We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for business or city break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of W San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W San Francisco
Ranked #69 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Paris, France
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good for business or city break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Well placed for easy access to the sights and public transport the hotel is clean and we'll run (as you'd expect from a W)

The highlight for me was its proximity to Yerba Buena gardens; the perfect place to escape to read or catch some free music in the park.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank kris10Paris_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexa W, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hello!

Yerba Buena Park is one of our favorite spots too! It's great on a beautiful sunny day. If you need any recommendations throughout your stay, reach out to our Insider Gordon. He'd be glad to help you out!

Until next time,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    707
    317
    133
    77
See reviews for
243
593
151
728
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were just spending one night in San Francisco to celebrate our wedding anniversary before catching a flight the next day for Milan. Our hotel preference while in SF is usually The Palace or the St. Francis. Both of those hotels were sold out at the time we made our reservation as a huge convention was in town, so we decided to stay at the other Starwood property in the neighborhood, the W.
We were immediately greeted and had a very pleasant experience with check in. Our arrival time was in the late afternoon, and the small lobby was humming with business men and women chatting over drinks. We were escorted to our beautiful corner room with a separate sitting area, and the added benefit of in room coffee maker (a disappearing feature that we personally LOVE).
We have absolutely no complaints about the hotel, but on a personal level, we prefer the grandeur of the Westin St. Francis or The Palace (Luxury Collection). In fact, the following morning, we walked 10 minutes to have a romantic breakfast at The Palace.
However, if you are in town for business, the proximity of The W to the Moscone center is somewhat convenient, as is the central location to enjoy the area shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spotlight0120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

This is a pretty funky hotel - well located, always a lot happening. And of course as you'd expect it's a pretty polished experience. There are a few things that let it down however. One is the temperature! It was cold. Trace restaurant was cold. Our room seemed to be cold irregardless of how we set air con.

Additionally my bed was kind of pulled up as the sheets we're wrinkly down by my feet. A small complaint I know but you do expect an expertly made bed in this type of hotel.

Seriously it was pretty good though......great service and a good vibe.

Could improve however.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RowsyLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexa W, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi there,

Our centralized location is perfect for exploring everything San Francisco has to offer. If you need any tips for getting around, connect with our Insider Gordon. He knows a lot of great spots around town that are perfect for any mood.

If you have any issues throughout your stay, please let us know. We would be happy to do everything we can to make you stay more comfortable and warm.

We hope to see you soon.

Best,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel room is amazing but the enviroment of the whole hotel made the difference. It is a very modern hotel, the elevator, lobby, bar, room. The lobby bar menu has a few options of food, but the drinks and beverages menu is nice (specially the beer selection). The location is perfect and there are a lot of places close to the hotel. A plesant experience.

Room Tip: I got the Bay Bridge view. Amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reinaldo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexa W, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hi Reinaldo,

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay! We are in the perfect location to enjoy everything San Francisco has to offer. If you need some ideas, our Insider Gordon would be glad to point you in the right direction! It seems you found your way around our hotel quiet easily and took advantage of our Living Room bar. Next time you're with us head into TRACE. Chef Jason Rea is amazing.

Best,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Typical W Hotel in terms of quality and cleanliness. I reserved a corner room and ended up on the 6th floor in the back. Great for sleeping at night, but was awoken by voices as the people working on the new W spa were working at 6:00 AM and they were literally 10 yards from my room..talking, banging, sawing, etc. So, I moved, only to be awoken the next morning by loud noises and when I looked out my room there was a crane operator at my floor level moving steel to build a building across the street, and this was on the other side of the hotel. You can't escape it. The fitness center is temporary and is a joke..they should offer a $50 discount just because you have to use the 24 Hour fitness (5 blocks away) if you want to work out.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else until they finish building the spa and the building across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WirelessTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexa W, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello,

While there is construction going on around us, we are doing everything we can to ensure our guests are comfortable. Anything you need from ear plugs to a complete room move will be provided. We are currently undergoing a renovation ourselves but are aiming to be finished very soon. You'll have to stop by and check out our new terrace and FIT gym.

Best,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were in the City celebrating a friends 50th and decided to stay at the W. This was our first visit to one of these hotels, so we weren't sure what to expect. We were impressed. The lobby does not have much to offer, but our room was great. We were on the 23rd floor in a corner room with great views of San Francisco. The decor was modern and the room was very clean.
Service was excellent, from the valet to the check in desk. We had dinner with 16 people at Traces restaurant and our food was very good. I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting SF.
It is centrally located and close to the Financial District and many fine restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexa W, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hello!

Thanks for choosing to celebrate with us! It sounds like you had a wonderful time with us! I'm glad you loved your room and had a chance to check out TRACE. Chef Jason is truly gifted and all the food is locally sourced. We even have our own garden on the rooftop. On your next visit, head to Upstairs Bar for a more intimate setting.

See you next time,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We are here now in a fabulous corner room. The hotel is nice, but we were disappointed to learn that you have to pay to use the sauna and steam room. We just came from the Four Seasons where this was included for all guests. It should not be an extra service, especially since the spa/gym area is under renovation.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank EmilyL8487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexa W, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Emily!

Thank you for your feedback! I'm glad that you are enjoying your corner room and find our hotel comfortable. Use of the spa facilities is not complimentary, but understand your frustration with the limited amenities while we are renovating FIT. We invite you back to experience the finished product at the end of the summer. If you have any issues, please reach out to us @WSANFRANCISCO and we would be happy to help!

Best,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,826 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#61 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#9 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#23 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#29 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#34 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W San Francisco

Property: W San Francisco
Address: 181 3rd St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — W San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the SoMa district, and neighbors with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, W San Francisco faces the beautiful Yerba Buena gardens and is a short walk to Union Square's shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your W San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
w Hotels San Francisco
w Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing