We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but prepare to walk.”
Review of Hotel Vertigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vertigo
Ranked #70 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here as our first stay in the usa from Australia on our honeymoon. Met by friendly, warm staff who were very helpful in advising us where to go. The room we had was small and simple but very nice. Hotel is in a good location (fairly central) but being on top of a hill and not on a tram street, cabs were a must after the amount of walking we did each day. Definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuggs_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear nuggs_aus,

We truly appreciate your thoughtful review and we appreciate your recognition of all the great things our property can offer especially our staff. We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Regards,

Luis Morales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

Lovely hotel. A short walk from the station. Very reasonable area. We walked round in the evening and felt safe. Lots of restaurant within the vicinity. The room is very clean and comfortable. the best part of our stay are the staff. Very welcoming and friendly.
Genive stands out among the rest. She always greet us and give us a lot of information about the city especially it's our first time in San Francisco. She goes beyond our expectations . She made as feel like we're home away from home. Hotel has also free wifii and every morning coffee and tea in the lobby and in the afternoon free wine tasting. Over all, we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Kathleen B,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We love hearing how much you enjoyed your 1st time in San Francisco. I will definitely pass on your compliments to our wonderful staff and especially Genevieve who exceeded your expectations by providing welcoming, friendly and superior service!

We appreciate you being a guest of ours and look forward to your next visit!

Luis Morales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

This the first time to San Francisco that I have not stayed in the area of Fisherman's Warf, and the Hotel Vertigo has changed my perspective of San Francisco. The Warf is a great area, but it is all tourists.

When we go to SF, we like to walk (a lot) and visit the places the locals go. The Hotel Vertigo is in a great location for branching out all over the city. And, on those days when you just want to hang out - there are plenty of restaurants and bars within blocks.

Hotel Vertigo is a seven story boutique hotel. Over the last couple of years I have made the decision to only stay in boutique hotels, and Hotel Vertigo does not disappoint.

The rooms are small, but very well appointed. It is apparent that my room had recently been renovated with modern chic. The bathroom was huge with a great rain shower head. The room was on par with some of my recent stays in Madrid and Mexico City. Excellent WiFi coverage all over the hotel.

My only complaint was that I had an inside corner room (709) on the 7th floor that adjoined another room. The door to the adjoining room was not very sound proof so I almost clearly heard TV and conversation in the next room. This was only a problem one night for about an hour before a fell to sleep after a long day of exploring the city.

The staff here are amazing. They were always ready to help us with directions, taxis and recommendations. The rooms are cleaned very quickly each day with great detail.

My friends have been staying at Hotel Vertigo for years and I'm glad they convinced me to stay here this time. I'll be back in a few months with my girlfriend and I know she will love the Hotel Vertigo.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Cortesokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Cortesokc,

Thank you very much for your comprehensive review of your experience in San Francisco while staying at the Hotel Vertigo. I'm delighted that took advantage of our location and neighborhood feel along with the wonderful interactions you had with the Housekeeping and Front desk staff.

We look forward to you returning with your girlfriend to the Hotel Vertigo!

Regards,

Luis Morales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Nice and Central location on Sutter St. Right near a great pizza place and 2 convenience stores. Clean room with safe and mini fridge and friendly staff. They were helpful with maps and directiond. Nice homey kind of hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bec-F-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Bec-F-C,

Thank you very much for your feedback and 4 star review! I'm delighted that you found our staff friendly and that they were able to assist you with maps and directions. We look forward to having you as a return guest!

Regards,

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights on our California road trip for our honeymoon.

We chose to save money on certain stops in order to treat ourselves to luxury hotels at other stops. We chose Hotel Vertigo as one of our budget options as we felt that we'd spend so much time walking around the city that the hotel wouldn't matter too much - and we were not disappointed.

The hotel is very cool and modern in decoration and seemed to have been renovated recently. The reception area was very grand and check-in was efficient with off-site valet parking. The room was small and basic but very clean and well decorated and had everything we could have expected at this price point. The bed was comfortable, however we had spent so much time exploring the city we could probably have had a good night's sleep on a park bench!

Being people who like to walk around cities for the most part, the location was ideal for us. It took us about 10 minutes to walk to Union Square and Chinatown and about 45 minutes (in different directions!) to Pier 1, Lombard Street or the Alcatraz tour departure point (which is truly a must-see).

The hotel was very easy to find by car from the freeway from the south and took less than 30 minutes to get to the Golden Gate bridge by car on the morning of our departure.

There are also countless little cafes, bars and shops close by so you're never stuck for food or drink.

If you're really just looking for a place to sleep while visiting a wonderful city I could not recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneLikesJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear OneLikesJam,

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We thank you for leaving us a 4-star review, and we do hope you will join us as a guest again should you return to San Francisco!

Regards,

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This was our first visit to SF and not really sure what to expect. Room was a good size, with walk-in wardrobe. We upgraded to this hotel as an optional extra for our trip, and very glad we did as the original hotel was a few blocks down and in the "tenderloin" area! The stay was good, it was peaceful at night and slept well. It was close to union square and a great base to explore the city. The staff also saved our bacon on departure day, we were badly let down by super shuttle - and would have missed our flight had it not been for the swift actions of the hotel staff. We managed to get into another transfer that happened to be at the hotel and made our flight on time!! We cannot thank the hotel staff enough! They were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We would recommend this hotel and would chose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Gemma A,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your kind words and we will make sure to pass your compliments on to our team. Guest satisfaction is our top priority, so we are happy to go above and beyond to make our guests' stay a comfortable one.We are happy to hear our staff exceeded expectations and that we were able to help you catch your flight!

Thank you for your stay and we hope to have you as a guest again in the future.

Regards,

Luis Morales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Very nice and quiet hotel, good for short trips. Standard room is not so spacious but cozy and clean, for two it's enough. Close to city centre, Union square and China town. 10 minutes walk from financial district. Free coffee and tea mornings.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrenePav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hi IrenePav,

We thank you for being a guest and for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed our great location and enjoyed your time in San Francisco. We welcome you back should your future travel ever bring you back this way.

Warm Regards,

Luis Morales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Anne Hotel
#76 of 230 in San Francisco
655 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#79 of 230 in San Francisco
691 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#75 of 230 in San Francisco
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vertigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo

Address: 940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-6025 (Formerly York Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £111 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vertigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vertigo is a 102-room boutique hotel that is renowned for its simplicity and admired for its unique character. Recently renovated, this non-smoking hotel playfully feeds off the Hitchcock's classic movie, "Vertigo." With rich wood furnishings highlighted with cream and orange accents, it is well suited for vacationers, families, and business travellers alike.Situated in the lower Nob Hill pocket of downtown San Francisco, the convenient location provides easy access to many of the city's top attractions and destinations. Just steps away from Cable Cars, Union Square and the major shopping and theater districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vertigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vertigo Hotel San Francisco
York Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing