We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Staff was great”
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #102 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Makati, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Staff was great”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Hotel is very near Cable car and Bart Station and most of the shops. Hotel Staff especially Jewel was very helpful to all our needs. Rooms are big and modern. Bathroom is very nice with a cool shower and bath tub. I will definitely come back here.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a window and a bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi Plan Y,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Union Square, and for taking your time to write such a nice review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will think of us again on your next visit to San Francisco.

We hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,
Domitille Montoro
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    581
    310
    127
    116
See reviews for
281
606
118
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very close to trams and other transport links - busy shopping, retail and entertainment areas close by. This hotel was clean and served us well for a 3 night stay. The room was hot and stuffy in the warmer days but 30 mins of the a/c fixes it. My only complaints would be that the pillows are low quality with no stuffing. Plus quite hot and stuffy with little ventilation. But as I said there is an a/c there to fix that. You could do a lot worse than staying here.

Room Tip: Close to transport
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRfromNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hi MRfromNewcastle,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Union Square during your trip to San Francisco. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be sure to share your feedback with the housekeeping staff. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards
Megan Brandt, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

When we first arrived to the hotel, the mousy voiced receptionist couldn't find our reservation that we had pre-payed for. It took a while to find the reservation, and the girl didn't seem to care or try to find it.

The room had a duvet blanket without a duvet cover, just a sheet under it (did not feel fresh at all to have a blanket with no blanket cover over it)

The hotel also told us they would take our card and charge 50 upon arrival as security deposit but charged us on two different occasions causing our debit cards to reserve -100 bucks for us without our knowledge and when we checked our bank and asked the receptionist she just said "woops, yah, I don't know why we did that"

The rooms were EXTREMELY LOUD, not sound proof in the slightest, could hear our neighbors conversations all night and morning long.

And last but not least, we had booked a taxi the night before heading to Oakland airport. At 5 pm our taxi came but he refused to take us to the airport, the hotel had booked the wrong taxi company, and instead of helping us, said it will be hard to find a new taxi company, and offered us a town car at double the cost, when they had mistakingly booked the wrong taxi for us, causing us to rush out into the streets with all of our luggage trying to find a cab in rush hour to catch our flight.

Not helpful, not clean, not nice.
Don't stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ppfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mannehaut, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear traveler, Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to contribute a review. I do apologize deeply that your stay with us wasn't what was expected and I understand you are disappointed.

I am sincerely sorry that you did not get the Service you were asking for and rest assured that this matter will be addressed with the Front Desk. This is certainly not the type of service we want to offer our guests.

If you were to change your mind I would be more than happy to take care of your reservation myself and given the opportunity we would show you that what happen during your stay is not the norm at Hotel Union Square.

Kind Regards

Gregory Baur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Hotel Union Station for a long weekend. We very much enjoyed our room, and made use of the coffee and wine service. The staff, especially housekeeping, was incredibly helpful and pleasant. The location is great as are the accommodations. I recommend HUS for your next San Fran trip!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Union Square in San Francisco for 6 nights. The location is perfect, right in the middle of Union Square and the cable car and Bart stations are just near by.
The staff is nice and they take the time to help you when you ask for directions.
Our room was clean but so tiny, we were not that annoyed because we were only in the hotel at night but we didn't expect that and the price doesn't worth it. Another detail is that you have to pay almost 4 dollars for each small bottle of water you drink in the room, it is the first time I paid for water in a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faïza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

There is no doubt Hotel Union Square is centrally located, and it has plenty of character, but peaceful it is not.

Admittedly, I stayed on the weekend preceding St. Patrick's day, but party or no party, I expect to be able to get some sleep when I book into a hotel after an flight over the Atlantic.

People running up and down the stairs, along the corridors, hooting and hollering, stomping their feet, triggering a fire alarm or two, for pretty much most of the night. The weak sound proofing did not help, and the hotel staff did not see any reason to interfere with these goings on either.

Aside from this, the room was pretty dank and musty. At least it was clean as were the sheets. The corridors smell of the next door noodle place though, so fresh air is at a premium.

I would recommend this hotel to partygoers who intend to stay out all night and sleep all day, but not for anyone trying to cope with the horror that is jetlag.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality_Hotels, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I do sincerely apologize for your unsatisfactory stay. As you mentioned, St. Patty's Day is very busy for hotels, restaurants and bars in San Francisco. That is why I personally, do not celebrate my birthday on this day (Yes, I was a St. Patty's Day baby!).

However, I do want to share that we are a family friendly hotel which features a Kid's Suite, kids stay amenities and we are centrally located in the heart of San Francisco. We also have rooms that are located in isolated locations that may be quieter.

With that mentioned, if you are not totally convinced by my response to return to Hotel Union Square, our Collection of boutique hotels, Personality Hotels, does have other hotels in San Francisco that may better suit your needs.

Best regards,

David Chin
COO, Engage Hospitality/Personality Hotels Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Thin walls. No windows in room that looked outside. 2 small windows that looked into a ventilation shaft and were locked. Light in bathroom broken. Door card reader faulty. Too hot in room and mobile air con was stuck on high. Sounded like an F16. When air con was off you could hear all the hotel maintenance staff talking.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmashingPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mannehaut, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear SmashingPete,

Thank you for taking the time of writing a comment about your stay, I am very disappointed to read that you did not feel comfortable staying with us. I truly apologize for those circumstances.

Our hotel is more than a 100 years old and we do have very different room types also facing the street. I wish you would have tried a different room type that you would have felt comfortable into.

Making our guests happy is what we continuously aim at and if you will reconsider giving us a second chance, I would like to take care of your reservation and make sure you will have a great stay with us at the Hotel Union Square!

Sending my best wishes from San Francisco,

Gregory Baur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#113 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,834 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,111 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#46 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Property: Hotel Union Square
Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing