We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No windows & Oddly placed Air conditioner”
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #103 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No windows & Oddly placed Air conditioner”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was neat, very David Lynch, happy hour was great, live musician while you sip on wine. The odd thing was there was NO window in our room. No one mentioned this at check-in. It was an extra charge to get a window. The air conditioning was really loud and in the middle of the room. The parking was $45 a day which seemed high. Great location, close to shops and transportation.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a window when you book as well as when you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Josh R,

I would like to thank you for taking the time of leaving a comment on Trip Advisor.
Thank you for pointing out our staff's friendliness, this is very important to us at Hotel Union Square.
I am sorry that your room wasn't as you expected. There is actually no additional fee for a room with a window, but depending on what room type you booked we do have rooms that are on a shaft and do not have much day light. If availability allows us we always try to find a solution to satisfy our guests.
I hope you will stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    606
    324
    132
    118
See reviews for
301
640
120
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moore, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Union Square in late August 2013. The location is outstanding - right by all the shopping and bars and nightlife. The staff was great and the rooms are clean, but I could not get past how uncomfortable the pillows and bed were, it was a rough nights sleep. Plus it's very loud because of the street noise. We also didn't have windows in our room, which made me feel a little closterphobic. It's a boutique style hotel so all the floors look different - nicely decorated and charming. They also have a wine reception in the evening, which is a nice bonus.

Overall, if you're just in it for the location, this is the place. And maybe bring your own pillow.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Msebaker,

Thank you for your comment, we are always looking to improve ourselves. I am sorry that our pillows and beds did not suit you, I will take look into that matter.
Hotel Union Square is located in the heart of Union Square, therefore it can be a little loud at night, we also have room on the courtyard which are very quiet. I hope we could have offered you a better stay.
I hope we can accommodate you again in the future and show you another side of the hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Arrived on 15/9 and spent 3 great nights. Check in was fast and efficient, staff on reception were very welcoming. Rooms are small but have everything you need and are very clean and modern. The room was very quiet (611) no road noise. Marvin the concierge was so helpful and managed to get us Alcatraz tickets. TOP TIP - plan your Alcatraz visit before you come to SF!,,,, it was our 25th wedding anniversary whilst here and we received a lovely bottle of complimentary champagne, so very thoughtful and appreciated. Evening free wine reception was very nice and gave you a chance to swap tips with other travellers. Morning coffee in the lobby was also great. BUT BEST OF ALL - the location!!! Bang smack in the middle of everything! I would definitely stay here again! In fact staying one more night at the end of the 2 weeks when we go to Alcatraz. Why can't we have service in the UK like they provide here??

Room Tip: One at the back, less road noise.we had 611 and it was very quiet, air con a bit noisy though
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Alison0706,

I am so glad you had a good stay with us for your anniversary, this is very rewarding for my staff and me when we receive this type of comment. I will let Marvin know how much his services were appreciated. You were definitely lucky to get a last minute ticket to Alcatraz.
Maybe we will have the pleasure to have you back to celebrate another anniversary!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The Hotel Union Square is in a great location, close to the Powell-Mason cable car line, and just a block and a half from Market Street, where there is a BART station and many street car and bus stops.

Staff is very helpful and polite. The cleaning staff had the room ready hours before our check in.

The elevator is very small and there are a few steps leading to some of the hallways. If steps are a problem for you, be sure to ask for a room on the first floor.

Be sure to ask if your room has air conditioning if it's something you're used to. Coming from Maryland, we we're surprised to find that many hotels in San Francisco don't have air conditioning. The building does have a few rooms with AC, but most don't. Just know that San Francisco hotels typically don't have air conditioning. We opted for a room with A/C over a room with a window/view.

We originally had a smaller room and when asked for a room with A/C we got an upgraded room with more space. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was big with a large tub and a shower head with great water pressure. The TV doesn't have many channels and the picture isn't the best, but for the other things the room offered as being nice, it was ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuhrball77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of our California trip up the coast. The location was great and the staff friendly, but the room was the smallest we have ever stayed in. It had a wierd smell that never went away and our room was right beside the elevator so we hear the "bing" of the elevator all night.

I think there are better value rooms in the same area, so we wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slogan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Slogan30,

Thank you for taking the time of leaving a comment, we are sorry your stay with us did not meet your expectations but thank you for letting us know.
If availability allows us we always try to offer another room if the one offered at check in doesn't suit our guests. I wish we had the chance to make your stay better.
We hope that you will think of us next time you come to San Francisco and maybe give us a second chance.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

You will love pulling up to be greeted by the uniformed "Beefeaters" out front before entering the lovely and quaint lobby.
The service at check in is courteous and the staff is pleasant.
The rooms are nice but not lavish and as others have said are on the small side, but that is not unusual for SF--like NYC space is at premium. I stayed a week and didn't feel closed in at all. If you want the most authentic experience, get a room on Powell Street..watch and hear the street cars. (If you prefer quiet over this true SF experience ask for a different side. )
The location is great...Street car outside the door, other public transport nearby, Convention Center close, half price ticket outlet within walking distance, etc. There is great dining and nightlife near as well...I didn't take my car out once.
This was my second stay here and I'd go back if I needed to stay in this area. The concierge is good..and my advice is to use them as a resource rather than the Beefeaters--both times I failed to do that, were the 2 times I had less than stellar dining experiences.
You would be hard pressed to find a more pleasant staff than the people you will experience at 114 Powell.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuftedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at Hotel Union Square while we were in SF for two night. I would rank our overall stay here as just good. The location was perfect. It is good walking distance from most of the touristy spots in SF.. but also close to the MUNI and cable car stop if you dont feel like walking. Lots of stores around for shopping and Union Square is just around the corner. This is a perfect spot for tourists looking to explore SF.

We stayed in an executive king on the second floor facing Powell Street, right across from UNIQLO. I noticed the street noise as soon as we walked into our room. We had requested for a different room but none were available. After spending a night there, it wasn't too bad, but can be an issue for light sleepers. Cable cars stop around midnight, but there are still people roaming the streets in the late hours. Request a room on a higher floor or facing away from the street if you think you'll have issue with this.

Bed was comfy, room was spacious. There was free wifi and complimentary wine at night in the lobby.

Other than the street noise, another issue we had was the bathroom. It was a little dirty with black shower gunk on the tiles. Also, it seems like the bathroom was not designed for the average person. I'm 5'7" and I found the toilets to be way too tall. My feet were literally dangling off the seat. The shower head was not adjustable and too low. I had to stand at least a foot from the wall so my head could get wet. No joke, it was so absurd I laughed every time I had to go into the bathroom.

Overall, other than the bathroom and road noise, our stay was good. It was only for two nights so we could deal with the imperfections.

Pro: Great locaton, free WIFI, complimentary evening wine, spacious room

Con: Weird bathroom design , road noise

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the streets or on a higher floor if you are a light sleeper. Execut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 228 in San Francisco
1,326 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#109 of 228 in San Francisco
1,868 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 228 in San Francisco
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#87 of 228 in San Francisco
1,644 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,192 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#122 of 228 in San Francisco
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Property: Hotel Union Square
Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing