We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect. ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #101 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights.
On arrival the hotel didn't have my reservation even though I'd booked a junior suite directly through their own site and had the confirmation in my hand. After a brief phone call to her superiors the lady at the check in desk upgraded us to the penthouse. A lovely gesture.
I can't vouch for the others rooms but the penthouse is amazing, the private decking area on the roof is just amazing.
Hotel itself is in a perfect location on powell, right next to cable turnaround and union square.
All staff friendly and helpful.
Memorable experience and would recommend to friends and family alike.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MarkScorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    567
    299
    123
    108
See reviews for
270
591
116
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

we stayed there in a sleep and soak room, we chose this one cause my bf and I like to basically be out of the hotel all day long walking and enjoying the city, so for the price/quality it was amazing! is the best location you can get to move around, just all around you have all kind of stores and the cable car few steps from it and the best the bart 1 block away which made it easier to move from-to the airport, my only "but" would be the room is quite dark and hot cause is not facing the main street or a window, but the staff always kept the fans and AC on to receive us in a cool room, it is definitely a personality hotel in decoration and service! honestly if you want a perfect location this is the one..

Room Tip: sleep & soak room- if what you want is a great location, this is a simple room with good price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abril P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Abril,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for choosing Hotel Union Square. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location ideal for exploring San Francisco. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Megan Brandt Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Totally fit the bill for my business trip and meetings across the Square…However, I will say that I felt a bit weird like I was walking into a 1980's brothel. In Eastern Europe. Designed by Dracula.

Way over stylized,dated, a tad loud and even a little creepy if you're coming in alone and late night as I did from the airport.

Clean, compact, and a bit bare, the rooms are the typical size you would find in the historical buildings of the area.
If you're not used to that or interested in something more luxe, check whether they offer suites, or try a hotel in a modernized building.
The location is convenient to the tourist attractions and the staff was very friendly and knowledgable.
They also offer morning coffee and a Happy Hour with complimentary wine.
I believe there is a very close BART station as well.

Green Features: The did offer a great thing, the opportunity to buy water for the underprivileged when you buy the water in the room…$3 a bottle or so, and you get to help the world! Great!
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDanielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domitille M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor. I am sorry that our hotel did not meet your expecations. The last thing I would want is for our guests to feel weird staying at our hotel. Please consider one of our sister properties also located near Union Square on your next visit to San Francisco. Hotel Diva will offer a similar decor with a modern style, and Kensington Park for an elegant style hotel. Once again I do apologize for not meeting your needs, I do hope you change your mind and try one of our sister properties instead. Have a wonderful day.

Lennin B. Ledesma
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel is an average hotel, rooms are not very large and can be a little dark if not facing the main street. All the rooms dont have a safe because of which we were forced to change rooms. However the location of the hotel is fabulous and would recommend it for someone who would like to keep the budget under control.

Room Tip: look for a room with a safe facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samdalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

If you are looking for a location literally in the middle of the fun and action in San Francisco's must-see Union Square, only to be matched with some of the kindest and helpful hotel staff, Hotel Union Square is a not-to-miss destination!!

We stayed here for 3 nights and adored every moment we had at this property! In the midst of numerous lodging options in Union Square, the lovely boutique hotel is perfect for those who want to eat, enjoy, and shop in the heart of the City while staying at a hotel with a more personable and friendly atmosphere.

What's not to love when you can hop on a cable car right outside the front door (or get onto BART to go to another much desired SF location), have access to virtually any shopping option imaginable, get a great sampling of the delicious food options the city offers, weeknight happy/social hour to meet-and-greet with other hotel patrons, and come back to smiling faces greeting you kindly every time you leave and return!

All the hotel staff we interacted with there, from the hotel front desk agents, to the concierge staff, to the parking attendants, and to housekeeping were so very polite and helpful. Our suite was tastefully decorated with a nice modern flair! Kudos for such a wonderful property that truly is *Personality* plus!! Talk about living up to its namesake as part of the Personality Hotels Collection!

Thanks so much for a tremendously enjoyable stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calify01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi calify01,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Union Square. We hope you will choose us for your next stay in San Francisco and enjoy all the Personality this city has to offer!

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Best Regards,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here in the 'Kids Suite' during Oracle week, (couldn't change dates due to the rest the trip) and yes, rates were very high, but so were all hotels around Union Square. Having spend a week or so prior relaxing in Southern California and Anaheim, trying to find a parking space and walking around the San Fran CBD with suitcases, children in tow etc was an eye opener to say the least but one in the hotel, things calmed down a bit. The hotel had some negative reviews so I wasn't expecting brilliance but I was pleasantly surprised. It's not a 'cookie cutter' hotel where everything is perfect (boring) so if that's what you are looking for, maybe this might not suit. We however loved it, and had a great four days here. The staff were great, the location is perfect and the only challenge was finding parking, which we later discovered was right out the back of the hotel. Nice bathroom and I loved sitting on the window sill looking down on the goings on on Powell St. I'd recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for the funky suites - they are great - space wise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oztreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello Traveller,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience! We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the Kids Suite and were able to find a comfortable escape from the city with your family. We hope you will choose Hotel Union Square for your next stay in San Francisco.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and we loved every second we spent in the hotel!
Hotel itself is in a fantastic location, right next to the BART from the airport, tram line, good shopping and right next to decent food joints.
As I planned to get propose here I contacted the concierge before my arrival and he upgraded us to the Dashiell Hammett suite which was a corner room on the 5th floor and wow what a room!! They also supplied us with free chocolates and champagne on the day of the engagement! All the hotel staff we spoke to were polite and helpful. Thanks for a great stay!!!
PS, only downside was that was quite noisy at night, but who cares you're in a city!!!!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Traveller,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for choosing Hotel Union Square during your trip to San Francisco. We are so glad that you were able to upgrade for your proposal and enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Congratulations on your engagement!

Best Regards,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#109 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#72 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,745 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#74 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#45 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Property: Hotel Union Square
Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing