We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but average for the W chain”
Review of W San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W San Francisco
Ranked #68 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had a nice stay here at the W SanFranciso while I attended a big conference at the nearby Moscone conference center. Of all the nearby hotels I think it has the closest location! For that reason the place is great however I just came from a week in Asia and while there I stayed at the W Hong Kong and the W Guangzhou. When I compare to those amazing properties, the W SF is a motel in comparison. So strange that the Asian properties are fantastic while American W's are ho-hum. The lobby seemed like a happening place with lots of people hanging over drinks until I realized that it was busy cause its the only place for free wifi in the hotel. Nice trick, makes the hotel look like it has a scene.

The location was great for the conference center but also for many sites. Lots of good restaurants and excellent shopping nearby.

The room was comfortable and clean. Nicely decorated but does not reach the fit and finish of the asian properties I visited. Wifi was decently fast and free with SPG status. Power outlets easily accessible on the desk.

Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g4480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexa W, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

We are in the perfect location for easy access to the conference center and many popular attractions in San Francisco. It is difficult to compare us to the W hotels in Asia. W Hotels originated in North America so the hotels are a little older.

Our Living Room is a popular spot for locals and guests alike. The cocktails are great and we do offer free wi-fi. On your next visit, reach out to our Insider Gordon. He can offer recommendations for all the best places to visit in the city.

I hope we can welcome you back on your next visit to San Francisco.

Best,
Alexa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,178)
There are newer reviews for W San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

942 - 948 of 2,178 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Classy, hipster and the staff did absolutely everything I needed to set the tone for my perfect proposal...yes it's pricey for everyday people like myself, but if you are gonna splurge here's a great place to do...the lobby is more club / lounge than some club / lounges. The courtesy car was a great addition and got us to dinner one night. In San Fran? I highly recommend this place, near Union Square...

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Bay Bridge...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexa W, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Hello!

Congratulations on your engagement! It was a pleasure to ensure that everything went off without a hitch. I am glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of everything San Francisco has to offer. I hope we can welcome you back soon!

All the best,
Alexa W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I’ve stayed at the W several times this year and had a great experience with everyone. Three people really stood out. Nina in Revenue worked miracles to get me room during a busy week when nearly every hotel was packed. Also, Abby and Damian in the W’s Trace restaurant remembered that I was a returning guest and demonstrated great customer service during an extremely busy time. Thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard1576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexa W, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Hello!

I am glad to note your great experience! I am glad to pass your compliments along to Nina, Abby and Damian. Their service stands out time and time again. I'm glad we could get you a room and you enjoyed TRACE. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

All the best,
Alexa W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We really don't have anything bad to say about our stay. From being able to check in early, to being able to check out late, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Though they were directly across the street from a major conference, the staff did not seem flustered in the least. Hao checked us in. He was able to let us check in early, which was definitely appreciated since we had just flown into Oakland Airport and battled public transportation with our toddler to get there. He also made sure we selected our SPG Gold member perk and reminded us about the Make a Green Choice Program (other SPG hotels have forgotten to mention this to us which results in us sometimes forgetting to put the sign out before bed). Also, when we asked for late check out, the request was quickly and easily accommodated. I honestly can't remember the last time I've encountered such great customer service. It really made the stay enjoyable.

Rooms were adequately sized and very clean. Location is very convenient for walking to the Ferry Building and Union Square.

We will definitely stay here again when we return to San Francisco!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baby8684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I don't expect doors to be opened for me because I'm an ambassador member, but it would have been nice for the valet/door guys to pay attention when I walked up with my suitcase/backpack/bags in hand. I wasn't dressed in a suit like the rest of the customer base, so I was easily overlooked. This initial indication of how I could expect to be treated was irritating, especially after traveling from outside the continent.

I lowered my customer service expectations, but Ogy at the front desk turned this negative experience around. He didn't care that I was in running shoes, jeans and a hoody. He provided great customer service and is a great addition to the staff.
The excellent customer service continued at breakfast with Claudio (aka Champion). He was very friendly, and a pleasure to talk to.

The hotel is conveniently located just a short walk from the Montgomery BART station, which makes travel to/from the airports very cheap and easy. The Powell/Hyde street car stop is very close as well to see the downtown area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to celebrate a personal achievement, and spending one night in an upscale hotel was our first thought to spoil ourselves. This hotel is an easy walk to Chinatown and the major upscale shopping g district (hello, Barney's!)
The front desk staff (Kevin) was particularly helpful and made arrangements to help us check in early, and the room was delightful-especially the window bench! The view on either side of the building is quite nice and we have a great view of the epic SF sunset.
However, the blinds/window coverings do not make the totally dark, so as soon as the sun was up, the room was quite bright. If you're on vacation, come prepared with an eye cover of some kind!
Coffee in the morning was welcome, but marginal in quality. Bathroom/Shower was excellent, bedding was quite comfy and overall ambiance was pleasant.
No Free Wifi in the rooms, which we worked around by using our hotspots on our phones, and parking cost is INSANE ($52/day) and valet ONLY so we parked at a garage nearby for $32.
We would stay here again, but only after checking the St.Regis/Westin for comparable rates.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Swim_Team303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My husband and I spent 3 days at this hotel. We are used to the W "energy" and felt it was a bit off here. There was no DJ in the lobby over the weekend which normally every W has. The rooms were also on the small side. We had a Cozy Corner room on the 24th floor and it still felt tight. Overall, the location cannot be beat and the room was very clean. Nice stay in SF.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladylsells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 229 in San Francisco
2,968 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#6 of 229 in San Francisco
1,315 reviews
SoMa
The Park Central San Francisco
The Park Central San Francisco
#65 of 229 in San Francisco
3,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
1,273 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#30 of 229 in San Francisco
873 reviews
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#13 of 229 in San Francisco
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W San Francisco

Address: 181 3rd St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £175 - £675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the SoMa district, and neighbors with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, W San Francisco faces the beautiful Yerba Buena gardens and is a short walk to Union Square's shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your W San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
w Hotels San Francisco
w Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing