We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend this budget hotel !”
Review of Hotel Vertigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vertigo
Ranked #70 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 January 2009

We stayed in this hotel for one night while being in transit between international flights on X-mas eve of 2008, arriving in the morning from New Zealand and tired from the long overnight flight. Our room was in the un-remodeled section of the place - it def reminded us of "Vertigo" and signs of the grand remodeling are everywhere - however we didn't care - only needed a shower and a bed to rest for a few hours before heading into town.The furbishings were old and the sight not very appealing, but heck - it was cheap, quiet, comfy, warm and spotlessly clean - and the TV was working to catch up on news.
The staff was absolutely welcoming and assisting where ever they could, providing a great, instantly printed itinerary for us to cover our 24-hour lay-over with excellent sight seeing recommendations and necessary bus- and Bart schedules. The bus stop was right across the street and takes you in a few minutes to/from the Bart Station on Powell Street.
In addition the staff was very accommodating and let us use the room beyond the check-in and out times.
If I'm not mistaken to new name will be "Vertigo" hotel.

Thumbs up !

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Genise_VDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

822 - 828 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2008

We come to San Francisco several times a year for ACT and discovered the York on our last visit. The price is a great deal in an expensive town, and the location - ten minutes walk from the theater - is perfect. The staff couldn't be more helpful, and although we had one of the older rooms which hasn't been renovated yet, everything was pleasant, clean and comfortable. We've stayed in many of the high-priced establishments around Union Square, but the York is our new go-to hotel in San Francisco - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank magistralatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

The York Hotel is a ideal place to stay if you are looking for something cheap and cheerful in San Francisco. It's about 10 mins walk from Union Square and very convienient for riding the trams. It does not have any parking but they have a deal with a local car park. If you take advantage of the valet parking service it will cost you $35 dollars per day. But you drive your car there yourself and it will only cost you $21 per day, its only 2 min walk to the hotel from the car park

The hotel does need a refurbishment ( I believe there is one planned for Autumn) but its clean, tidy and the staff are very friendly and helpful. So if you are looking for a cheap hotel in San Francisco just to shower and put your head down after a days sight seeing then I would reccomend the York Hotel

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank MrMcCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2008

The staff were friendly and attentive.
The hotel is scheduled for an update this fall.
Currently, the rooms were tired and dark. The walls and ceilings had many scars.
Our room had no a/c and the air circulation was poor. The weather was hot, so the room was uncomfortably warm.
The room was cleaned well, but the furniture and carpet were worn and dated.
There is only one elevator. It is slow and used by service staff. The only ice machine is located on the main floor.
The neighbourhood is okay. There are a few non-chain restaurants & bars in the vicinity that appeared popular.
Most Union Square attractions and shopping were within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank uwo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2008

One of the big draws was that the hotel amenties included a
continental breakfast. That did not happen and was very
disappointing. I put in a review to the hotel staff about the
breakfast. They agreed the hotel should put in the breakfast.
The hotel stopped the breakfast but still advertise on-line about
a continental breakfast.

The room was just ok. Nothing outstanding. The curtains
needed attending to as one was shorter than the others.

The room needed painting.

The room was ok for a week but I expected more and was
a little disappointed. I stayed for a week. I would recommend
the hotel mainly for location. I walked to Union Square,
China town, the museums. The walk was good but mainly
up hill. After awhile I bused it up the hill to the hotel. There are
no McDonalds or Burger Kings so you have to find eating places
which are expensive. While on vacation it is ok to spend money
but it is not always the case.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ELampe9864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2008

Stayed in York Hotel for 4 nights. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, however ... the hotel needs to be completely renovated. The photos on the website must be from a long time ago. The walls were painted greys and blues ... cold and depressing.
The bedrooms were dark and the bathroom teeny tiny, though they were clean.
The complimentary continental breakfast consisted of concentrated juices, coffee, mini croissants and muffins ... ok but could've been a lot better.
Wireless internet was free which was a plus.
The location was poor, not near anywhere, a good walk to Union Square/Market Street, or Civic Centre, and a good cab ride to the Wharf.
The bar is closed, permanently
It was cheap but not worth it, wouldn't stay there again, no matter how cheap it gets.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank diddles78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

The York Hotel is a wonderfully charming property, that is without a doubt highly underrated and great for the value. I booked my room via Expedia for $89, which included a free breakfast (didn't take advantage of that so I can't comment) as well as free Wifi. The York Hotel is about to begin a huge transformation into the Hotel Vertigo (it is one of the filming locations of Alfred Hitchcock's "Vertigo"), and I was given the "model room," which was an already renovated room as a preview of what the new rooms will look like. For $89/night, I was blown away. Service wise, every staff member was kind and courteous, and willing to help with anything possible. The room was very modern, with an extremely comfortable bed, very modern nightstands, and a cool bathroom, as well. Beautiful plasma TV, the only thing that didn't work was the AC/heater. This was not a problem, as the window could be opened and closed and I quickly found a nice temperature. Since I can't comment on the current rooms, I'm not sure how applicable this review is to those visiting in the very near future, but if possible do request the "model room" and I'm sure you will not be disappointed. I enjoy the decor of places like The Clift of The W, and the room was definitely on a par with those properties.

As other reviews say, yes, the walls are paper thin, but are nowhere near as big a problem as other people point out. Definitely not enough to keep you awake. Parts of the hotel that are already renovated are very chic and modern, others still have that old/floral design, but personally I didn't find this bothersome. The surrounding area, while a bit of a hike (let's say a 10 min walk) from Union Square was through a very interesting area (very artsy), I felt safe no matter what time of the day or night.

I have no complains at all about this property, and while it certainly isn't a 5-star property like a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton, it's a great option if you're on a budget but want something nice.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jabrs1643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#90 of 230 in San Francisco
2,374 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cova Hotel
#101 of 230 in San Francisco
1,189 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
724 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#78 of 230 in San Francisco
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vertigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo

Address: 940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-6025 (Formerly York Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £104 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vertigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vertigo is a 102-room boutique hotel that is renowned for its simplicity and admired for its unique character. Recently renovated, this non-smoking hotel playfully feeds off the Hitchcock's classic movie, "Vertigo." With rich wood furnishings highlighted with cream and orange accents, it is well suited for vacationers, families, and business travellers alike.Situated in the lower Nob Hill pocket of downtown San Francisco, the convenient location provides easy access to many of the city's top attractions and destinations. Just steps away from Cable Cars, Union Square and the major shopping and theater districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vertigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vertigo Hotel San Francisco
York Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing