We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and very well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Ranked #102 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and very well located”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We went there last July for three nights and the experience was very positive. The room was nice, quiet and very clean. The bed was super comfy! Also, all the staff treated us very well, especially Vincent (I think this was his name!), who helped us with very good tips to move around the city and also with some advice with the (used for the first time by us) automatic car. If he reads this, just let him know that we're alive! The hotel is very well-located, near Union Sq and Chinatown, and well communicated with the rest of the touristic places of this beautiful city. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    477
    232
    103
    65
See reviews for
139
492
73
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

After a long journey we were welcomed by friendly and helpful staff. The room served our needs perfectly adequately:
clean
hairdryer
iron and board (if temperamental)
wifi did work on occasion
comfy bed

The view was rubbish, but given that access to the whole city was virtually on the door step - who cares?!

Turn left out of the hotel for Chinatown, catch a bus (before you get to CT) under the bridge which will take you to the marina and everywhere along the route. Right and first left for Union square and the hop on hop off bus (about 10 mins walk) - highly recommended to get your bearings and will take you to places which you might not ordinarily have on the itinerary (Haight for eg). There are a few grungy bars on Bush, of the style we like and all within 5 mins walking. Cosy cable car café was great for breakfast although we did eat in the hotel on the morning of our departure - I loved making my own waffles (novelty factor for the Brits!!). Did find the use of paper plates a little odd though. This was far better value than 'eating out' when you consider that orange juice in some places was $5.

We didn't get to sample the free wine, there is simply too much to do in this fab city. It was expensive, maybe due to the fact that it was weekend and the weekend of the marathon?? I had not realised that it is apparently the 2nd most expensive city in the US.

Suggestions to get a 5* (rare) from me -
Crockery for breakfast.
Better wifi - although Trip Advisor's downloadable app (which doesn't require internet/ wifi) proved to be a godsend.
Complimentary shower gel over body lotion is preferable, although this does seem to be a general observation at all the places we stayed during our vacation.
More pillows.
I do like to be able to make a coffee in my room when I wake up.

Don't miss:
Alcatraz; Haight; Lombard Street; Sausalito; and of course a cable car ride, avoid the queues - 7pm, we were the only ones on there and he didn't charge us! The golden gate bridge is a given.
Top tip for travellers - pack a hoodie!

ps - Airport was about $45 in a cab

Room Tip: Can't help with this one sorry, we are really not that fussy. For us, the less time spent in a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miche08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel is on the edge of the edge of the Union Square hotel/theatre/shopping district in an historic building. The hotel presents well but our numerous interactions with staff were not pleasant. The bellhop seemed disappointed with his tip; which isn’t professional. Our reservation package explicitly included “morning coffee and tea served in the lobby.” This caused a long discussion with the manager who said that was a policy that was discontinued months ago. The manager was very reluctant to let us have just coffee from the $12 breakfast buffet to honor our reservation's commitment. We got charged for the breakfast we didn't eat anyway and had to have the argument all over again. The breakfast room is a closed restaurant with boxes of china stacked among the tables and temporary electrical connections draped from the ceiling.

Our room was small as one would expect in a downtown hotel and the bathroom was very small. It did have a bay window seat, but because of the smallness of the room, our family’s suitcases kept us from getting to the window seat.

They do serve wine free in the lobby each afternoon. Each room on our floor was named for a vineyard and had framed pictures of about that vineyard in the room. Maybe that would be special for a wine lover or maybe it is advertising; it didn’t enhance the décor or our experience as a family with teenagers trying to preach abstinence.

Ps: While the room had free wifi it was slow and erratic. All of our devices kept losing the signal.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RoderickPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here two nights, and we were impressed with the stellar service from staff and quality of the hotel. When visiting a new city, I always hope to stay somewhere unique to the locale, and Vintage Court did not disappoint. This is a boutique space, with a classic atmosphere and architecture. The rooms were spotless and all amenities worked flawlessly, including Wifi.

An fun perk with this hotel is the nightly Wine Reception in the lobby. This is a great time to chat with other travellers, plus, free wine! Sometimes they even have the Winemakers come in from Napa Valley to pour.

The staff found out we were newlyweds, and sweetly left a bottle of wine, Ghirardelli chocolate and bottle opener in our suite. I would definitely recommend staying at the Vintage Court to anyone who wants a clean, boutique space in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CellarDoor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

San Francisco hotels in general are very expensive, but this place is quite reasonable, so we did not have much expectations. It's clean enough, comfortable, quiet, but looks dated. and the rooms are on the small side.
wine tasting at the lobby at 5pm (but same choices of wine everyday).
wifi is terrible. keeps dropping off.
stay clear of the breakfast - it's not worth your money! unless you love tasteless waffles and croissants whilst eating off paper plates and plastic cutleries.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnaG_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a pretty good hotel for the price. We've stayed at the Handlery Union Square before and while the price of the Handlery was about 50% more, the quality was not 50% better than this hotel.

Also a great location - very short walk to Union Square and China Town. Catching a cable car from the nearest stop however is almost impossible (one morning we waiting for 7 cable cars to go by before one let us on .. and they are at least 8 minutes apart). Recommend walking down to the stop at the corner of Geary and Powell St.

Email communication with front desk prior to our stay was very good also - they answered all questions we had within a reasonable time, which is more than can be said for most hotels or businesses in general.

The best part of the stay by far was the daily 'wine hour' in the lobby. While it was the same white and red wines every night we stayed, who were we to complain ... it was free! :)

The only 2 cons we'd like to point out are:

1. Rooms are very musty/foul smelling .. there is definitely a mould/must problem they have not been able to deal with well. We did not ask to me moved as we noticed the same issue in our friend's room and figured all rooms were the same

2. The bathroom in our room was split so that the sink area was built into a cupboard in the wall next to the TV and our shower was very small. Maybe we drew the short straw with our room (as our friend's room had a full bathroom) but this was the least favourite part of our stay

Room Tip: While our friend's room had a nice view of the street they said it was noisy in the mornings. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Recent Guest:

Thank you for the current review of your recent stay at the Executive Hotel Vintage Court.
I am please to know our team supported the services you expected so you could plan and arrange your travel pre-stay questions by email. In addition the guest services team assisted above your expectation during your visit in San Francisco.

In regards to odors, the hotel reviews rooms daily and all odors are treated. However, the hotel offers a geo-thermal hot water system for all guests to have instant hot steamy water for showers and baths. Unfortunately, most of our guest rooms have limited ventilation in the bath areas, where no windows can be opened and some guests do not use the air condition unit which would bring in fresh air to remove steam. As you noted our guests are mostly tourists and with busy schedules check out or depart for their journey right after a hot morning shower leaving the room locked out of fresh air. Our entire staff from management to housekeeping do work diligently to remove any odor if a guest finds a room offensive, and will even change rooms too.

Lastly, yes, the hotel offers a few rooms with bath sinks inside the guest rooms versus the guest bath area as the age of the hotel was configured as such. These configured baths are limited and in most cases the hotel is happy to assist in moving a guest to a room with a full inside bath, sink included, if requested.

In all, I am happy you found our wine reception a delight and if you or any of your colleagues travel to San Francisco again, please check out our best rates via our website as our hot escape rate is the lowest rate available.

Sincerely,

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Its a tired hotel, like many of the downtown union square hotels, that gouge in busy tourist seasons. when there is more demand than supply, The Lobby and Hotel photos are deceptive!
Not too much worked well in our room - and most of the maintenance crew disappear at 5pm
Wifi was limited and the room was muggy - but the air conditioner didn't work very well in our room. As another person commented, the hallways stunk.
Hailing from NY I'm used to car free areas, but there wasn't even a place to park and unload our car while registering.
Check in was slow and people who arrived after us (4pm) were given a room before us!
Hmmm?

No coffee maker in the rooms, and like everything else, unless you purchase the breakfast, you're out of luck finding coffee.
Local phone calls in your room are hefty too.

I do believe, future travellers, you can get better value elsewhere for $190 a night. Try Air B&B or VRBO.
Not a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: if you're staying on a lower floor, be prepared for people walking above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Genevieve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Recent Guest,

First our apology that you found our hotel not to the expectations yet our hotel staff is on site to service your needs 24 hours a day.

In room coffee makers are in all guest rooms with the mini bar refrigerator and dry goods, so our apology that you did not find the coffee maker and complimentary coffee service set up in your room, which may have been directly under the television cabinet.

Also all WiFi services are free of charge and the hotel provides 24 support access if a guest had complications with connections. In addition the WiFi service was recently updated and the hotel has seen little problems or disconnections since the recent install.

Lastly, for readers our phone charges are not excessive at $1.00 for local calls up to 20 minutes) and $2.25 per minute plus toll fees for long distance. Our costs of room rates are typically below market value and for the location, services and amenities; most of our guests find the value in our hotel and service and even with rooms approaching $200, our hotel is priced below other nearby similar hotels.

Again, our apology you did not find the hotel to suit your needs. Being in an urban city center the hotel hosts a two car white loading and unloading zone is always available for guests, cars, taxis and shuttle pickup, and our bell staff are available to assist 24 hours a day.
If you feel you have further questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact me directly at gmvc@executivehotels.net.

Sincerely,

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#86 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#69 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#84 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#155 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Union Square
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
#88 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Hotel Vintage Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Hotel Vintage Court

Property: Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Address: 650 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3509
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Hotel Vintage Court 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMBIANCE- Elegant, European-style AAA three diamond hotel, reminiscent of an inviting Napa Valley Inn - Intimate setting providing a high level of personalized service by a friendly and knowledgeable staff- Wine-themed hotel with each of the guestrooms adorned with names and artwork from California wineries- Warm and welcoming "living room" style lobby with fireplace and comfortable seating areas LOCATION- Historic 1912 building located on the Nob Hill side of Union Square - Two blocks from Union Square, San Francisco's finest shopping district- Less than one block from the Powell Street cable car line to Fisherman's Wharf- Two blocks from the ornate gate entrance of Chinatown and three blocks to the Financial District- Neighboring a wide variety of bistros, cafes and restaurants GUEST ROOMS - 106 spacious nonsmoking guestrooms on eight floors decorated to enrich the hotel's connection with the wine country- Penthouse suite with wood burning fireplace, view of city lights, original 1912 stained glass ceiling, and Jacuzzi tub - Writing desks, inlaid with outlets, in each guestroom - Telephone with extra-long cord, voice mail and data-port - Wireless Internet ( Wi-Fi )available throughout the hotel complimentary. Fully stocked honor bar in each guestroom - Hairdryers, irons and ironing boards in each guestroom - LCD Hi-Definition television with full cable, Nintendo and pay-per-view movies GUEST SERVICES - Wine reception by the fireplace in the lobby from 5 p.M. To 6 p.M. Each evening- Valet parking with in and out privileges for $48 plus tax per day, self parking for $35 plus tax per day- Concierge services available, offering preferred reservations at restaurants- Fitness room, open daily 6AM - 10PM, San Francisco Chronicle and USA TODAY newspaper. MEETING FACILITY - Private Boardroom with original stained glass ceiling with skylight from 1912 - Conference seating for 12 people or reception for 25 people - Drop projection screen in room, audiovisual equipment available upon request- Windows providing natural light and expansive city views Dining Room offers a Neo American Bistro and Bar. A new experience with dining is coming this summer for Evening Dinners. Our dining room also offers a light breakfast service is available daily from 6:30am to 10am in our dining room for hotel guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Executive Hotel Vintage Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel San Francisco
Vintage Court San Francisco
Hotel Vintage Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing