We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vertigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Vertigo
Ranked #75 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An excellent stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I was very happy with my stay here. The rooms rooms are very big and spacious with plenty of storage in the walk on wardrobe.

The bedroom and bathroom were spotless and well maintained. The bed was very comfortable.

One of of the best things about the hotel is its location. Its only a 15 minute walk to union square/westfield and 10 minutes to Chinatown.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsPie182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear MsPie182,

Thank you for being a guest of ours during your visit to San Francisco. We are happy you were pleased with your stay and that you found ours rooms big, spacious, spotless and well maintained. We appreciate your kind words for both, our staff and our accommodations. We hope you will join us again in the future should your travels bring you back to this beautiful city.

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    607
    224
    50
    38
See reviews for
144
697
91
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very well located hotel for Union Square and surrounding areas. We were upgraded to a bigger room which was lovely- however my only criticism is that the room was absolutely boiling (in September) and we had to have the noisy fan on full to cool it down. The room was spotlessly clean and very modern (the bathrooms could perhaps do with a bit of TLC). The front desk staff were absolutely fantastic- always offering directions and sorting out taxi's/ valet parking when needed. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Victoria S,

We thank you for being a guest and for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed our location and the surrounding areas. We are very sorry to hear that you were here on summer time and our hotel is not equipped with AC. We welcome you back, should your future travel ever brings you back to San Francisco.
We will share your comments to the front desk and housekeeping staff, since they take pride at the job they do.


Luis Morales
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stay for 2 nights on October with my wife. The hotel decoration is very classy, from the lobby up to our room. Check-in and check-out is very smooth. Location wise, even it is close to some major attractions (Union square, etc) but also close to Tenderloin which make us feels a bit insecure (not their fault btw). Only problem is on our last day just before check-out when we waited for the lift for nearly 10 mins. We've got to drag our heavy luggage and found out that the lift is out of service. At least put some sign on each floor that the lift is broken. Otherwise everything else should be ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Andai,

We are so fortunate to have you and your wife as our guests this year in our hotel. We thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. More importantly, we are glad our staff was able to have a smooth check-in and check-out for you. We do apologized for the lift breaking down on your last day with us, we do thank you for your feedback and we will definitely take the appropriate measurements on notifying people when it breaks down next time.
We look forward to seeing you again and we appreciate your kind words.

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Vertigo. The decor in reception and the rooms is cool. The bed was super firm, just how it should be. Location is good, only 10 minutes to walk to choice of cable cars and bus routes. The free wifi is excellent for hotel standard. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kendle_of_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Kendle_of_London,

We thank you for being a guest of ours and for leaving us your kind review about your stay. We are pleased that our staff helped you enjoy your visit at our beautiful location. We do hope you have a chance to visit us again in the future.

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

pm. The rooms have nice fluffy bathrobes, amenities include an in room fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, a safe for valuables, great mirrors, i-pod docks, flat, wall mounted TVs, our room was very spacious as well. They also have a gym, open from 8-11, or something like that. The minibar is fully stocked, including a great array of, snacks, ,the bathroom has a good line of green products, that smell great.....hallways between rooms were narrow, but, once you are in your room, you can't hear anyone, or anything out there. They have bellmen to help with luggage, oh....property is centrally located to get to union square, and you don't have to pay those prices. They neighborhood seemed really safe as well. They offer an overnight car rate at $30 or $35 which is extremely reasonable, they also have a wheel chairlift at the entrance.

Room Tip: we had a great room 2, queen beds, lots of room, 5th floor, .the last room, on the left 505. I have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanette93921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear jeanette93921,

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave us such a comprehensive and fantastic review. We are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay while with us. We love hearing your compliments to our staff and we are glad that you appreciated all the amenities that the Hotel Vertigo provides our guests. Thank you for your stay and we hope to have you as a guest again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Luis Morales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

My daughter and I just visited San Francisco and stayed at Hotel Vertigo. The room was nice, clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was great and within walking distance to lots of stores and restaurants. The hotel does not have a restaurant but there is a cafe right across the street, Nob Hill Grille around the corner, and lots of other places to grab a bite to eat. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Stacey011,

Hello, we are so pleased you had such an awesome stay with us. We thank you for being a guest and for taking a moment to leave us your kind review. Glad you got a chance to take in our gorgeous city while staying at the Hotel Vertigo.

Regards,

Luis Morales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Just left San Fran and had a wonderful stay at Hotel Vertigo. The staff were all friendly and the cleanliness throughout the hotel exceeded expectations. The beds were super comfortable and apart from not having a bar for an evening drink, I would rate this hotel v.high! They do, do a complimentary wine session in reception each evening and this was very nice.
Overall, the hotel was a 10 min taxi from Pier 39 - cost approx. $8-10 dollars one way.
Really enjoyed my stay and would definitely return.
Thanks for making my stay a good one!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesandCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear CharlesandCharlie,

Thank you very much taking time to provide us with a kind review of the Hotel Vertigo. I'm glad that you found our staff friendly and that we exceeded your expectations in regards to cleanliness. We hope to see you soon when your travels lead you back to San Francisco!

Regards,

Luis Morales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#67 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Cova Hotel
#94 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#83 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vertigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo

Property: Hotel Vertigo
Address: 940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-6025 (Formerly York Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vertigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vertigo is a 102-room boutique hotel that is renowned for its simplicity and admired for its unique character. Recently renovated, this non-smoking hotel playfully feeds off the Hitchcock's classic movie, "Vertigo." With rich wood furnishings highlighted with cream and orange accents, it is well suited for vacationers, families, and business travellers alike.Situated in the lower Nob Hill pocket of downtown San Francisco, the convenient location provides easy access to many of the city's top attractions and destinations. Just steps away from Cable Cars, Union Square and the major shopping and theater districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vertigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vertigo Hotel San Francisco
York Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing