We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of Hotel Vertigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vertigo
Ranked #73 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed 25 October 2007

We stayed at the York hotel for three nights in early October. We had booked three rooms for our party and it was a little frustrating not to be able to get into any of the rooms when we arrived at about midday after an overnight flight. However, the rooms were spotlessly clean although a little small and they were all we needed as we were tourists and not too interested in hanging out in the rooms anyway. The young ladies who worked the front desk were polite and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. The gentlemen who covered the evening shift were equally helpful and friendly. This hotel is located about six blocks from Union Square and great shopping and an inexpensive taxi ride to wherever you want to go. The staff will even find you a taxi within 5 minutes of your request.
Breakfast was provided .... a little sparse .... but enough to start your day, and, although the rooms need some upgrading they were perfectly adequate. I would recommend this hotel to budget travellers.

  • Liked — I liked it's proximity to the things I wanted to visit.
  • Disliked — The rooms could use a little sprucing up.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    644
    237
    54
    40
See reviews for
156
742
97
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2007

a friendly hotel with pleasant helpful staff, rooms are adequate and it is not too far from union square

  • Liked — pleasant atmosphere
  • Disliked — breakfast, even though it was free
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eyesee1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dusseldorf
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

Rooms old, staff dump,no good at all!!!!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ballaballa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2007

This was our first stop in America. I was a little apprehensive because of the reviews I had read so didn't expect a great deal.

There was a great welcome for us, very friendly staff, huge room, good size bathroom but overall a little dated and could do with doing up.

There was the odd mark on the carpet and the curtains could do with a little attention but our room was very quiet (which I requested) and the bed was large and comfortable.

The location is great - about a 10 minute walk to Union Sq - plenty of bars, cafes to stop at on the way. Yes, agree that if you turn the wrong way in the evening you may be in less desirable areas.

Breakfast is poor and plastic plates and cups I don;t think are appropriate. We had breakfast out for 2 of the 3 days.

Overall, good, comfortable, reasonable in price and ideal for us in terms of location.

I think the bar is pretty cool though - great cocktails!

  • Liked — Size of the room and the friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — Run down
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank liz_huss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2007

Stayed here for three nights at the end of August.
Its a very pleasant hotel, clean and bright, and I found the staff there very helpful. Our room was very comfortable too.
Breakfast was a bit sparse with not too much choice, but eating out is cheap and good quality so it was never a problem.
Good walking distance to transport facilities and shopping areas
Recommended

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingManGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2007

Very shabby hotel we stayed in about 10 hotels on our honeymoon and this was by far the biggest let down. Windows were shaking, staff were very unhelpful.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MW1Wx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2007

There was blood on the curtains in our room. I probably don't need to say more, but I will.

I booked this after reading the positive user reviews and expected a small, quaint, vintage-ey hotel...and it is that. But its also dingy and dirty, with windows that don't close, horrible old beds and paper thin walls.

We checked in for a three night stay in early August. At first it seemed cute...but when we got to our room, I kid you not, there was a decent size smear of blood on the white curtain sheers. Grossed out and not sure what to make of that, we asked to be switched to another room, which we were. Since it was late, we stayed the night, but checked out the next morning and went elsewhere.

To be fair, the staff was very nice and accomodating. But, make no mistake, this is a run down, bare bones place to crash...nothing more.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_G777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,340 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Queen Anne Hotel
#82 of 229 in San Francisco
643 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#90 of 229 in San Francisco
2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vertigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo

Property: Hotel Vertigo
Address: 940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-6025 (Formerly York Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vertigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vertigo is a 102-room boutique hotel that is renowned for its simplicity and admired for its unique character. Recently renovated, this non-smoking hotel playfully feeds off the Hitchcock's classic movie, "Vertigo." With rich wood furnishings highlighted with cream and orange accents, it is well suited for vacationers, families, and business travellers alike.Situated in the lower Nob Hill pocket of downtown San Francisco, the convenient location provides easy access to many of the city's top attractions and destinations. Just steps away from Cable Cars, Union Square and the major shopping and theater districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vertigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vertigo Hotel San Francisco
York Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing