner did not make a good impression with me at all. The bed and mattree was NOT as comfortable as other Kimpton Hotels. The whole room felt a bit 'worn'. The bold and wild colors were probably fun when they were initially installed....but really seemed 'old'.

My room was handicapped, and the entry door opened OUT into the hall. The latch did not have a security cover on it, and this left the lock open and the door edge. A quick trick with a knife could have opened the room easily. I was really surprised at this. They sell a feature to cover this, but none here. The safety lock fixed that once i was in the room....but it was a noticeable problem.

Kimptons standards are all over the place. Old hotels that are quickly remodeled/renovated.....to brand new properties. It confuses me.

I probably wont stay at this property again. I preferred the Prescott over this property.....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesE339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hello JamesE339 ~ Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I was bummed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Please don't let this be your first and last experience with us. If your plans ever bring you back to SF, reach out to me directly. I would be happy to help make your San Francisco adventure memorable for all of the right reasons.

Hope to hear from you,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#66 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#16 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#22 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#54 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Union Square
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
#88 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Triton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Triton

Property: Hotel Triton
Address: 342 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108-3607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Triton 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Triton is a creative vision made real. Sprung from the imaginations of San Francisco artists, the Hotel Triton is a colorful and ever-current showcase of the pop culture that keeps this city vibrant. It is a welcoming wonderland that cares for you as if you were the Greek god for which the hotel is named. Across from the Chinatown gates, the Hotel Triton is conveniently located near San Francisco's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Triton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing