We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #98 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We chose this hotel largely due to its location, which was great! It was easy walking distance of most areas and is surrounded by great shopping. Directly opposite is an upmarket wallgreens selling amazing fresh produce: smoothies etc.. perfect green smoothie to take for breakfast which on route to sites.

The hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful, concierge was very knowledgeable. We chose one of the Junior suites which was very spacious and quirky. Really nice bathroom and seating area.. there are elements of the hotel that needs a little maintenance in terms of skirting cracks but these are totally minor. As its a lovely hotel that I would recommend.

N.B. Tram stops outside to left and right of hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James N A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Hi james-andreaF,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and with other travelers. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and the amazing location. We hope you will choose Hotel Union Square for your next stay in San Francisco.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Warm Regards,
Janine Rauen
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

819 - 825 of 1,812 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Made a reservation through Orbitz, confirmed directly with the hotel's reservations department, showed up to check in for our room, there was no reservation. Had upgraded to a Executive King bed, they didn't have any more of those rooms left. Said there was an Executive Queen room available (which was fine), that "had a really good air conditioner in the room." (Side note, I've worked in hotels for many years and knew that was an "interesting" comment to make about the room)
Got to the room and there wasn't even a window in the room, it was pretty awful. Asked for something else, and were shown some tiny rooms that were not close to what we booked. Finally found a room that we had to upgrade and pay more for, but were told we would have to move the next day to a new room. Also tried to call the reservations department to see if they could find the reservation on their end (since they had confirmed it with us) and they completely blew us off and told us they didn't have the reservation and we had to talk to the front desk (who was over his head).
Got up the next day and got ready for the day and packed everything up for the room move. Went down to the front desk and told them all our stuff was packed for the move. We were informed that we actually didn't have to move rooms. Really wish they had left us a message or called us or something so we didn't pack up everything first thing in the morning, only to unpack it again. Overall the room we upgraded to was pretty good, had a nice view over the street below, but the front desk staff was poorly trained and follow-up was non-existent.
One thing positive is that the Concierge was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I would say call to confirm the reservation with the hotel directly, but that didn't work for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattyd1518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domitille M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Mattyd1518,

I'd like to personally thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel on tripadvisor. I am very disappointed to find that our hotel did not meet your expectations. I apologize for the inconvenience that was caused during your check-in process regarding locating your reservation in our system. I find it surprising that we weren't able to retrieve your reservation especially since you mentioned calling the hotel after the fact to ensure that everything was in place. Unfortunately this is one of the downfalls when booking through third party websites as we always suggest booking directly with the hotel. It appears you were put into one of our sleep and soak rooms which helps for a more intimate setting, however I can see this wasn't to your liking and I apologize for that. I am happy to hear that we eventually found a room that was to your satisfaction. Rest assured these matters will be discussed with our front desk and housekeeping staff as we are always looking for new ways to improve the guest experience. If you change your mind about staying with us please feel free to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to take care of your reservation for you. Thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have just spent a week in San Francisco, a fabulous city. The Hotel Union Square is so centrally situated, right in the centre of shopping, restaurants, cable cars and all other methods of transport. The staff are efficient, friendly and helpful, in particular Reuben the concierge and Coffee the receptionist, who were on duty most evenings. The free wine and guitar player at "happy hour" was much appreciated, along with the coffee from early in the morning. As with all the hotels we stayed in our tour of the USA free wifi is available. If we ever return to San Francisco we would definitely stay there. Our stay in California was part of a 5 week first ever visit to the USA celebrating our Golden Wedding

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor facing Ellis Street, no problem with noise. May have been noisier facing P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loftyNorthBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear loftyNorthBucks,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us, and congratulations for your Golden Wedding. We so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will choose Hotel Union Square for your next stay in San Francisco.

We hope we get the chance to welcoming you again at Hotel Union Square in the near future,

Warm Regards,
Janine Rauen
Guest Relations,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here on business last week. Booked here due to the location (close to Moscone Center) and much lower cost compared to other places.

Rooms were much smaller than expected -- not much more than a queen bed, chair, end table and dresser could fit in there. Tiny closet, and small bathroom. Not much of a problem -- since since I didn't spend much time in there -- but just something to know before you go! Rooms were in good shape - friendly housekeeping staff that did a great job keeping things clean.

Hotel staff at the front desk were good to work with as well - hooked us up with restaurant and taxi reservations -- quick and pain free!

One downside was that I had a room with a fire escape - which meant no air conditioner... so I had to leave the windows open to keep it cool -- which also meant leaving open windows to the fire escape. Not the best feeling in the world - but if that's a deal breaker - make sure to request a room without the fire escape!

Room Tip: Request room without fire escape for security, and to make sure you get an air conditioner. Rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I would definitely recommend this hotel. The receptionist provided me with the Dugout Suite, which i think is perfect. I am a tourist and have been to SF a number of times but when I got in this room, it reminded me again how fun it is to travel. The interior is flooded with SF Giants decors and stuff, the room is very spacious, you can entertain guests here, the corner room has huge windows which gives you a view of Powell and Ellis sts. The room is very unique and has a fun ambience. They even provide you with a jar of peanuts for free to give you a better dugout feel. You can view the room here: http://www.hotelunionsquare.com/rooms/dugout-suite/#. I like that from the outside, you'll see the SF Giants window blinds of the room. The most important thing for me is the hotel's location is very convenient and close to almost everything. It's a short distance from the BART stations and a few minutes distance from Greyhound station. Shops and restaurants surround this hotel. The staff are all accommodating and very friendly, they make you feel right at home. The hotel is clean, bathroom is clean, got free wifi, the bed is really comfortable, the room has a study table which I need. I will definitely come back and definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabyNowALady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Location location location. This hotel puts you in the thick of it with shops, cable cars, and transit all nearby. Hot wired it for a good deal. I would stay here again. Small rooms, but you really don't want to spend your days in your hotel room anyhow.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clausvalca5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here for 1 night on 15/04/2014. Small hotel but very clean and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Free wifi service. Rooms were a little compact but very clean. Location was great with shopping and eating houses around. It felt like a home away from home with the staff very helpful and extremely pleasant.

Definitely recommend this hotel is looking for good price and friendly personal service.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room away from the front street and upper floors as the noise from the street can be a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irv789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi irv789,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Union Square. We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and would recommend our hotel to other travelers. We hope to see you during your next trip to San Francisco!

Best Regards,
Megan Brandt
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4,040 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
1,375 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,712 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#104 of 230 in San Francisco
1,884 reviews
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £97 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing