We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ottima posizione” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #102 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Ottima posizione”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is in a central location, close to Union Square and Market Street. Also in dintroni plenty of shops and restaurants! The rooms are not very big but clean and in style 50 years. Private parking with a small fee.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Alessio,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review and share it with other travelers. It is very important for us to know what made your experience so special. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning for your next trip to San Francisco. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best Regards
Megan Brandt
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    558
    299
    122
    107
See reviews for
267
587
114
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Amazing hotel, the staff are wonderful the location is wonderful and the room is very very cosy. best decision as the rooms were clean the bed was soft and comfortable and the concierge was very helpful. early check in was not a problem at all.

Room Tip: room is a perfect size, and a very spacious bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Sam S,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for choosing Hotel Union Square during your trip to San Francisco. We are so glad that you enjoyed the staff and got a good nights sleep in our beds! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Megan Brandt
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend in March, the hotel staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a great location and for the price provide exactly what we needed for our short stay in San Fran. This hotel is not luxurious and the rooms are not large, however if you are just looking a nice place to sleep in a convenient location I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front of the hotel, but we were never really bothered by noise. However if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cj_loves_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi cj_loves_holidays,

Thank you for sharing your your experience with us and other travelers. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will choose Hotel Union Square for your next stay in San Francisco.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Warm Regards,
Janine Rauen,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

One of 2 of my favorite hotels to stay in in S.F. The rooms are clean, modern and the beds and pillows snuggle you in for a great nights rest. Right in the heart of it all.. Downtown SF.. the cable car line right at the front of the hotel, busses, taxi's or just walk.. Fishermans Wharf, Pier 39, The Marina are so easy to get to from there. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Kids Suite has it all if you're traveling with your family.. It has a King Sized bed and a twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Greetings Rosanne g,

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Union Squarel. We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience and enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again during your future visits to San Francisco. Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

Warm Regards
Janine Rauen
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james-andreaF
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We chose this hotel largely due to its location, which was great! It was easy walking distance of most areas and is surrounded by great shopping. Directly opposite is an upmarket wallgreens selling amazing fresh produce: smoothies etc.. perfect green smoothie to take for breakfast which on route to sites.

The hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful, concierge was very knowledgeable. We chose one of the Junior suites which was very spacious and quirky. Really nice bathroom and seating area.. there are elements of the hotel that needs a little maintenance in terms of skirting cracks but these are totally minor. As its a lovely hotel that I would recommend.

N.B. Tram stops outside to left and right of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hi james-andreaF,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and with other travelers. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and the amazing location. We hope you will choose Hotel Union Square for your next stay in San Francisco.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Warm Regards,
Janine Rauen
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowmass Village, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Made a reservation through Orbitz, confirmed directly with the hotel's reservations department, showed up to check in for our room, there was no reservation. Had upgraded to a Executive King bed, they didn't have any more of those rooms left. Said there was an Executive Queen room available (which was fine), that "had a really good air conditioner in the room." (Side note, I've worked in hotels for many years and knew that was an "interesting" comment to make about the room)
Got to the room and there wasn't even a window in the room, it was pretty awful. Asked for something else, and were shown some tiny rooms that were not close to what we booked. Finally found a room that we had to upgrade and pay more for, but were told we would have to move the next day to a new room. Also tried to call the reservations department to see if they could find the reservation on their end (since they had confirmed it with us) and they completely blew us off and told us they didn't have the reservation and we had to talk to the front desk (who was over his head).
Got up the next day and got ready for the day and packed everything up for the room move. Went down to the front desk and told them all our stuff was packed for the move. We were informed that we actually didn't have to move rooms. Really wish they had left us a message or called us or something so we didn't pack up everything first thing in the morning, only to unpack it again. Overall the room we upgraded to was pretty good, had a nice view over the street below, but the front desk staff was poorly trained and follow-up was non-existent.
One thing positive is that the Concierge was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I would say call to confirm the reservation with the hotel directly, but that didn't work for us...
See more room tips
Green Features: Don't remember seeing much of anything...didn't ask for housekeeping one day.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattyd1518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domitille M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Mattyd1518,

I'd like to personally thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel on tripadvisor. I am very disappointed to find that our hotel did not meet your expectations. I apologize for the inconvenience that was caused during your check-in process regarding locating your reservation in our system. I find it surprising that we weren't able to retrieve your reservation especially since you mentioned calling the hotel after the fact to ensure that everything was in place. Unfortunately this is one of the downfalls when booking through third party websites as we always suggest booking directly with the hotel. It appears you were put into one of our sleep and soak rooms which helps for a more intimate setting, however I can see this wasn't to your liking and I apologize for that. I am happy to hear that we eventually found a room that was to your satisfaction. Rest assured these matters will be discussed with our front desk and housekeeping staff as we are always looking for new ways to improve the guest experience. If you change your mind about staying with us please feel free to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to take care of your reservation for you. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bucks
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have just spent a week in San Francisco, a fabulous city. The Hotel Union Square is so centrally situated, right in the centre of shopping, restaurants, cable cars and all other methods of transport. The staff are efficient, friendly and helpful, in particular Reuben the concierge and Coffee the receptionist, who were on duty most evenings. The free wine and guitar player at "happy hour" was much appreciated, along with the coffee from early in the morning. As with all the hotels we stayed in our tour of the USA free wifi is available. If we ever return to San Francisco we would definitely stay there. Our stay in California was part of a 5 week first ever visit to the USA celebrating our Golden Wedding

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor facing Ellis Street, no problem with noise. May have been noisier facing P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loftyNorthBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear loftyNorthBucks,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us, and congratulations for your Golden Wedding. We so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will choose Hotel Union Square for your next stay in San Francisco.

We hope we get the chance to welcoming you again at Hotel Union Square in the near future,

Warm Regards,
Janine Rauen
Guest Relations,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#114 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#72 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#46 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#74 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Property: Hotel Union Square
Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing