We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the heart of things”
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #102 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Right in the heart of things”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Tripadvisor is my bible when travelling and I forgot rule number one: make notes of important reviews.
I had read that the rooms on the street-side were noisy but forgot to make that request directly to hotel before arriving and ended up with very disrupted nights here.
That aside, the hotel is in a fabulous location, is spotlessly clean, comfortable and staffed with friendly, helpful people.
Make sure you ask for a room at the back of the hotel and you will have a great time here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucketlist100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Bucketlist100,

Thank you very much for your very nice comment. It is true that we are located in the heart of the city and depending on what you are used to in terms of street noise, it can get a little loud. Our courtyard rooms are definitely more quiet.
We hope we will have the pleasure to have you back.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    581
    308
    127
    116
See reviews for
280
605
118
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Small hotel room but to be expected given it’s prime location in Central San Francisco. The bathroom was quite dark even during the day and would benefit from better lighting. Room was always made up nicely upon return. Friendly front desk staff and helpful concierge. Ideally located close to Macy’s, Union Square and other shopping. Cable car stopped very close to hotel and the supermarket across the street was handy. A very busy and well-lit area at night so safe to walk around.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking a parking lot was quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjw026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I appreciate the history and feel of this hotel. Its historical character can be seen in the rooms and inside of the building. I find the rooms here a decent size and love that it is close to many amenities. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Because the building is brick, it has good soundproofing. But if you have a room with a window on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaHapner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hi NinaHapner,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and happy to know that our staff was helpful and friendly. We hope you will choose Hotel Union Square for your next stay in San Francisco.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Domitille Montoro
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So Cal
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Only a short walk away from the Powell St BART station. Lots of activities on the streets so pretty safe to walk around even later on at night. Many panhandlers that may follow you around though.

The hotel is very easy to miss as the entrance is pretty nondescript among all the stores. Staff was very friendly and I made sure to ask for an interior room, away from all the street and cable car noise. I read a review from another site that advised that and I recommend the same unless you're not sensitive to sounds when you sleep. Room was small but modern looking and room enough for 2 people to move around. Closet was a good size. Bathroom had the rain shower. Very nice.

Bed was queen size I believe but it was a little sloped to one side, which felt a little odd if you were to try to roll over from one side to the other. My room was facing the other side of rooms separated by an exterior corridor. It was nice and quiet.

Price was a little higher than other parts of San Francisco but reasonable for being in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelmoreSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Rock, IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Had a wonderful stay at this location. Our first impression was a bit skewed because there was no parking out front of the hotel. We tried unloading while getting yelled at by SFPD. But all turned out well, when we found the expensive parking behind the hotel. The staff was AWESOME. They answered all our questions and were always kind and willing to help. We chose our room, but it was very small. No big deal. The bathroom was also small, but the shower made up for it! It was very nice. The hotel couldn't be more centrally located. It is right by all the mass transit choices. Also, the 5-6P wine was a bonus! I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Richard D,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for choosing Hotel Union Square during your trip to San Francisco. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards
Domitille Montoro
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Excellent stay and he staff was very kind. Gregory was a delight. The beds are so comfortable and the amenities were just as great. Ideal location for a trip to SF. Our room was spacious and beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Emily D,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for choosing Hotel Union Square during your trip to San Francisco. We are so glad that you enjoyed our amenities and your overall stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards
Domitille Montoro
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stayed there for 5 nights, for a conference. The location is excellent, right next to Union Square and to metro lines, and the old trolley. The hotel staff is friendly. And the complimentary wine at the end of the day is great. The rooms are ok, at best. Small, old, and the bathroom entirely too small. Overall a nice stay, but the rooms are not all that comfortable.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street. Very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andres C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Afcf_97,

Thank you for taking the time of leaving a comment about your stay. I am very pleased that you liked our staff and the overall atmosphere of the hotel.
On the other hand I am disappointed that your room did not meet your expectation, maybe one of our Executive King rooms would have better suited you.
We hope that you will stay with us again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#114 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,824 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,105 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#46 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Property: Hotel Union Square
Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing