We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, very poor reception staff who don't always tell the truth.”
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #103 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location, very poor reception staff who don't always tell the truth.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Excellent location. Final room clean and comfortable. However despite booking more than six months in advance a two queen room, we were initially put in a weird kid suite( with a talking clown) and one bed. Alex on reception even lied to us and said it was an upgrade, and the hotel was full. After a heated conversation in which he again told blatant lies a room was located, that matched what we booked. Manager rang to apologise, and said they would follow up and contact us again to see if there was anything they could do or offer, this never happened. Stayed 4 nights, location excellent, good luck with the room selection and reception staff.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hgreh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domitille M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your review. I am truly sorry about the inconvenience that was caused during your stay. Rest assured the issues concerning your check-in have been addressed with my staff. If I can recall correctly, I followed up with you shortly after your check-in and apologized, I also asked if there was anything else I could do for you in which you declined. I am sorry that you had a bad stay at our hotel and hope that you would consider staying with us again.

Lennin B. Ledesma
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    594
    317
    130
    117
See reviews for
291
624
119
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
149 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Located in central downtown SF, just a block from the Cable Car Powell Station and the subway. is a renovated building in a modern fashion. The hotel has access to a restaurant next door (Tad´s Steakhouse) that is quite fine for breakfast and subs. There are a lot of option for other hotels in the area, but it deserves a chance just because of its location, is perfect; I give not a higher rating because compared to other hotels the Union Square is just fine, but it not pretend to be the finest one, simply be a good option for travelers that clearly stay in the hotel just for the night. The rooms are clean and well maintained, the bathroom also comfortable and the quietness is a plus, even that we were in a room facing Powell Street.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillermo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have stayed in SF many, many times in the last 5 years. I have stayed in old hotels, new hotels, ugly hotels & beautiful hotels. I booked this room based on the pictures on the website. The rooms looked very "hip" and modernized considering the building is almost 100 years old. I figured since i was taking my girlfriend for her first trip to SF, this would be a very pleasant place to stay. I even booked the "sleep and soak" room, thinking it was the nicer of the room options. and considering I paid over $400 for 2 nights. Upon arriving, the lobby was very nice and "hip" as the photos suggested. We were assigned room 619, but before we entered the elevator, the concierge stopped us and told us he was going to give us room with a better air conditioner (623). When we finally made it to our room, we were surprised to see that the room was very small and had NO windows to the outside world, at all. Going to the Bathroom was another problem. The neat looking sliding glass doors would not stay closed. which made for a very uncomfortable time when trying to privately "do our business". There was a very sharp towel rack in the very small tub/shower. We both continuously scrapped our backs, arms and shoulders on while trying to take a shower. We both have the cuts to take home as souvenirs. The bed seemed as though it was as old as the building itself, VERY VERY uncomfortable. I dont often have trouble sleeping or wake up with back pain. but the first night, i barely slept since the bed was so uncomfortable. The second night I was able to sleep only because i was so tired from not sleeping the night before. but woke up with terrible back pain that lasted the rest of my trip and make for an extremely uncomfortable 8 hour drive home. I had to have my key re programmed 2 times in the 2 days we stayed there because it stopped working on my door, which was very frustrating because we had to go all the way back to the lobby after long days of walking the city when all we wanted to do was lay down and rest. All in all, I am very dissatisfied with this hotel. I will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cavz903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domitille M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadivsor. I am truly sorry about the stay that you had hear at our hotel. I've taken note all of the issues in which were mentioned and had our maintenance department follow up on everything. I wish you had contacted the desk during your stay to voice your concerns so that we were able to move you into a different room. Once again I apologize for everything and hope that you change your mind about our hotel.

Lennin B. Ledesma
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is right in the middle of Union Square. It is an older boutique hotel with unique design and style. The staff was wonderful, the room exceptionally clean, and is located in the middle of shops and restaurants. There is a wine reception every evening and a coffee/tea bar in the mornings. One downside is the parking. It gets very crowded and difficult to maneuver during heavy pedestrian traffic. We come to San Francisco frequently and will definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 14bekah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great location in San Francisco if you want to go shopping and see tourist attractions. Powell St station was less than a 5min walk and the bus stop for the "hop on, hop off" tours were literally around the corner! The rooms are spacious and decor is modern with an old school twist. Staff were friendly and helpful however, when we had to leave our bags in the hotel until our airport shuttle came to pick us up, the door guy was not happy. We had 7 suitcases and a few smaller bags between 3 people. We were travelling back home to Australia so baggage allowance is a lot more generous. I understand if he was stressed out but at the same token, this is a hotel and people leave their bags ALL THE TIME. I felt like he wanted me to get out of his hair and to be honest, I was scared to even bring the rest of my bags down because I didn't want to piss him off!

I would stay here again but maybe next time, I'll bring fewer bags...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Whitney C.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thourough review to share with other travelers. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the central location and accessibility of Hotel Union Square. Our warmest apologies for the lack of attendance to your many bags - we will be sure to address this on our end. Glad to know that you were happy overall and we hope to see you on your next trip to San Francisco!

Best,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel has an amazing location. It is right in the heart of Union Square. Perfect for those who want to shop with lots of stores and malls. For those who want food take your pick of restaurants there's something for everyone in walking distance. The trolley is a mere stones throw away. The hotel staff is extremely knowledgeable and can pretty much answer any question you have. I'm going back to San Fran. In April and I will defiantely be staying here again. It's in the heart of union square so if your looking for peaceful and quiet then this is not the hotel for you. You can hear the city around you and all the activity and that's one reason I liked it. Also on a side note be sure to book your Alcatraz tour before you leave home or you won't be able to visit it. It sells out quickly. If you want to do a wine county tour we did muir woods then 2 Napa valley winery's and one Sonoma winery. We had lunch in the square in Sonoma we booked thru all San Francisco tours our guides name was Andy and he was awesome.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdp11223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Traveller,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive and thorough review to share with others. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, the centrality of the hotel, and all the amazing experiences this city has to offer! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to SF in April.

Warm Regards,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The location is great! And the price is ok. We got a small room, the bathromm was a good size with a great shower. I think this room was not remodelled, it smelled a bit of mold and we could see it on the bathroom walls-not to bad. We kept the window open, and we only slept there. Was a big closet, would have been great with some light in there! Our biggest complain was that our neighboor was snoring so loud that he kept us awake....inother words-not very sound proof! We where out exploring most of the days, so for just a place to sleep it is ok.
The staff was nice and friendly and the valet parking was convenient.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigrun65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domitille M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel on trip advisor. We are truly sorry about the room that you received during your stay here at Hotel Union Square. I hope that you contacted the front desk during your stay as we would have been more than happy to accommodate you with a different room. I promise to address this with our housekeeping team and follow up with the issues you've brought to our attention. I hope this doesn't affect you returning to our hotel in the future, please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns you have.


Lennin B. Ledesma
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#113 of 228 in San Francisco
1,842 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
1,309 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#46 of 228 in San Francisco
1,710 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
1,531 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Property: Hotel Union Square
Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing