We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Escape”
Review of Hotel Triton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Triton
Ranked #67 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Escape”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I needed a quick night getaway from family festivities so we at last minute booked here. The staff was wonderful and we walked into our room to strawberries and champagne. The hotel is unique and kitchy in a perfect location. They even have leopard print robes!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hey Shannon S ~ We firmly believe that while the kids are away, the parents should PLAY! So happy that you guys had some fun. Come back and visit us again soon, with or without the kids, we won't tell.

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    642
    229
    101
    60
See reviews for
265
680
127
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

First the good: good location, right by the Chinatown gate. Very nice staff. Clean and quiet. The issue is the physical plant. The rooms are small the place is old and tired. Decor is awful and rugs stained. Kimpton group has and will be our go to hotel chain, but it won't be the Triton again. The Francis Drake is near by and lovely but more expensive.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wineo1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello wineo1946 ~ Thanks for sharing you experience with us. I'm sorry to hear that we didn't make the cut. As you mentioned, there are a few other Kimpton hotels in SF. The next time you're in SF please reach out to me, I'd be happy to help you find the right one for you.

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located to explore San Francisco. The staff so helpful and they offer you any advice you need. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. This is the first time we travel to the states and it was lovely being welcomed in such a great hotel. We went to California to celebrate my wife's 30th birthday. The staff ensured that we had a welcome gift of champagne and chocolate for my wife's arrival. Joe at the hotel is fantastic absolutely great at his job and he knows all the best restaurants to eat in San Francisco.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kam_Lall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights, we arrived from Maui at 6:00am so could not check in, staff were really friendly said they would contact us as soon as a room was available , we went off to city until afternoon, returned and room was ready, yes not huge room but very quirky and clean, went to wine tasting at 5:00pm which was a social event with plenty of wine and staff and guests mingled. Great location you can walk every where from here in About 20 minutes. Room had good touches not seen elsewhere like power sockets set in table tops, big theme on healthy eating and fitness, recycling bin in room, continental breakfast was enough for us delivered in paper bag so if wished you could just take it out with you. Staff wee super friendly and helpful with recommendation for eating. Would stay at here again in going back to city.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paulSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi paulSouthWales ~ "Quirky and clean", I couldn't have said it better myself! Thanks for the awesome review.

Come back soon,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Another great kimpton experience. As it is a 3 star hotel we knew it wasn't going to be as good as the 4 star kimptons we have previously stayed in, bit it didn't disappoint. Got a great upgrade to a suite and had a bottle of bubble and funky duck waiting in the room which I loved! Great location just on the edge of Chinatown and walking distance to little Italy and Union square. Would definitely recommend as a funky hotel but could do with a bit of updating in the rooms

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I am in San Francisco for a conference, the most affordable choice with a good review near Moscone Center was the Triton Hotel by Kimpton.
If you join the hotel’s InTouch program, you’re offered room upgrades, discounts, and $10 towards the mini-bar.
My family did not come with me for this trip, that is a good thing, because the room is the size of a postage stamp. It seems upgraded rooms do not apply to conference rates, fair enough.
The good news is that the room is clean, very clean; the staff is very friendly, and it is conveniently located.
The bad news (the pictures can convey most of the experience): the hotel is old, it is an old building. The floor creaks, the tile grout is dark, the carpets should have been replaced a while back. As for the headboard, well, make up your own mind.
The AC unit is a noisy window type; speaking of windows, it seems all rooms with queen beds look into an internal “courtyard” (please see the pic). As I was getting to the room what struck me was a musty humid (dingy?) smell in the corridor and the room. When I complained, they sent housekeeping to open a window. The room does not smell like a non-smoking room, and there have been occasions when I was forced to get up and open the window because of smoke coming in.
In the morning it gets noisy, specially transformers and other cooling units starting up in the back.
The horizontal blinds do not block all light in the early morning.
All in all, for a short business stay, it is convenient, clean, and more affordable than those around. I would not vacation here with my family.
On a side note, the hotel tells you to eat at the Cafe next door, don’t. It’s overpriced and pretentious, although my server was very friendly.

Room Tip: Join the In-Touch program before you make the reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jknights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Really enjoyed Triton when we stayed for 3 nights at the start of our honeymoon. Very welcoming and staff friendly! V funky decor and a great location. Could have better breakfast choice but altogether a really nice hotel!

Room Tip: Choose room away from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#56 of 229 in San Francisco
1,633 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#30 of 229 in San Francisco
2,035 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
1,158 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,763 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Triton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Triton

Property: Hotel Triton
Address: 342 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108-3607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Triton 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Triton is a creative vision made real. Sprung from the imaginations of San Francisco artists, the Hotel Triton is a colorful and ever-current showcase of the pop culture that keeps this city vibrant. It is a welcoming wonderland that cares for you as if you were the Greek god for which the hotel is named. Across from the Chinatown gates, the Hotel Triton is conveniently located near San Francisco's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Triton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing