We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget for San Fran”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Ranked #104 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Budget for San Fran”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is an older place but it seems to be maintained well enough with many amenities. The cont. breakfast is decent too coffee, tea, hot chocolate, waffles, fresh sliced fruit... Beds are comfy, aircon is nice and room service does a nice job freshening up the room. Not too far from many restaurants and coffee shops, close to trolley and Bart rail. I walked to fisherman ward and back but it's a pretty good distance...

Stayed September 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sraupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Thank you for your review. The Executive Hotel Vintage Court staff is always here to make your visit to San Francisco a joy and although you may have expected a grade increase in our products, we are consistent in the San Francisco Market as our hotel is a solid 3 star product. As you noted in your review, our hotel for our area offers the right values of service and amenities at an affordable price. I am happy to know you found your accommodations and services enjoyable with our supportive staff too.

We hope to host you again or tell your colleagues as our best rates can be found on our website! Happy travels...

Best regards,

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    477
    233
    103
    65
See reviews for
139
492
74
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I can't say enough about how much my girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay at the Executive Hotel Vintage Court.

Location: The building is in a safe area, just up the hill from Union Square. It is not too long of a walk to many locations in the city, and is also on 2 cable car lines, and near a number of bus stops.

Room: Rooms may be reviewed as small. This is true, but they certainly aren't "too small" for a couple. The design made it feel much larger, and we had no complaints.

Value: I stayed a little over a year ago, so can't comment on the price. However, we were traveling on a tight budget. The hotel is not motel cheap but the value was unbeatable. Especially during a summer weekend, the hotel made is affordable for two east coasters to stay in the city without emptying our wallets.

Service: Service is excellent. Spent time speaking with the bell boys and the managers who are more than happy to assist, whether it be with your room, or offering suggestions regarding the city.

Others: There are daily wine tastings featuring either house wines, or varying vendors from different vineyards. I'm no connoisseur, but it was nice to come back to the hotel during the late afternoon, unwind in the lobby, and then head out for the night.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yitzchak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Dear Recent Guest: Thank you for your review. The Executive Hotel Vintage Court staff is always here to make your visit to San Francisco a joy and your accommodations should be enjoyable! Reviews such as yours from our location, accommodations, staff and wine reception is what our hotel company strives for and from your review we succeeded to make your time with us memorable! Thanks again and hope to see you again!

Best regards,

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, MS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is an older hotel, well maintained, clean, and well managed. It is also quiet at night. Not far from China Town (Grant Street). I have stayed here about every other year, for awhile, when visiting San Francisco. I will be back.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face the street; then VERY quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runner6508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We went there last July for three nights and the experience was very positive. The room was nice, quiet and very clean. The bed was super comfy! Also, all the staff treated us very well, especially Vincent (I think this was his name!), who helped us with very good tips to move around the city and also with some advice with the (used for the first time by us) automatic car. If he reads this, just let him know that we're alive! The hotel is very well-located, near Union Sq and Chinatown, and well communicated with the rest of the touristic places of this beautiful city. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

After a long journey we were welcomed by friendly and helpful staff. The room served our needs perfectly adequately:
clean
hairdryer
iron and board (if temperamental)
wifi did work on occasion
comfy bed

The view was rubbish, but given that access to the whole city was virtually on the door step - who cares?!

Turn left out of the hotel for Chinatown, catch a bus (before you get to CT) under the bridge which will take you to the marina and everywhere along the route. Right and first left for Union square and the hop on hop off bus (about 10 mins walk) - highly recommended to get your bearings and will take you to places which you might not ordinarily have on the itinerary (Haight for eg). There are a few grungy bars on Bush, of the style we like and all within 5 mins walking. Cosy cable car café was great for breakfast although we did eat in the hotel on the morning of our departure - I loved making my own waffles (novelty factor for the Brits!!). Did find the use of paper plates a little odd though. This was far better value than 'eating out' when you consider that orange juice in some places was $5.

We didn't get to sample the free wine, there is simply too much to do in this fab city. It was expensive, maybe due to the fact that it was weekend and the weekend of the marathon?? I had not realised that it is apparently the 2nd most expensive city in the US.

Suggestions to get a 5* (rare) from me -
Crockery for breakfast.
Better wifi - although Trip Advisor's downloadable app (which doesn't require internet/ wifi) proved to be a godsend.
Complimentary shower gel over body lotion is preferable, although this does seem to be a general observation at all the places we stayed during our vacation.
More pillows.
I do like to be able to make a coffee in my room when I wake up.

Don't miss:
Alcatraz; Haight; Lombard Street; Sausalito; and of course a cable car ride, avoid the queues - 7pm, we were the only ones on there and he didn't charge us! The golden gate bridge is a given.
Top tip for travellers - pack a hoodie!

ps - Airport was about $45 in a cab

Room Tip: Can't help with this one sorry, we are really not that fussy. For us, the less time spent in a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miche08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel is on the edge of the edge of the Union Square hotel/theatre/shopping district in an historic building. The hotel presents well but our numerous interactions with staff were not pleasant. The bellhop seemed disappointed with his tip; which isn’t professional. Our reservation package explicitly included “morning coffee and tea served in the lobby.” This caused a long discussion with the manager who said that was a policy that was discontinued months ago. The manager was very reluctant to let us have just coffee from the $12 breakfast buffet to honor our reservation's commitment. We got charged for the breakfast we didn't eat anyway and had to have the argument all over again. The breakfast room is a closed restaurant with boxes of china stacked among the tables and temporary electrical connections draped from the ceiling.

Our room was small as one would expect in a downtown hotel and the bathroom was very small. It did have a bay window seat, but because of the smallness of the room, our family’s suitcases kept us from getting to the window seat.

They do serve wine free in the lobby each afternoon. Each room on our floor was named for a vineyard and had framed pictures of about that vineyard in the room. Maybe that would be special for a wine lover or maybe it is advertising; it didn’t enhance the décor or our experience as a family with teenagers trying to preach abstinence.

Ps: While the room had free wifi it was slow and erratic. All of our devices kept losing the signal.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RoderickPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here two nights, and we were impressed with the stellar service from staff and quality of the hotel. When visiting a new city, I always hope to stay somewhere unique to the locale, and Vintage Court did not disappoint. This is a boutique space, with a classic atmosphere and architecture. The rooms were spotless and all amenities worked flawlessly, including Wifi.

An fun perk with this hotel is the nightly Wine Reception in the lobby. This is a great time to chat with other travellers, plus, free wine! Sometimes they even have the Winemakers come in from Napa Valley to pour.

The staff found out we were newlyweds, and sweetly left a bottle of wine, Ghirardelli chocolate and bottle opener in our suite. I would definitely recommend staying at the Vintage Court to anyone who wants a clean, boutique space in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CellarDoor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#86 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#68 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#83 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#156 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Union Square
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
#89 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Hotel Vintage Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Hotel Vintage Court

Property: Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Address: 650 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3509
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Hotel Vintage Court 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMBIANCE- Elegant, European-style AAA three diamond hotel, reminiscent of an inviting Napa Valley Inn - Intimate setting providing a high level of personalized service by a friendly and knowledgeable staff- Wine-themed hotel with each of the guestrooms adorned with names and artwork from California wineries- Warm and welcoming "living room" style lobby with fireplace and comfortable seating areas LOCATION- Historic 1912 building located on the Nob Hill side of Union Square - Two blocks from Union Square, San Francisco's finest shopping district- Less than one block from the Powell Street cable car line to Fisherman's Wharf- Two blocks from the ornate gate entrance of Chinatown and three blocks to the Financial District- Neighboring a wide variety of bistros, cafes and restaurants GUEST ROOMS - 106 spacious nonsmoking guestrooms on eight floors decorated to enrich the hotel's connection with the wine country- Penthouse suite with wood burning fireplace, view of city lights, original 1912 stained glass ceiling, and Jacuzzi tub - Writing desks, inlaid with outlets, in each guestroom - Telephone with extra-long cord, voice mail and data-port - Wireless Internet ( Wi-Fi )available throughout the hotel complimentary. Fully stocked honor bar in each guestroom - Hairdryers, irons and ironing boards in each guestroom - LCD Hi-Definition television with full cable, Nintendo and pay-per-view movies GUEST SERVICES - Wine reception by the fireplace in the lobby from 5 p.M. To 6 p.M. Each evening- Valet parking with in and out privileges for $48 plus tax per day, self parking for $35 plus tax per day- Concierge services available, offering preferred reservations at restaurants- Fitness room, open daily 6AM - 10PM, San Francisco Chronicle and USA TODAY newspaper. MEETING FACILITY - Private Boardroom with original stained glass ceiling with skylight from 1912 - Conference seating for 12 people or reception for 25 people - Drop projection screen in room, audiovisual equipment available upon request- Windows providing natural light and expansive city views Dining Room offers a Neo American Bistro and Bar. A new experience with dining is coming this summer for Evening Dinners. Our dining room also offers a light breakfast service is available daily from 6:30am to 10am in our dining room for hotel guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Executive Hotel Vintage Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel San Francisco
Vintage Court San Francisco
Hotel Vintage Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing