We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute concept, BAD surroundings!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #142 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Brooklyn, NY
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cute concept, BAD surroundings!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Edwardian for a San Francisco vacation and enjoyed our stay but it wasn't without its problems.

First thing you should know is that the hotel is located in the Tenderloin district which is currently attempting to become gentrified, but at the moment is EXTREMELY shady!! San Francisco in general is home to lots of homelessness and drug addicts but most of them seem to flock to this particular neighborhood. We arrived at night and were taken aback at the amount of crazies running around. Thankfully during the day it gets much better once the commuters come out.

We stayed for three nights and for our entire stay, the staff was extremely helpful and kind. The hotel is European style so you can expect the rooms to be very tiny. The building is very old from its manually closing elevator door to its old school gas heaters but they've done a really nice job of restoring and modernizing it while still maintaining its classic feel.

The bed was comfy and the modern artistic room was cute, but the room was not without its issues. There's no AC in the room, which honestly you don't need cause the nights are very cool, but if you open the windows you'll be bombarded by the sounds of traffic, garbage trucks and busses directly out front all night! Our sink drain stopper was broken along with the shower door and drain and the most unfortunate part was that it took 10 minutes for the hot water to come up.

Overall our stay was alright but there needs to be lots of improvements to make the stay a more enjoyable one for the future. They certainly can't help the shadiness of the neighborhood, but hopefully it'll be better in a few years. And since the building is so old, you can expect dated plumbing and structure. European style is certainly the best way to describe this place because I likened it to staying in a hostel.

It's definitely great for the price, just be warned of the neighborhood. We're from NYC so we're used to lots of homelessness, but this neighborhood was a bit much.

Overall we love San Francisco and did love the potential of staying here, but it'd be great to see it improve in the future.

Pro's: Friendly staff, convenient location, easy access to public transit (bus stops literally out front), modernized classic feel

Con's: Shady neighborhood at night, old plumbing and structure, really noisy!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Solo0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    114
    54
    37
    58
See reviews for
20
147
58
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel advertised as a b&b but this is NOT. Coffee at the front door but cold 99% of the time. But I would stay here again, but only for the staff. Even if you put a kettle in the room that would've a great improvement.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bigsweat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

A very nice boutique hotel. It is conveniently located on Market Street. It is reasonably priced for San Francisco. The staff are very friendly. The rooms are clean. Good WiFi. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had a great stay at this Hotel in October 2013. It is brilliantly located on Market Street, right in front of an F Line tram stop, and only a short walk to the nearest subway / bus stops.

Our room, was on the front of the hotel and was spacious with a great modern bathroom.

The staff were friendly, chatty, informative and helpful when required.

I was hoping for anything but a generic hotel, and this is certainly what I got from this good old building, including an intimate wrangle with 'Stella' the Elevator who is 100 years young.

It is worth mentioning that Market Street is one of the busiest thoroughfares in San Francisco, and there is a fair amount of noise from traffic and people (including many noisy 'Winos') which may make it into your room, but this didn't bother us at all, but be warned this can be a noisy city.

The hot water plumbing could do with some attention, as this can be a little temperamental, but in a way added to the charm.

A great city, sad to leave. Hope we can come back to the Edwardian at some point in the future.

Room Tip: If you need quiet, use a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talent, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We loved the hotel and the staff were great, very friendly and helpful in telling us how to get around town on transit. The old fashion elevator was fun, room was VERY nice, bed VERY comfortable and bathroom nice as well, clean. The parking lot was just across the street about a block away and had plenty of space to park, nice plus. Public transportation is right in front and was easy to use.

That being said, I have to say the restaurant next door uses wood fire stove, I read the reviews before booking and did not think it would be as bad as reported, but it was pretty bad. They are working on a way to eliminate that "problem" with the owner of the restaurant. There are a lot of homeless people sleeping on side walks and drug dealers which was not pleasant to walk past/through.

We would have paid at least double maybe triple for the same room if we had stayed in a more "desirable" location, so all in all was glad we chose this hotel as we spent more on meals during our stay to San Fran then the hotel.

Room Tip: The front desk has fans. Starbucks coffee is about 3 blocks down, but coffee in lobby is pretty goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julyjen34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardianSf, Front Office Manager at Edwardian San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
The Amazing Cafe Zuni next door has just finished with the upgraded exhaust system as of today.
We hope that this will eliminate all smoke related complaints for our hotel.

Sincerely,

The Edwardian Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, texas
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Reserved this boutique hotel in a 100-year-old building based solely on online info and pics, so I was a bit nervous about what I would actually find. To my relief, it looked just as fresh and crisp as the photos. Bold colors and great designer touches like the pair of Philippe Starck Ghost Chairs in my room. Location is great for getting around the city and the desk staff is very personable. Rooms are tiny, but that was fine for me. Main downsides: No A/C or fans, so those who like it cool will need to open a window. Unfortunately, this lets in a substantial amount of street noise and light so take ear plugs and a mask if you plan on sleeping. Overall, nice digs for the price.

Room Tip: Consider higher floors to keep outside noise to a minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee7712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just spent the night in this small hotel and was very pleased on all accounts. It's been recently renovated, so the rooms, though small, are clean, fresh and most comfortable. Love the old-modern details, like the old-time telephones and clocks and the modern soft towels and ultra-comfortable bed, and the hot shower. And the staff we had was simply awesome: Sal was so gracious in helping us get there and get parked as well as getting me a small lamp for reading and getting us to local restaurants. Leah was also very wonderful the next day with her friendliness and her assistance-- hopefully the management will work to keep these two people. The location,as other reviews have said, is central, so it's easy to access other parts of the city. All in all, this hotel is well worth its reasonable price and I will definitely stay here when I'm in the city again.

Room Tip: My room did not face the street; it was sunny with a large window i could open for some air, so i sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JettaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#87 of 229 in San Francisco
709 reviews
Hotel EPIK
#127 of 229 in San Francisco
92 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#152 of 229 in San Francisco
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,328 reviews
Hayes Valley
Inn at the Opera
Inn at the Opera
#106 of 229 in San Francisco
732 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 229 in San Francisco
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edwardian San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Property: Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Address: 1668 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94102-5949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Edwardian San Francisco Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edwardian San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edwardian Hotel San Francisco
Edwardian San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing