We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close enough to be there, far enough to have to explore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Ranked #104 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Vintage Court IS a vintage hotel, so no fancy high tech gizmos etc. But the rooms were very clean, and were serviced daily (at an appropriate time!!! Not 8am in the morning!).
The bathroom was clean and tidy, no mould as one might expect in an older hotel. The lift did take forever when called. And staff were polite and helpful, but only when asked for assistance. No breakfast served in hotel, however they did do complimentary wine tastings each night, so that made us got to bed happy!
Step out of the hotel and basically right onto the Cable Car line, great location - being halfway to Fisherman's Wharf and Halfway to town center - means you HAVE tp explore - which is great when traveling!
All in all, a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oz2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2010

We recently stayed at the Executive Vintage Court Hotel for 4 nights. I made the original reservation thru Michael, the Front Office Manager. What a nice man to deal with!! The rest of the Front Office people were just as wonderful!! Great management trickles down! The hotel is a 5 minute walk to Union Square. It is right next to the Powell Street Cable Car. The hotel is an older building that has been redecorated and updated. It is beautiful and not over the top, very tasteful with a fireplace in the lobby that makes you feel like you are in someone's living room. Nightly (7 nights per week!) the staff pours wine during an evening reception. Masa's restaurant, regarded as one of the finest if not the finest restaurant in San Fran is right off the lobby! I have stayed at this hotel twice before, but I must say this last visit was even nicer than the previous visits. Maybe because I feel like I am coming "home" in San Francisco, but mostly because of the wonderful and hospitable staff. If you are looking for a huge modern 20+ story grand hotel this is not your place. If you are looking for a well located, clean, friendly reasonably priced boutique hotel right in the heart of SF this is definitely your place!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LasTerrazasGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

A wonderful friend was planning a BIG birthday in San Francisco and chose this hotel as our meeting place. We were 18 strong, from 5 states and Mexico, ages 7 months to 82 years. My friend made all the preliminary arrangements, including placement of gift bags in all our rooms, a suite for our gathering place, and much more. My room was just the right size for one, nicely appointed, and always clean. The concierge, Vincent, was just superb - he always knew where most of our group was, had the right recommendations for restaurants, touristy places, transportation, etc., checked on my outgoing flight because of delays, remembered the name of most guests, always accommodating your every wish, and overall a great person to deal with. The location was perfect for access to cable cars, Union Square, and all places in the core of the City. I can't wait to return to San Francisco and I definitely will stay at the Hotel Vintage Court.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

I booked through Expedia and had read the travel advisor reviews. For the price I paid (between NZ$95 to NZ$120 for the 4 nights) it met value for money.
The location is central - 5 to 7 mins walk down Bush, Stockton or Powell St, to take you to China Town, or Union Square.
A couple of negative - Yes there was a strange musty smell in the room, it took nearly a day and night to get used to the smell.
No air conditioning, except a broken down fan system.
Standard bath/shower system.
Positives - Good housekeeping daily, friendly staff.
Next time I will try another hotel nearer in Union Square, but Vintage Court gives you value for your dollar, and a good chance to do some uphill walking after shopping, eating out, sightseeing, etc.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZMardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Please keep in mind that I booked this hotel online with a site that was running a special, and paid $75/night, including tax.

The location was great - easy walking distance to central Union Square, Chinatown, BART/Muni, and even to the Ferry building if you're in the mood for a good stroll. The staff was professional and welcoming throughout the stay, including the very generous wine tasting (the attendant even came around with the bottles to offer refills! It's really more of a free wine happy hour!). Never waited more than a minute for the elevator and did not feel crowded, even though the hotel was at capacity.

Room: I could identify the musty smell other people had mentioned, but to be honest, it's just a damp smell that you can sense in every other old, non-highrise building in San Francisco. The windows or A/C can be used to help, and after a few minutes, I didn't notice it anymore. The room was a decent size for two people and luggage, with an enormous bed, sitting chair, desk, mini fridge, closet, and flatscreen tv. Bathroom was also a good size, and though very worn, was neat and clean. The room itself was a bit worn, but again, for the price, all I wanted was cleanliness and comfort, and the hotel exceeded my expectations. Did not hear a peep from adjacent rooms, except the occasional passage in the hallway.

The continental breakfast was just that - danishes, croissants, coffee and tea. We grabbed some tea on the way out in the mornings, and picked up yogurts and crackers at the deli across the street. No big deal. There are several small delis/bodegas within walking distance, and the fridge has enough room to store some food and beverage items of your own.

If you're used to chain/luxury hotels with amenities, I wouldn't recommend this one. But if you're a typical budget traveler and are looking for a comfortable, clean (even charming) place to sleep while exploring SF, this is a great place. If the price is right, I will definitely stay here again next time.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank caraheartstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Budget hotel that "punches above it's weight." Great value for money. We stayed on for four nights. Staff couldn't do enough to assist and often went "beyond the call of duty." Very conveniently located. Two minute walk to Powell Street. Wake in the morning to the sound of the cable car bell. Not intrusive but charming. Good facilities. Everything works - an excellent start with budget accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

I was looking for a reasonably priced hotel located in a safe area of town, for an extended visit (13 nights). This hotel exceeded my expectations, and I found it a welcoming, comfortable and unique place to stay in a perfect downtown location.

The hotel staff are extremely helpful, competent and friendly. The housekeeping staff are pleasant and thorough. The wine hour was popular, and I wish I had taken that opportunity to meet more people. Every time I walked through, everyone seemed to be thoroughly enjoying themselves and interacting with each other. The friendliness and uniqueness of the wine theme give this hotel a lot of character.

I will address some limitations. First, as others have noted, the hotel is older. The upholstery could use some refreshing. I did note the "musty odour" on 2 occasions throughout a 13 night stay--in both instances, it was quickly remedied by opening the windows for an hour. Secondly, there is some street noise. I live in a city, and the street noise in this hotel is what you would expect for a downtown, city location. If street noise is a dealbreaker for you, personally, then I would recommend finding a hotel outside the downtown area. I will not deny these two issues are present, but I found them minimal and they did not detract from my comfort or enjoyment.

On future visits to San Francisco, this will definitely and sincerely be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank manticore82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hotel Vertigo
#70 of 231 in San Francisco
1,448 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#120 of 231 in San Francisco
827 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#72 of 231 in San Francisco
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serrano Hotel
#94 of 231 in San Francisco
2,989 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#129 of 231 in San Francisco
1,308 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Hotel Vintage Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Hotel Vintage Court

Address: 650 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £110 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Hotel Vintage Court 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMBIANCE- Elegant, European-style AAA three diamond hotel, reminiscent of an inviting Napa Valley Inn - Intimate setting providing a high level of personalized service by a friendly and knowledgeable staff- Wine-themed hotel with each of the guestrooms adorned with names and artwork from California wineries- Warm and welcoming "living room" style lobby with fireplace and comfortable seating areas LOCATION- Historic 1912 building located on the Nob Hill side of Union Square - Two blocks from Union Square, San Francisco's finest shopping district- Less than one block from the Powell Street cable car line to Fisherman's Wharf- Two blocks from the ornate gate entrance of Chinatown and three blocks to the Financial District- Neighboring a wide variety of bistros, cafes and restaurants GUEST ROOMS - 106 spacious nonsmoking guestrooms on eight floors decorated to enrich the hotel's connection with the wine country- Penthouse suite with wood burning fireplace, view of city lights, original 1912 stained glass ceiling, and Jacuzzi tub - Writing desks, inlaid with outlets, in each guestroom - Telephone with extra-long cord, voice mail and data-port - Wireless Internet ( Wi-Fi )available throughout the hotel complimentary. Fully stocked honor bar in each guestroom - Hairdryers, irons and ironing boards in each guestroom - LCD Hi-Definition television with full cable, Nintendo and pay-per-view movies GUEST SERVICES - Wine reception by the fireplace in the lobby from 5 p.M. To 6 p.M. Each evening- Valet parking with in and out privileges for $48 plus tax per day, self parking for $35 plus tax per day- Concierge services available, offering preferred reservations at restaurants- Fitness room, open daily 6AM - 10PM, San Francisco Chronicle and USA TODAY newspaper. MEETING FACILITY - Private Boardroom with original stained glass ceiling with skylight from 1912 - Conference seating for 12 people or reception for 25 people - Drop projection screen in room, audiovisual equipment available upon request- Windows providing natural light and expansive city views Dining Room offers a Neo American Bistro and Bar. A new experience with dining is coming this summer for Evening Dinners. Our dining room also offers a light breakfast service is available daily from 6:30am to 10am in our dining room for hotel guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Executive Hotel Vintage Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel San Francisco
Vintage Court San Francisco
Hotel Vintage Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing