We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service-great hotel!”
Review of Hotel Vertigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Vertigo
Ranked #71 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The staff were very attentive and friendly. Christina was at the front desk when we checked in and was very accommodating.The location is perfect for visitors as it's centrally located which is great for seeing the city sights. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zampster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Zampster,

Thank you for your review. We know you have many choices when visiting San Francisco, so we appreciate you chose Hotel Vertigo during this visit and we hope you continue choosing it on your next visits. We will also share your nice comments to our staff and specially Christina. Again, thank you and we hope to see you again on you next visit to San Francisco.

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Can't say enough about the place! My stay was so awesome I had to stay an extra night! Greg and Christina at the front desk were polite, attentive, and fun. You could tell they were very proud of where they worked. The décor was very modern and updated. Loved the room. Super duper clean. Free wine in the evenings in a nice little lounge area. Many bars, cafes, BART, Union Square, etc all within walking distance. The venue and staff really made the trip way more fun. Can't wait to get back. . .this is the spot!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrelMicca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear DarrelMicca,

Thank you for your 5-star review of our hotel. We appreciate you being a guest of ours and for leaving us your feedback. We are happy that, overall you had a pleasant experience at our hotel and we will definitely shared your comments with our staff, especially with Christina and Greg and the cleaning staff since your room was SUPER DUPER clean. We are also happy you enjoy our wine hour.

We hope you will return again for another visit to San Francisco and remember, our hotel is the SPOT!

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Big rooms, free Wi-Fi, cheap mini-fridge items, comfy and clean. Will stay again. Hitchcock connection. Cool staircase. Attentive service. Nice amenities. Happily impressed with the thorough and attentive servixe.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank mayans82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Mayans 82,
We appreciate your sincere review of our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we are very happy to hear you found our rooms as comfy and clean. We will definitely share your comments with our entire staff since we take pride in providing service and always being attentive and our goal is to meet every guest expectation.
We hope to see you and your friends in your next trip to San Francisco.

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

What a great place to stay! The hotel was immaculate! Greg and Sean at the front desk were FIRST CLASS! Parking was easy with their Valet service. The room was great. The rooms have opening windows to let that fresh San Fran air inside. Very comfortable beds!!!! The Hotel is in a cool little neighborhood. Cafes and Bars on the same block. Signature San Francisco!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the street so you can enjoy the City environment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yoursmilinggoat .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Yoursmilinggoat,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are more than pleased that you had such a wonderful stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and letting us know what you enjoyed about our hotel. We will definitely share your comments with our staff and especially with Greg and Sean. We hope to see you again for another visit to San Francisco. Thank you again for your review.

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel staff is very nice. They were kind enough to move our room when we could hear the guy next door coughing loudly and often. The walls are very thin. Parking is rough in the area. They do their best but make sure you call WAY ahead to get your car from valet. It takes over 30 minutes. When you arrive you will most likely have to double park-don't be afraid-this is apparently the norm for San Fran. In Miami you're getting toed for a move like this in about 2 minutes. We, of course, did not know we could double park and we went around and around like a National Lampoons nightmare about 6 six times-down one way streets, getting honked at by trolleys, cops, and annoyed locals. The neighborhood is a little shady at night. If we knew what we were up against we would've paid the extra $80 to book a more upscale hotel closer to the square with easier on-site parking and nicer amenities. They have done a decent job trying to resurrect this old building into a comfortable stay. The bed and bath were nice.

Room Tip: Hint: ask for a room that doesn't connect to another room. The thin walls are like paper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Christina W,

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback as it helps us to learn about areas in which we can improve. I'm glad that we were able to move you to another room to your liking and that you notified us promptly to resolve the noise issue. We thank you for your patience while waiting for your vehicle and upon check-in we notify all of our guests about the 30 min wait when retrieving their vehicle.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed a great stay in San Francisco.

Luis Morales
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We are a couple from Austria and stayed six nights at the fabulous Hotel Vertigo, the Hotel where the Hitchcock movie takes place. The tasteful design with the main colours in white and orange gives a light and airy touch, our room was spacious with a Kingsize Bed and equipped with a big Flatscreen TV, coffeemachine, refrigerator and safe. The street was surprisingly relatively quiet for being a major through-street. The Hotel is centrally located, within 10 walking minutes from downtown San Francisco, very close are also buses and the cablecar. Coffeeshops like Cup-a-Joe are all within 5 minutes and offer everything from Croissants and Bagels to the typical American breakfast. The staff at the Hotel was exceptionally friendly and helpful, especially Sean who along with a friendly smile always had good tips in store on what was going on in San Francisco. I can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel which made our stay here in The City very special.

Room Tip: Kingsize room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbee0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Travelbee0802,

Thank you for leaving us your kind review. We are pleased to hear you had such a great stay and you found our Hotel fabulous. We will share your comments with our staff and specially Sean and will definitely let him know that you were happy with his restaurant recommendations. We hope you will be back to visit us again soon.

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for four nights. Pros include the design features, details in rooms like the robes and coffee makers, and the proximity to Union Square. Cons for us were the lack of information from reception regarding the area, i,e. if you turn right when you come out of the hotel and walk a couple of blocks you may feel quite exposed and unsafe as a tourist. There are plenty of great restaurants nearby but research them before you go as the only place we were recommended specifically by reception was a very average bar/ restaurant across the road. I know TVs aren't necessarily that important when you're in a great city, but having 4 or 5 stations only is a bit of a joke - probably better just not to include TVs in-room. There are no breakfast facilities in-house, we liked the diner on the corner of the block - Golden Coffee I think it was called. Also worth trying for a fancier breakfast would be Brenda's Soul Food, on Polk St., and for a good burger Pearl's Deluxe Burgers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlaftumiLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear BlaftumiLou,

We thank you for being a guest of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our location and the proximity to Union Square and do appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. We do apologize for the lack of information from our reception staff regarding the area. We also apologize for the lack of TV stations, in which we are currently working to upgrade them.
We hope to see you again on a future trip to San Francisco.

Luis Morales
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#89 of 230 in San Francisco
2,374 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cova Hotel
#101 of 230 in San Francisco
1,188 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#75 of 230 in San Francisco
717 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vertigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo

Address: 940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-6025 (Formerly York Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £104 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vertigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vertigo is a 102-room boutique hotel that is renowned for its simplicity and admired for its unique character. Recently renovated, this non-smoking hotel playfully feeds off the Hitchcock's classic movie, "Vertigo." With rich wood furnishings highlighted with cream and orange accents, it is well suited for vacationers, families, and business travellers alike.Situated in the lower Nob Hill pocket of downtown San Francisco, the convenient location provides easy access to many of the city's top attractions and destinations. Just steps away from Cable Cars, Union Square and the major shopping and theater districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vertigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vertigo Hotel San Francisco
York Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing