We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good & bad!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #152 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good & bad!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel advertised as a b&b but this is NOT. Coffee at the front door but cold 99% of the time. But I would stay here again, but only for the staff. Even if you put a kettle in the room that would've a great improvement.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bigsweat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    105
    51
    36
    58
See reviews for
20
136
57
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

A very nice boutique hotel. It is conveniently located on Market Street. It is reasonably priced for San Francisco. The staff are very friendly. The rooms are clean. Good WiFi. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had a great stay at this Hotel in October 2013. It is brilliantly located on Market Street, right in front of an F Line tram stop, and only a short walk to the nearest subway / bus stops.

Our room, was on the front of the hotel and was spacious with a great modern bathroom.

The staff were friendly, chatty, informative and helpful when required.

I was hoping for anything but a generic hotel, and this is certainly what I got from this good old building, including an intimate wrangle with 'Stella' the Elevator who is 100 years young.

It is worth mentioning that Market Street is one of the busiest thoroughfares in San Francisco, and there is a fair amount of noise from traffic and people (including many noisy 'Winos') which may make it into your room, but this didn't bother us at all, but be warned this can be a noisy city.

The hot water plumbing could do with some attention, as this can be a little temperamental, but in a way added to the charm.

A great city, sad to leave. Hope we can come back to the Edwardian at some point in the future.

Room Tip: If you need quiet, use a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talent, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We loved the hotel and the staff were great, very friendly and helpful in telling us how to get around town on transit. The old fashion elevator was fun, room was VERY nice, bed VERY comfortable and bathroom nice as well, clean. The parking lot was just across the street about a block away and had plenty of space to park, nice plus. Public transportation is right in front and was easy to use.

That being said, I have to say the restaurant next door uses wood fire stove, I read the reviews before booking and did not think it would be as bad as reported, but it was pretty bad. They are working on a way to eliminate that "problem" with the owner of the restaurant. There are a lot of homeless people sleeping on side walks and drug dealers which was not pleasant to walk past/through.

We would have paid at least double maybe triple for the same room if we had stayed in a more "desirable" location, so all in all was glad we chose this hotel as we spent more on meals during our stay to San Fran then the hotel.

Room Tip: The front desk has fans. Starbucks coffee is about 3 blocks down, but coffee in lobby is pretty goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julyjen34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardianSf, Front Office Manager at Edwardian San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
The Amazing Cafe Zuni next door has just finished with the upgraded exhaust system as of today.
We hope that this will eliminate all smoke related complaints for our hotel.

Sincerely,

The Edwardian Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Reserved this boutique hotel in a 100-year-old building based solely on online info and pics, so I was a bit nervous about what I would actually find. To my relief, it looked just as fresh and crisp as the photos. Bold colors and great designer touches like the pair of Philippe Starck Ghost Chairs in my room. Location is great for getting around the city and the desk staff is very personable. Rooms are tiny, but that was fine for me. Main downsides: No A/C or fans, so those who like it cool will need to open a window. Unfortunately, this lets in a substantial amount of street noise and light so take ear plugs and a mask if you plan on sleeping. Overall, nice digs for the price.

Room Tip: Consider higher floors to keep outside noise to a minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee7712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just spent the night in this small hotel and was very pleased on all accounts. It's been recently renovated, so the rooms, though small, are clean, fresh and most comfortable. Love the old-modern details, like the old-time telephones and clocks and the modern soft towels and ultra-comfortable bed, and the hot shower. And the staff we had was simply awesome: Sal was so gracious in helping us get there and get parked as well as getting me a small lamp for reading and getting us to local restaurants. Leah was also very wonderful the next day with her friendliness and her assistance-- hopefully the management will work to keep these two people. The location,as other reviews have said, is central, so it's easy to access other parts of the city. All in all, this hotel is well worth its reasonable price and I will definitely stay here when I'm in the city again.

Room Tip: My room did not face the street; it was sunny with a large window i could open for some air, so i sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JettaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Hello Dear Community!
This Hotel is aweful! really. Rooms smell very very bad due to smoke caused by the steak house grill downstairs. All my clothes was stinking so much that people have turned around and started talking about me. even in stores small kids were saying: mommy it smells like barbecue!

I really recommend you to check other hotels in SF. After 2 days i canceled the stay and went to another Hotel. If you need a good hotel check out my second review for a good clean and cheep hotel in SF. Greetings guys!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intl_hotel_tester_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#95 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#139 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#129 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#151 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edwardian San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Property: Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Address: 1668 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94102-5949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Edwardian San Francisco Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edwardian San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edwardian Hotel San Francisco
Edwardian San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing