We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got a bargain - loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Ranked #104 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Got a bargain - loved it!”
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Please keep in mind that I booked this hotel online with a site that was running a special, and paid $75/night, including tax.

The location was great - easy walking distance to central Union Square, Chinatown, BART/Muni, and even to the Ferry building if you're in the mood for a good stroll. The staff was professional and welcoming throughout the stay, including the very generous wine tasting (the attendant even came around with the bottles to offer refills! It's really more of a free wine happy hour!). Never waited more than a minute for the elevator and did not feel crowded, even though the hotel was at capacity.

Room: I could identify the musty smell other people had mentioned, but to be honest, it's just a damp smell that you can sense in every other old, non-highrise building in San Francisco. The windows or A/C can be used to help, and after a few minutes, I didn't notice it anymore. The room was a decent size for two people and luggage, with an enormous bed, sitting chair, desk, mini fridge, closet, and flatscreen tv. Bathroom was also a good size, and though very worn, was neat and clean. The room itself was a bit worn, but again, for the price, all I wanted was cleanliness and comfort, and the hotel exceeded my expectations. Did not hear a peep from adjacent rooms, except the occasional passage in the hallway.

The continental breakfast was just that - danishes, croissants, coffee and tea. We grabbed some tea on the way out in the mornings, and picked up yogurts and crackers at the deli across the street. No big deal. There are several small delis/bodegas within walking distance, and the fridge has enough room to store some food and beverage items of your own.

If you're used to chain/luxury hotels with amenities, I wouldn't recommend this one. But if you're a typical budget traveler and are looking for a comfortable, clean (even charming) place to sleep while exploring SF, this is a great place. If the price is right, I will definitely stay here again next time.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank caraheartstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    476
    232
    102
    65
See reviews for
139
490
73
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Budget hotel that "punches above it's weight." Great value for money. We stayed on for four nights. Staff couldn't do enough to assist and often went "beyond the call of duty." Very conveniently located. Two minute walk to Powell Street. Wake in the morning to the sound of the cable car bell. Not intrusive but charming. Good facilities. Everything works - an excellent start with budget accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cruizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

I was looking for a reasonably priced hotel located in a safe area of town, for an extended visit (13 nights). This hotel exceeded my expectations, and I found it a welcoming, comfortable and unique place to stay in a perfect downtown location.

The hotel staff are extremely helpful, competent and friendly. The housekeeping staff are pleasant and thorough. The wine hour was popular, and I wish I had taken that opportunity to meet more people. Every time I walked through, everyone seemed to be thoroughly enjoying themselves and interacting with each other. The friendliness and uniqueness of the wine theme give this hotel a lot of character.

I will address some limitations. First, as others have noted, the hotel is older. The upholstery could use some refreshing. I did note the "musty odour" on 2 occasions throughout a 13 night stay--in both instances, it was quickly remedied by opening the windows for an hour. Secondly, there is some street noise. I live in a city, and the street noise in this hotel is what you would expect for a downtown, city location. If street noise is a dealbreaker for you, personally, then I would recommend finding a hotel outside the downtown area. I will not deny these two issues are present, but I found them minimal and they did not detract from my comfort or enjoyment.

On future visits to San Francisco, this will definitely and sincerely be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manticore82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We stayed here for a week over Christmas & it was ideal for us. The rooms were clean & perfectly adequate for our needs - they were cleaned & re-stocked with toiletries every day. The lounge had a roaring log fire & lovely comfy sofas and the free wine-tasting was held there every evening - it was a great opportunity to meet with fellow guest & created a lovely atmosphere between everyone.
There are plenty of coffee shops & restaurants within easy reach of the hotel - I recommed Uncle Vitos (on the corner of Bush & Powell) for a great pasta or pizza in a bustling, friendly atmosphere. There is also a 'Lori's Diner' just round the corner on Powell which is great for inexpensive burgers, fries, milkshakes etc. You are also only a short walk away from the shops at Union Square or from China Town.
The hotel no longer provides a continental breakfast but they do have free tea & coffee in the lounge between 7am & 9am. We found a great place called 'Working Girls Cafe' along Bush Street for bagels & juice etc.
The staff were always pleasant & went out of their way to help us with anything we wanted - for example my mum asked where she could get a coffee & they sent a coffee maker & sachets of coffee/milk straight up to her room at no extra cost.
Other reviewers have mentioned the disturbance that the bin-men make each morning - this is true and they do make quite a racket between 6.30 - 7am, however this is not really the hotel's fault. All I can recommend is that you ask for a room on a higher floor and away from the alleyway that the bins are kept if it is likely to bother you.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and if we were to visit San Francisco again we would definitely stay here again. The only suggestion I would have would be to provide tea/coffee making facilities as standard in all rooms but this is only a minor issue. All in all it's a big 'thumbs up' from us!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

We booked this hotel in advance after reading good reviews but were really disappointed. It was really musty and the breakfast had been taken away. A poor offering of pastry, apple and stale muffin were given to any guest booking before September 2009. This was scant consolation to be honest. The location was awesome and the people on the reception were very polite and informative. The room was tatty and had an appalling musty smell which seemed like a mixture of cigarettes, mould and moth-balls. The main areas of the hotel were clean and the general service was good. The wine tasting in the main lobby was popular and we wished we had managed to make it back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greggbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2009

We were advised we would get a continental breakfast - there wasnt any and there were no apologies. Our room was freezing and had a musty smell, so we were moved to a room with a thing called a `heater?' a novelty it seems. Funny thought most of the civilised world had those as a given even in the tropics.

After that mucking about we did like the wine tasting but other than that all that can commend the hotel is its location. We have stayed in far worse hotels admittedly but the executive vintage court describes itself as the best boutique hotel in san francisco and it isnt. Be aware.

It is probably worth paying a couple of quid more for a decent hotel, but you wont beat the location close to chinatown and north beach. The hotel needs to sort itself out.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balding_Bon_Viveur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We stayed at this hotel five years ago and things have gone downhill in that time. We booked the room through Expedia and received a good rate, but we were disappointed with our stay this time around. Our 'King Size' room was small, with an unpleasant smell and no central heating or cooling. Our booking confirmation stated that a continental breakfast was included (one of the reasons we stayed there again), but when we inquired we were told that it had been "phased out" about three weeks prior to our arrival (despite it being mentioned on the first page of the guest services directory). When we protested we were given a tiny muffin and danish in a foam carton, so we didn't bother asking again. There is no business centre (although the desk clerk printed our airline boarding passes for us), the service is lacklustre and it seems to be in the throes of cost cutting measures. The noise from the trash collectors at 5.30am is still an issue however. The best thing about this hotel is the location - very close to Union Square, Chinatown and North Beach - and the wine tasting is still a nice touch. Overall, the Executive is not terrible by any means, but it is somewhat tired and dated in comparison to other hotels we stayed at on our trip to the US. We would only recommend staying there if the rate was cheap and you didn't plan on spending much time in your room.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kyanAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#87 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#70 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#85 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#155 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Union Square
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
#88 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Hotel Vintage Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Hotel Vintage Court

Property: Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Address: 650 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3509
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Hotel Vintage Court 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMBIANCE- Elegant, European-style AAA three diamond hotel, reminiscent of an inviting Napa Valley Inn - Intimate setting providing a high level of personalized service by a friendly and knowledgeable staff- Wine-themed hotel with each of the guestrooms adorned with names and artwork from California wineries- Warm and welcoming "living room" style lobby with fireplace and comfortable seating areas LOCATION- Historic 1912 building located on the Nob Hill side of Union Square - Two blocks from Union Square, San Francisco's finest shopping district- Less than one block from the Powell Street cable car line to Fisherman's Wharf- Two blocks from the ornate gate entrance of Chinatown and three blocks to the Financial District- Neighboring a wide variety of bistros, cafes and restaurants GUEST ROOMS - 106 spacious nonsmoking guestrooms on eight floors decorated to enrich the hotel's connection with the wine country- Penthouse suite with wood burning fireplace, view of city lights, original 1912 stained glass ceiling, and Jacuzzi tub - Writing desks, inlaid with outlets, in each guestroom - Telephone with extra-long cord, voice mail and data-port - Wireless Internet ( Wi-Fi )available throughout the hotel complimentary. Fully stocked honor bar in each guestroom - Hairdryers, irons and ironing boards in each guestroom - LCD Hi-Definition television with full cable, Nintendo and pay-per-view movies GUEST SERVICES - Wine reception by the fireplace in the lobby from 5 p.M. To 6 p.M. Each evening- Valet parking with in and out privileges for $48 plus tax per day, self parking for $35 plus tax per day- Concierge services available, offering preferred reservations at restaurants- Fitness room, open daily 6AM - 10PM, San Francisco Chronicle and USA TODAY newspaper. MEETING FACILITY - Private Boardroom with original stained glass ceiling with skylight from 1912 - Conference seating for 12 people or reception for 25 people - Drop projection screen in room, audiovisual equipment available upon request- Windows providing natural light and expansive city views Dining Room offers a Neo American Bistro and Bar. A new experience with dining is coming this summer for Evening Dinners. Our dining room also offers a light breakfast service is available daily from 6:30am to 10am in our dining room for hotel guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Executive Hotel Vintage Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel San Francisco
Vintage Court San Francisco
Hotel Vintage Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing