We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Union Square”
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #101 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Los Angeles, California, USA
1 review
“Great Hotel in Union Square”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel was in a great location and within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. Public transportation was within a five minute walk. Our room was on the 5th floor with a view of the street below. The hotel staff was very eager to please and couldn't have asked for a better experience. I would definitely stay at this hotel on a return visit to San Francisco.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Makenna121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Makenna121,

Thank you for letting us know how pleased you were of your stay at Hotel Union Square, I will let the staff know that you were very pleased with them too. Positive comments from our guests really brightens our day.
We hope to have you back soon next time you stay in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    616
    330
    135
    118
See reviews for
311
646
120
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

my family and I stayed here in September 2013. The hotel is located in a very central area especially for tourists, cable cars right outside the door. All the staff are very helpful. The coffee in the mornings and wine hour in the evening are a great touch. The rooms are a good size. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Walgreens is across the road for anything you may need we had great breakfasts next door at Tads Restaurant which was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaB2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear TInaB2803,

How pleasant it is to know that we made your stay a delightful one! I am happy that you were able to enjoy our wine hour and the live music from 5pm to 6pm. Hotel Union Square is located in the center of everything and it seems that you really took advantage of all the possibilities it offers you.
It would be a pleasure to have you back with us. Thanks again for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have stayed at this property a number of times and find it a port of refuge amidst the clamor of Union Square and all things (all night) San Francisco. Ina building replete with original brick and quiet carpeted corridors that bespeak of a civility of calm and respect, I love the bathrooms and their understated modernity that offers both convenience and cleanliness. I truly feel like an honored guest here -- from the front desk check-in to my entry into a room where a breathe of fresh air is met with comfort, style and respite.

Room Tip: If you like the sound of cable car bells outside your window, ask for the front facing windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpssmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Alpssmile,

Thank you so much for your kind words about Hotel Union Square and the pleasure you have staying with us. It is very touching.
I hope you will be able to come back soon to offer you another great experience.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernando, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here Sept 14-18 for our 30th anniversary. When he let them know what the occasion was in advance, they upgraded our room and left a nice bottle of wine for us! The staff was outstanding, especially Jewel who was extremely friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions. The location is great-stores and restaurants within walking distance and easy access to public transportation to go anywhere you want in the city. Our room overlooked Powell Street and we were not bothered by noise. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The wine reception in the evening was fun- we were able to meet and chat with visitors from all over, which we enjoyed. I don't think we could have picked a better place to stay for our first trip to San Francisco and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Jan C,

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Union Square to celebrate your 30th anniversary, we are so happy my team and I to have been able to contribute in making that date an unforgettable one.
I will convey your kind words about Jewel to him, he will be delighted to know that you enjoyed his service.
We definitely expect you next time you come to San Francisco.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at Hotel Union Square, wanted to stay 5 but they were fully booked. The location is excellent on Powell Street with the fascinating sounds of the cable cars and the atmosphere of a lively city. We had a room at the back which was newly decorated quite large for a city hotel and with sliding opaque doors to the bathroom which made the room seem larger. It was very very quiet although it took a while to get used to having no window and no daylight.A couple of nice touches were the coffee in the morning and the late afternoon wine drinking hour. There is a Walgreens directly across the road which we used for breakfast and food on the go and this was excellent fare. All the staff were very helpful and courteous, the only minor negative was that we had booked an early morning call for 6.00 a.m. for a trip pick up. When asked why we hadn't received the call the response was that they couldnt get through on the phone. Surely knowing how important it was someone could have knocked on the door . However this didnt detract from our opinion of the hotel and staff. I would definitely stay here again and would reccomend the hotel Union Square

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pennybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Pennybobs,

Thank you for taking the time of leaving a comment on Trip Advisor, I wish that we had been able to extend your stay with us, it looks like you had a great time in our Sleep and Soak room.
I would like to apologize for that missed wake up call and let you know that the matter will be addressed with the front desk ,I am glad this did not tarnish your stay but we should have found a solution right away.
We hope that you will choose Hotel Union Square again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I liked this hotel a lot. The location was awesome for visiting San Francisco and the rooms were a good size for the area. We had an ADA room, so the bathroom was huge! The staff were very nice and helpful, they were able to take care of anything we asked for. The room itself was awesome, it had a 60's motif to it which was very cool. I would definitely stay here again.

My only complaints would be that the bathroom didn't have enough shelf space. Seriously, that is the only complaint I could make. Other than this, I was very happy with the hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is shaped like an empty box, we stayed on the inside of the box. No view, but it was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrealhsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Tyrealhsm,

Thanks a lot for your very nice comment and also for letting us know about the areas that needs improvement. We are happy that you had a nice stay in San Francisco with us and we hope that you will return to Hotel Union Square for your next trip to this beautiful city.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Also a member of the Personality Hotels Chain, like its sister hotel Diva, this one is in fact better and a bit larger, though it is situated right next to a budget steakhouse. It is on one of the active and commercial streets, Powell. (1 block down you can grab the famed Powell Street cable car). The rooms are good size and wifi is good. Beds are comfy. Some rooms can be noisy due to location but if you dont mind being in Union Square, this is a busy but convenient location. I was there for business, but reasonable for families also.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimparklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,340 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#67 of 229 in San Francisco
3,953 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#108 of 229 in San Francisco
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#96 of 229 in San Francisco
1,731 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,228 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#49 of 229 in San Francisco
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Property: Hotel Union Square
Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing