We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value and Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vertigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Vertigo
Ranked #75 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Value and Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in a nice area about 10 minutes walk from Union Square. The Hitchcock themed rooms and reception area are wonderful. The staff were very accommodating to all our needs.

There didn't seem to be many places to eat out nearby to the hotel, but you can always get a short taxi ride down to Union Square area.

My only gripe with the hotel was the rooms do not have much sound proofing. Bring your earplugs! You can hear everything in every room nearby. If you are a light sleeper then this hotel is not for you.

Overall, It was great value and in a great location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Scotty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Captain_Scotty1

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a nice review and more importantly, we are happy you were hosted by our friendly staff. We do hope to see you on a future stay in our great city of San Francisco.
Thank you again!

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    607
    224
    50
    38
See reviews for
144
697
91
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was my first trip to SF. Stayed mid August 2013. Hotel Vertigo was centrally located, clean, great service, great staff. Sergio made me feel right at home, so helpful with any questions/concerns I had. He went out of his way to make sure things are taken care of for you. He really made our trip. Hotel is in a great location for exploring the city. Staff was attentive, rooms clean. What more can you ask for? Would stay again, and def. recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swfUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear SwfUSA,

Thank you for you kind and thoughtful review of our hotel. We are happy you got to experience our fantastic location and enjoyed our great city and always friendly staff. We are grateful when our guests are truly satisfied with their stay and we appreciate that you took a moment to tell us about yours. We hope to see you as a guest again in the future!

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Hotel is in a great location for exploring the city. Union Square is only a few blocks away and has great shops, restaurants and bars. You can walk to fishermans wharf or get the cable car from nearby. The hotel is clean and comfortable. We did have an issue with our key cards repeatedly not working which was met with indifference by the staff who reprogrammed them with no apology or urgency. There is no dining or room service but we were aware of this and there are plenty of places nearby. There is also free coffee available in the foyer each morning, which was a nice touch. We were on 6th floor and on occasion were disturbed by footsteps of the occupants of the room above ours on creaky floorboards. However, we understand this is an old building. We could only get one network TV channel on the TV in the room, but this didn't matter too much as we were out most of the time. On our checkout the staff were really helpful and arranged a car to the airport which was on time and the driver was incredibly friendly. In summary, we would stay here again in future and recommend it based on location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Gobshoite,

I am very sorry to hear that you had an issue with the key card, an and my apologies on behalf of the staff for not apologizing to you every time you had to come to get a new key, besides that I am happy to hear that you had a fantastic time and enjoyed the Hotel Vertigo. We are so glad you had a comfortable stay with us and we truly appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a kind review. We do hope to see you again as a guest in the future should you return to San Francisco.

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Stuck in San Fran for a night and found this place last minute. The room was clean, the location was pretty good and ambiance was interesting - hello Vertigo stairs!!! But because the room didn't have AC, we had to keep window open and the street was nosy. But we absolutely got what we paid for and it was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nekobaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Nekobaby,

Thank you very much for sharing your Hotel Vertigo experience with us. We are very pleased that your room exceeded your expectations. We would love to have you back at the hotel. We look forward to your next stay in San Francisco.

Please come again soon!

Luis Morales
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed at Hotel Vertigo end of March for two nights. I used their valet parking for $35 per night.
In June, I started receiving past due notices about a parking ticket that I was never aware of. Apparently while my rental car was in their care, they parked it illegally next to the hotel on Sutter. I've spoken to three different people at the hotel who said I need to speak to the manager to get reimbursed. The manager never returns my calls.
Now I'm still receiving collection notices for a $200 parking ticket.
The neighborhood is horrendous, by the way.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrogENTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear FrogENTP,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Please accept my apology for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay, especially with the valet company.

Given the very limited information posted on your review I have not been able to find your reservation in our system. Could you please reach out to me directly so that I may address and alleviate the problem you mentioned in your review.

Sincerely,

Luis Morales
Manager
415-885-6800
lmorales@haiyi-hotels .com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This hotel was just what I expected! The room was bigger than I thought it would in the city.
The beds were comfy and the room was completely updated. The view was not much and the walls a bit thin, but we were really only there to shower and sleep!
There is a great bfast place on the corner "Hans" and 3 or 4 other quick walk in type places for a quick slice of pizza or sandwich. The location was pretty good, within walking distance to Union Square.
The hotels' greatest asset was Greg!!! he made several arrangements for us, saving time and money! Wealth of info and just made our stay in SF that much better!!! I would definately stay there anytime I am visting SF!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara1521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Sara1521,

Thank you for the excellent review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Vertigo. Our friendly staff especially Greg were happy to assist you during your trip--we love to see our guests relaxing and having a good time. I'm delighted to receive such praise for Greg directly from you as our guest

We can't wait to have you back at our hotel. Please come again soon!

Luis Morales
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I brought our 9 year old daughter and her friend to San Francisco for a birthday weekend. After a fantastic day, we showed up to the hotel and were underwhelmed. The lobby was dingy and musty. We got the room and the girls were amazed by how small it was. They chose to play in the closet. We attempted to watch tv and there were maybe 10 channels. None of them kid friendly. I'm so tired of being disappointed by places that come highly recommended on websites like this one.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harpandwes2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Harpandwe 2012,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Hotel Vertigo. We would like to extend our apologies for the inconveniences you may have experienced with your room and the accommodations as a whole.
It is our goal to exceed each individual guest’s needs, and from time to time we do fall short of that goal.

Thank you again for your feedback,

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#67 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Cova Hotel
#94 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#83 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vertigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo

Property: Hotel Vertigo
Address: 940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-6025 (Formerly York Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vertigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vertigo is a 102-room boutique hotel that is renowned for its simplicity and admired for its unique character. Recently renovated, this non-smoking hotel playfully feeds off the Hitchcock's classic movie, "Vertigo." With rich wood furnishings highlighted with cream and orange accents, it is well suited for vacationers, families, and business travellers alike.Situated in the lower Nob Hill pocket of downtown San Francisco, the convenient location provides easy access to many of the city's top attractions and destinations. Just steps away from Cable Cars, Union Square and the major shopping and theater districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Vertigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vertigo Hotel San Francisco
York Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing