We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A classic SF experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vertigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Vertigo
Ranked #77 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brussels
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A classic SF experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2009

We found this hotel through Tripadvisor and booked a renovated room for 3 nights. As I read the reviews, we were well aware of some ongoing renovations, but these didn't bother us at all during our stay.

The room was exactly as expected, with its retro design features. But although it was only renovated a few months ago, some furniture pieces (desk chair, desk drawer, shower arm...) already showed some minor defects. The bed, on the other hand, was wonderful, so the jetlag was soon forgotten.

The reception was really helpful when inquiring about the restaurants in the neighbourhood. In the morning you could start the day with some freshly served coffee or tea in the lobby, while watching a Hitchcock classic on the flat screen TV.

We thought the hotel had a really relaxed and offbeat feel, similar to the city and that was what we were looking for!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrusselsDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    607
    224
    50
    38
See reviews for
144
697
91
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2009

This is a good hotel in a good location (15-minute walk from Union Square, and about 20-25 from Grace Cathedral). The Hitchcock connections are everywhere, from the loops of "Vertigo" and "Rear Window" to the thank-you note from Kim Novak in the lobby. The front desk staff can tell you where the main landmarks, buildings, and streets in "Vertigo" are.
Since I was only going to be in the city for a few days and wasn't planning to spend much time in the room, I reserved one that hadn't been refurbished. There was no fridge or microwave (which might matter if you like to bring food back from restaurants), and the fan in the bathroom was really loud--loud enough to drown out the television or radio in the bedroom. If I had been sharing the room, this would have been very annoying. I ended up not turning on the bathroom light if at all possible. The bathroom fixtures had seen better days (I couldn't get the faucet in the tub to stop dripping, but the housekeeper could), and there were old stains on the rug, but in an old hotel these things are to be expected. The linens and towels were spotless, the bed was firm and comfortable, and I don't have any complaints about the housekeeping service or the front desk staff; there wasn't a question about the hotel or the city that they couldn't answer. In the morning, tea and coffee were available in the lobby. The restaurant that is advertised on the hotel web site isn't open yet, but there are plenty of restaurants, internet coffee shops, convenience stores and bars up and down Sutter Street, so there is no reason to go hungry. I didn't use the hotel wi-fi; I had mobile broadband, but the connection could be iffy. If I had planned to spend hours online, or wanted to stream video or download large files, this could have been a problem, but for checking email once a day, it was okay. I will be interested in seeing how the rooms in the Vertigo looks once the renovations are complete.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2009

As a 29-year-old couple we stayed 4 nights at the Vertigo in a newly renovated room. And it was really great! Renovation is still ongoing, but we did not really notice neither disturbed.
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful! Rooms are great! Location is just a 5 min walk from Union Square and not so loud and crowded as downtown. Unfortunately they just offer free coffee till 10 am (we love to sleep long) so we discovered Han's Coffee Shop just at the corner and their really wonderful Blueberry Pancakes! ;-)
We would definitly go there again! Rate was USD90+Tax per night for the room.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kotrinche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, MA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2009

Stay for the decor - 21st century art deco revival. It's a fun change from the usual business hotels. A quick cab ride or a reasonable walk from downtown. Outstanding staff assistance with directions, restaurant referrals, etc. Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MistinguetteS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

I really enjoyed my stay at the Vertigo hotel, the newly remodeled rooms are modern, clean and comfortable, I love the huge shower and the large flat screen TV. The staff was by far the best thing about our stay they were courteous, accommodating and fun. All in all I would recommend the Vertigo hotel to anyone of thinking of visiting San Fransisco.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJRPZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

Having researched extensively into many hotels at different prices in San Francisco, I went for the Hotel Vertigo because it seemed to offer good value for money and the reviews on Trip Advisor were very complimentary (only referred to reviews since it became Vertigo, not the York or Empire ones).

I can assure you that everything you see/read on the hotel's website is absolutely correct - this is certainly not the case with all hotels! The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful - i would particularly mention the Manager, Peter, who seemed to take a very hands on role in the hotel and was always available with words of advice or friendly banter. The room was perfect & a very good size. I loved the decor - funky and original whilst also attending to every need comfort/storage wise. The bathroom was modern with soft towels and bathrobes, lovely H2O products and good lighting. Wi-Fi worked well (and I was not definitely not charged for it). The closet had ample space and everything you might need - safe, iron, fridge etc was provided.

As other reviewers on Trip Advisor have said, you would never have known that there were renovations going noise-wise. The street noise was minimal too & the several coffee shops/diner/shops immediately outside the hotel provide everything you might need.

All in all, I had a fantastic stay at Hotel Vertigo and would absolutely stay there again. It contributed hugely to San Francisco becoming my new favourite city!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cuckoo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Vertigo, San Francisco in April 2009 for 3 nights. Our family occupied two double rooms.

As far as the ‘renovations’ are concerned I can echo a previous review and say that we did not hear a pin-drop either over our three night stay.

We paid the extra and stayed in a renovated room which was excellent. Very clean, nice décor, new and big comfy bed. The television was massive and the bathroom was great with new fluffy towels, and a super shower (albeit a little complicated at first to figure out!). Little uncertain about the ‘horse’s head’ lamps (thought I was waking up in a scene from the ‘Godfather’) but nonetheless décor was very tastefully done.

Internet / Wi-fi is a little confusing as it is ‘free’ but you need a username and password which we had to pay $5.95 for...?? This could be a little better explained in-room.

There was a small walk-in closet in our room with drawers and a safe which was more than ample to store our things.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful and pointed out sights etc.

The hotel’s location is great. A maximum of ten-minutes walk downhill (not steep) to Union Square and central SF. There is an excellent mini-mart, pizzeria and laundrette next-door and a great Chinese restaurant around the corner (which the hotel staff pointed out).

I would happily stay at this hotel again and have already recommended it to friends visiting SF next month.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErnieAndArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#69 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Cova Hotel
#95 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#83 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vertigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo

Property: Hotel Vertigo
Address: 940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-6025 (Formerly York Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vertigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vertigo is a 102-room boutique hotel that is renowned for its simplicity and admired for its unique character. Recently renovated, this non-smoking hotel playfully feeds off the Hitchcock's classic movie, "Vertigo." With rich wood furnishings highlighted with cream and orange accents, it is well suited for vacationers, families, and business travellers alike.Situated in the lower Nob Hill pocket of downtown San Francisco, the convenient location provides easy access to many of the city's top attractions and destinations. Just steps away from Cable Cars, Union Square and the major shopping and theater districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vertigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vertigo Hotel San Francisco
York Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing