We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but had some noise issues”
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #103 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location but had some noise issues”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Spent 3 nights here in June as part of a 1 month holiday through America travelling from Australia. Hotel is older style but recently renovated and quite funky. Our room was large and bed/pillows comfortable. No vanity in bathroom so no bench space but was beautifully tiled and clean. Our room was in the middle of the building so had no view but also no street noise, Steps ran up on the outside of our room from the hallway and people could be heard walking up these during the night. One night there was a party above us, loud music, stomping and screaming came from room we called front desk who were apologetic and said they would call them and get them to stop. It took 3 more calls and a trip down to front desk to finally get the noise to settle until it started again around 3.30am. I do believe the police were called in the end to quieten the party so probably just bad luck that we were there the same time these inconsiderate people were but did put a dampener on our time here. On check out the day after the party we were given free parking after telling morning staff of noise problems which we appreciated and a number of manager as she was not in at the time. We never heard from manager however staff were good about it, handled it well just bad luck on our end I think!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 913MelaniE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi 913MelaniE,

Thank you so much for staying with us at Hotel Union Square during your trip to San Francisco! We appreciate your patience and understanding with the issue at hand and glad it was dealt with accordingly. Hope to have you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Dana Andrews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    594
    317
    129
    117
See reviews for
291
624
119
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel. Its location was absolute perfection. All the stores are walking distance, places to eat, places to see. The staff was very friendly. The beds and pillows are so comfortable that I was a little upset when I got back from vacay and had to sleep on my bed. I recommend this hotel to anyone. I will definitely be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anitas235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi anitas235,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will choose Hotel Union Square for your next stay in San Francisco and enjoy our comfortable beds all over again.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

In June spent four nights at this hotel. It is an older hotel that has been renovated but retains some of it's old world charm. Rooms were well furbished, beds were super comfortable, all was clean and well kept. Just half a block from the Powell turn around for the cable car which takes you right down to Fisherman's Wharf. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a quick breakfast/lunch then Walgreens right across the street has basically a deli and all kinds of food items.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi EdieH,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience. We are glad you had a great stay and enjoyed our staff -they enjoyed you as well. We hope you will choose Hotel Union Square for your next stay in San Francisco.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Megan Brandt
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel was just newly renovated when we stayed and it looks terrific! From the outside you would never know how awesome this place is-it truly is a hidden gem. Upon walking in the lobby is gorgeous, modern, and sleek. In the mornings there is coffee available and wine during happy hour in the lobby. The staff is very attentive and friendly. There was an incident while we were in the lobby with a homeless man coming into the lobby and causing some rucous but the staff handled the situation immediately and very professionally. The room we had was not very large but was perfect for two and was decorated beautifully. I would definelty stay here again and would recommend the Union Square Hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay while in San Francisco.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Traveller,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and happy to hear that our staff handled everything with grace and professionalism. We hope you will choose Hotel Union Square for your next stay in San Francisco.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The taxi pulled up at the hotel and I'm thinking "what has the travel agent done to us" all I could see was a row of old buildings and one little, easily missed door to the hotel, but what a surprise, never judge a book by it's cover, it turned out to be a gem!!! The rooms were very trendy and clean but best of all comfortable beds and pillows. Staff were extremely helpful and took the time to explain everything properly, I never felt as though I was getting rushed because they were busy. The hotel is very central in a good part of the city, with public transport basically outside the door. The main tour bus stop is a couple of minutes walk away, supermarket is over the road, China town is 15 minutes walk and of course shopping is everywhere. Loved San Francisco and would I go to this hotel again? Most definitely!!!

Room Tip: We faced the main road but you couldn't hear a sound in the room and being a small boutique hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Greetings!

We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience staying with us at Hotel Union Square. We hope to see you during your future visits to San Francisco and enjoy our beds all over again. Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

Warm Regards,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Not having an idea of the area for our first visit to San Fran, we made a good choice by staying at this location. The location was perfect.....in the midst of the cable car turnaround which is literally a few steps outside of the hotel entrance, in walking distance from Macy's, and that area as well.

Walls are a bit thin, but it was quiet when I needed it to be. Hallway was dark and elevator was slow. Furniture was a bit dated. No scenery in the room. We enjoyed our stay in spite of those items.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here last week for vacation. The location is fantastic. It is easy to get to the hotel from the airport on BART for about $8 each way. It is easy to get to the major bus lines and cable cars. I recommend the location.

The staff was really friendly and accommodating.

The room was small and older, but exactly what you'd expect for the location. it was clean and the bed was comfortable. There were not a lot of fancy amenities, but I got a great deal on the price. I didn't expect anything fancy. We did request a mini-fridge for our room, and they brought that right over to us.

We chose a sleep and soak room which had no windows but had a soaker tub. In hindsight, I'd have chosen a room with windows for a little more air circulation. The room was warm the first night until we managed to work out the air system and the fan. The tub wasn't useful for us. I am six foot tall, and so is my husband. He's also really broad. The tub didn't really accommodate us. It was clean, and wouldn't hesitate to use it if my legs were a bit shorter. If you are a bit under six foot and of a normal frame, the soaker tub would be fine.

Room Tip: We chose a sleep and soak room which had no windows but had a soaker tub. In hindsight, I'd hav...
See more room tips
Green Features: They did have separate bins for trash and recyclables in the room. They didn't have a sign about conserving water, but when we hung up our towels on the rack, they didn't automatically take them for washing.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smyrnagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#113 of 228 in San Francisco
1,842 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
1,309 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#46 of 228 in San Francisco
1,710 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
1,531 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Property: Hotel Union Square
Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing