We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, clean, central based hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vertigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vertigo
Ranked #74 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good, clean, central based hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Myself and 2 friends stayed here 5-10 April 2012.

Good points:
-Clean large room
-Maids cleaned and restocked room daily
-Helpful reception staff
-Unusual decor especially in lobby but brings charm to the hotel and is not over the top
-Central location(walk to the bottom of sutter street and you have Union square where you can find Macy's, Niketown, the Uggs store, Tiffanys and more.

Bad points:
-There weren't any as such but the hotel had a small gym and I feel that this would be better used as a bar so that guests can relax and have somewhere to hang out.
-There is no-where to eat within hotel but plenty places to eat are nearby and we also brought back take-away.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 605 on the 6th floor- this was a double room with large flat screen tv and seems t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sianclarkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    614
    228
    51
    38
See reviews for
145
706
94
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I spent a week there and the location couldn't be better, a few blocks from Union Square and you can take a MUNI bus right on the same street of the hotel or 1 or 2 blocks away depending where you are heading to. There's some convenience stores and small cafes steps away, a pizzeria and even a laundry place. The beds are crazily comfortable, the bath robes that welcome you in the closet are so soft! Nice design in the lobby and in the rooms, the bathroom was clean but beware of the slippery floor. The walls are a bit thin and if your neighbors are noisy, you'll hear them. The coffe station that they put in the mornings is simple but does the trick, if you want a bigger tastier coffee just go somewhere else.The staff was kind. I recommend the hotel for sure!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugenia_SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I was choosing between hotel Baldwin next to Chinatown gates where we stayed before and Vertigo. Went for something new (and better priced!) and was very glad.

The design is very refreshing (loved the 'crocodile skin' tiles), the room was clean, and quieter than at Baldwin.

Do use the Powell station to arrive/leave at night. The other station (can't remember the name) is closer distance-wise but even walking there at 11 am did not feel exactly comfortable. But this has nothing to do with the hotel, it has to do with SF where as always you need to realize where to/not to go.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Hotel Vertigo for a 3 nights after my conference concluded. I had a 2 double bed room on the 2nd floor. The hotel was well managed and maintained, the room was adequate and both my friend and I had comfortable sleeps. The beds are new and have a reasonable pillow top. The room itself is on the small side but given the price point, I have no complaints. It is located about a 20 minute walk from Union Square but there are a lot of shops and cafes to browse during the walk.

I can't think of any major points for improvement. I enjoyed my time in San Francisco and would stay at the Hotel Vertigo again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trigirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and were not disappointed. It's a great little hotel close enough to walk to union square and if you're feeling energetic you can walk all the way to Fisherman's Wharf without too much trouble. The rooms are a good size and nicely decorated, loved the horse head lamps. You will have to climb a hill or two to get to/from the hotel but I challenge you to find a hotel in San Francisco where that isn't the case. The hotel staff were wonderful, really friendly and helpful. They will hold your luggage for you if you want to spend more time in the city once you've checked out. All in all a great hotel for a short city break.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kakaboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed in a king room for 2 nights and loved it. The hotel is themed around orange and white but very tastefully done. The room was huge with a walk in wardrobe which lit when you opened doors. Location is great - 5 min walk to Union Square. Staff excellent, in particular Gregory at reception who really did give us some great recommendations. Will definitely stay here when we are next in the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetoskiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Hotel recently redone. gorgeous rooms. comfy beds and clean. very quiet. not far from powell street where cable cars run. walked there daily with a 6 year old in tow. friendly staff. if you've never been to san fran you need to know parking is additional, but the offered a lowered price at a parking structure up the block. its cheaper to buy a muni pass and ride the city transportaion then getting your car in and out daily. we loved that we were close enough to walk to the areas we wanted, but far enough that it was loud on the street and we could sleep at night. cute little cafes and pizza shops within a block or two. loved it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCaliMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#67 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#89 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vertigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo

Property: Hotel Vertigo
Address: 940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-6025 (Formerly York Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vertigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vertigo is a 102-room boutique hotel that is renowned for its simplicity and admired for its unique character. Recently renovated, this non-smoking hotel playfully feeds off the Hitchcock's classic movie, "Vertigo." With rich wood furnishings highlighted with cream and orange accents, it is well suited for vacationers, families, and business travellers alike.Situated in the lower Nob Hill pocket of downtown San Francisco, the convenient location provides easy access to many of the city's top attractions and destinations. Just steps away from Cable Cars, Union Square and the major shopping and theater districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vertigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vertigo Hotel San Francisco
York Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing