We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Fantastic Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #148 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I stayed here a while ago and the whole experience was delightful. The staff are friendly, informative and really nice and certainly went out of their way to make my stay as pleasant as possible. I had a room on the front and it was modern and clean and comfortable bed. I was warned by reception that there might be a bit of street noise from the trolley cars and the fire department, but that made it even more atmospheric. The #19 stops outside the door and it is easy to get downtown or to the Castro in a matter of minutes. The complimentary coffee and chocolates are also a thoughtful touch. I can't wait to stay here again.
Richard Kennedy

Room Tip: One at the front for the street view!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

It was a pleasure to stay in this hotel. Although small, the room was very comfy and clean. The bathroom was beautiful and spacious. But the most important was very nice and helpful stuff. Greetings for all the people working in the Edwardian hotel. Thank you for your help in finding a delicious food and advices in how to explore the city during the day and night. Best wishes!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Great spot - only 15 min walk from the bottom of Powell st, and only 5-10 mins from all the Cafes and shops in Mission. The service is great, the team are super friendly and helpful. No parking, but they will recommend a lot nearby that you can pay for at the hotel.

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I stayed here for a week and was delighted with the convenient location, very helpful staff and comfortable room. This hotel is 100 years old, but was recently redecorated and my room was bright, fresh, well-lighted and with very smart installation of power outets in the bedhead for PCs, tablets and phone recharge. I had a small room facing Market Street, but with a huge bathroom that was well fitted out for guests with disabilities. Old style windows do not cut out the street noise or light so take ear plugs and an eyemask for uninterrupted sleep. Located right on the historic "F" streetcar line, which stops at the door, it is easy to travel to Fisherman's Wharf, the Ferry Building and other sights. The downside: there are a lot of homeless people in this area; very distressing, but unfortunately very common throughout central San Francisco. On the whole great value for a lovely room.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be noisy. Rooms on the east side with large windows in the bathroom wil...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Best hotel I ever stayed in. It was clean, the bed was good, the room was very nicely decorated. The best part though was the staff, the owner and how they tried to make sure you got the best out of your visit in SF. Central location meant excellent public transport. There is traffic noise, there are homeless people outside on the street, but this is central SF, not Yosimety. Next time in SF I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

It is kinda desigh hotel, all rooms are nicely furnished. Awesome bed sheets. Very clean.very convinient in terms of location. F tram stops right in front of it, and it gonna take to main sights. It is a sight by itself))). Heys street is right behind - all good restaurants and bars are 5 mins walking distance. Staff is extreemely friendly and helpful: we had late check out at 2am and hadnt had provided them with this info. So poor reseptionist was so nice, he helped us not only with cheking in but with parking) he literally drive our car to its place. they provide u with parking permit for 15$ per your stay and its like cross the street. Very convenient. Be prepared for European size double beds.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sourmilkcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed for 5 nights. Rooms are small and no fridge. (Bin made a great esky for our beers) Best showers ever! plenty of hot water, and rooms very clean. Nice and quiet. Tram right outside the door. Staff wonderful, very helpful, very friendly, could not have asked for more. Tram ride to fishermans wharf, which is fantastic. Do the rocket boat ride! All in all a great place to stay. Nicks take away across the street has anything you need.
No air con in our room, not a problem for us, but may be an issue in summer.
Can't say enough , and great location, San Francisco a wonderful city and the Edwardian a great base, we would definitely stay again. Neville and Jo-Anne Page.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jnpage05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#193 of 229 in San Francisco
62 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 229 in San Francisco
1,360 reviews
Hotel EPIK
#127 of 229 in San Francisco
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#84 of 229 in San Francisco
725 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#157 of 229 in San Francisco
855 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#186 of 229 in San Francisco
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edwardian San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Address: 1668 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94102-5949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £75 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Edwardian San Francisco Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edwardian San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edwardian Hotel San Francisco
Edwardian San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing