We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So glad we chose this hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #102 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Richfield, Ohio, United States
1 review
“So glad we chose this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

This hotel was everything good I hoped it would be and none of the bad I feared.

I won't go on and on about location, since it's quite obvious from all of the other reviews the hotel is perfectly situated in downtown San Francisco.

I stayed in an executive king room facing the inner courtyard of the building. The room was large, meticulously cleaned, and smelled wonderful. I especially enjoyed the high ceilings and tall windows. The bed was extremely comfortable with soft cushy down pillows. The provided clock radio included an iPod docking station with two alarm settings. There was a large closet with a safe, iron, and ironing board along with two bath robes and two pair of slippers. A small refrigerator was in the room along with a one cup coffee maker including coffee, creamer, and sweeteners. There was a nice variety of San Francisco branded snacks along with beverages such as Voss water and canned soda in the room for a small fee. The complimentary wifi worked without a hitch and was super fast.

As far as noise is concerned, my husband and I agreed, we have never experienced a more quiet stay in any hotel, anywhere. I travel pretty frequently and during most hotel stays I am used to being woken up by fellow travelers with their usual noises i.e. doors slamming, TV's, showers running, toilets flushing. At this hotel I didn't experience any of the expected hotel noise or any outside noise at all. Honestly, it was the most quiet and peaceful few nights sleep I've had while traveling ever! This was very surprising to both of us, since after reading other reviews we expected just the opposite.

The hotel is not perfectly groomed and doesn't feel brand new, but that is precisely what adds to its character and charm. If you are looking for shiny and new then spend the big bucks and stay at one of the larger hotel chains around the corner and please, for the sake of us all, quit complaining about lovely little places such as this. The Hotel Union Square deserves to be appreciated for its enduring beauty, bumps and all.

I would stay here again and most definitely recommend it to the people I like.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    562
    299
    123
    107
See reviews for
267
589
115
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a Sleep and Soak Queen room for four nights. The room was clean and spacious. The location is excellent for Union Square and about a 50 minute walk to Fishermans Wharf. We had some very minor problems; the sliding doors kept sticking and the hair dryer fused all the lights one morning but when we mentioned it to staff they sorted it for our return. A couple of points worth mention are that there is no natural light/window and the air con unit can be noisy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

I stayed in the Dugout Suite at this hotel the past weekend and it was AMAZING. The staff is so helpful and courteous, and the suite just blew me away. If you're a Giants fan- you have to stay here. Nathalie Toribio is a WONDERFUL sales manager, and if you have a special requests for your stay or are planning a group trip she is amazingly helpful and always makes you feel special.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShivaniBalleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I couldn’t be more delighted that you enjoyed such a wonderful stay in the Dugout Suite at Hotel Union Square. Providing our guests with an exceptional experience and the very best in hospitality is of greatest importance to everyone here. You might be pleased to know that Nathalie our sales manager will receive a special recognition for enticing you to stay with us. Your kind words and appreciation for our efforts will be shared with all of our associates. It would be our distinct pleasure to welcome you again for your next visit to San Francisco, thank you!

Best regards,
Tony Abboud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

For starters, the hotel's location cannot get any better. Right smack next to union square, the cable car lines, MUNI, market street. And there's a massive Walgreens next door. Rooms have free WiFi and housekeeping runs a rather efficient operation. No complaints about noise as my room didn't face Powell. All in all fantastic hotel for business travellers and tourists who aren't here for a spa break. Would most certainly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OtagoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I couldn’t ask for a lovelier review, thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of our great location, and the fact that our housekeeping staff is considerate of our valued guests! We truly appreciate hearing from our guests and learning what they enjoy about Hotel Union Square and it is a thrill to know you would stay with us again. I look forward to your next visit as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Thank you!

Best regards,
Tony Abboud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

This hotel is in a great location close to Market Street, BART, cable car, Union Square, shopping, dining, car hire, etc etc. Good for tourists and business types. The room was very small and the modern furniture might look spiffy but it doesn't work so well. The desk is micro and there is nowhere to work satisfactorily in the room. The late afternoon wine tasting and entertainment in the lobby is great and we actually met people there. Staff were very friendly and helpful at every turn. Computers in the business center are very slow. Not a bad hotel, but I have stayed in better nearby for less cost and will try another place next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Have just spent 2 nights at The Hotel Union Square. My stay was booked last minute and although I haven't checked out what the properties regular rates are I found it to be terribly overpriced for what it was. The reservation was placed on Hotwire and the rate secured was about $230 per night. The room was extremely small with not much room for more than the two beds inside it. The bathroom was minuscule and extremely cramped. The small window made the room feel quite dark. If you are traveling with any amount of luggage it is an ordeal to get to your room, even though there is an elevator you often need to climb stairs in addition to use the elevator as the hotel is very old and every floor as two levels connected by a staircase. The staff at the hotel were very nice and helpful and the location is excellent. Just steps from Union Square, the BART station, cable car stop etc. Despite the friendly staff and great location I don't see myself returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyJayClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Central location - true. Easy SFO access via BART - true. "Good enough" rooms for tourism - true. If you get room with window _not_ towards Powell str, room can be very quiet. It's true that rooms outlook and air quality can be a bit musty, but if you use your room more for sleeping than living there (housekeeping works fine and rooms are clean - things are scuffed, thats another story), this hotel offers value for the money.

Green Features: Clear instructions how to deal with towels and sheets. Always nice to find out as these practices spread all over.
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#112 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,013 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#46 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Property: Hotel Union Square
Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing