We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #102 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

If you're looking to be right near Union Square but not paying a fortune, this is a reasonably-priced hotel (I wouldn't call it "boutique" myself) with pleasant staff and the kind of rooms you'd expect in an old SF building - a bit small, but perfectly clean and adequate. If you're doing San Francisco "right" you're not going to be spending a lot of time in the room!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BravoCharlie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    576
    304
    124
    111
See reviews for
276
598
117
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great Location. -- Near Cable Cars, Union Sq, Shopping. We reserved a Kids Suite - large corner room with trendel bed for kids and excellent king bed for parents. Kids loved it. Parking $40 overnight. Hotel located in the city and you should expect noise - however we were up early and it wasn't a problem for us. Just one note - I felt carpet was little dusty and requred good cleaning.
To summarize: If you have kids I would highly recomend "kids suite". Great value and good location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi Paul S,

Thank you so much for taking your time and share you experience with other travelers. It is very important for us for us to know what made your experience special, as well as points of improvement. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning for your next trip to San Francisco.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best Regards
Domitille Montoro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great location - train from airport stops about 200m from hotel
near cable car starting point, near union sq - macy's etc and loads of restaurants
Room was decent size, nice bathroom, good value for money, cute little touches makes it a pretty design
they even offer free coffee in the morning and wine in the evening!
wifi in room was free
some noise from street, but not a problem
would stay again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We loved our stay here. We had a great sized room with a fab shower, fridge, safe and big comfy bed. Hotel was nicely decorated and high standards of cleanliness.
Great location and despite being in the city we didn't find the noise a problem.
The only thing missing was a kettle.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katyratbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HULL CITY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here in Febuary for 3 night, the rooms clean a little dark, all you required for a short stay, breakfast was plentifull, very cenral, shops and restaurant right on you door step. Open bus across the road takes you to the pier and fishemans wharf. we found this very usefull.
There is a pool, the area looked nice and clean.

Room Tip: our room was a bit dark. 2 floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Although Hotel Union Square has an excellent location, the room I stayed in was incredibly small and a major disappointment for the price I paid. Bathroom and work desk space was also not up to par. Flimsy work desk chair too. Security lock didn't work either and it took me an average of 12 times to enable the room key/card to work.

Photos of the room are very misleading - no frills, no robe - can use a better description

Being a native Northern Californian, I stayed in several hotels in San Francisco but decided to try something different. Needless to say, I will not be coming back to this hotel. Front desk service was also below par.

Room Tip: Definitely make sure you know what you're getting with the "No Frills Double"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tristarsbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Tristarbr,

First of I would like to thank you for taking the time of leaving a review on Trip Advisor.
What a disappointment to read that your stay did not match your expectations. I am terribly sorry that you had some issues with your lock and the furniture in your room. I don't know if we had the opportunity to, but I wish we had the chance to fix those issues and/or change your room.
Making our guests happy is what we continuously aim at and we hope that you will reconsider staying with us another time and get the stay you were expecting.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I'm staying at this hotel for 4 nights (5 until 9 March 2014) with my husband at the 3rd floor.
This is our first trip to US and since we will have a long trip, we brought heavy baggage. On day 2, the one and only lift available in this hotel is out of service and continued until the last day of our visit. The last night before check out, the hotel management had already told us by letter that, since the elevator is out of service, they will provide service to carry our baggage, on that time, my husband told me that this hotel have a very good service and next time we visit SF we are planning to stay again here.
The next morning when we checked out, my husband call the receptionist to send someone for helping us carrying our luggage. To our surprise, he (the receptionist) told us that there aren't any people who can help us and he told us to bring down the luggage on our own...
What kind of hotel is this? after giving us the memo to help carrying the luggage and when we really need the service they told us that they cannot help?
We end up to carry on 5 luggage our own, from 3rd floor without someone from the hotel (even the receptionist) who can help us.
I will never staying in this hotel again, ever!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkdonuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Pinkdonuts,

Thank you very much for taking the time of writing a review about your stay.
I am very disappointed to read that you did not have a good experience while staying with us.
First of all I would like to apologize for the inconvenience of the main elevator being down. While waiting for it to be repaired we did offer to all of our guests the use of the service elevator which needs to be operated by someone.
I am sincerely sorry that you did not get the assistance you were asking for and rest assured that this matter will be addressed with the Front Desk. This is certainly not the type of service we want to offer our guests.
I f you were to change your mind I would be more than happy to take care of your reservation myself and given the opportunity we would show you that what happen during your stay is not the norm at Hotel Union Square.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#112 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,788 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,062 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#50 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Property: Hotel Union Square
Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing