We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price...”
Review of The Good Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Good Hotel
Ranked #188 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not bad for the price...”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently. Comfortable although a little old, it is close to the Bart and Union Square. Not noisy. Beds clean. A good budget Hotel. Hotel is near public transport and 15 mins to shops and food outlets. We chose to take a guided tour of SFO from the Hotel. This is worthwhile as you even travel to the other side of the Golden Gate Bridge. The only thing to be aware of is some homeless people hanging around, but no threat.

Room Tip: Ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaitlandAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello kaitlandAdelaide,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed our accommodations, our clean rooms and our close proximity to local San Francisco attractions. We certainly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on with us and the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit into San Francisco!


Kind Regards,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Desk Supervisor
The Good Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    160
    219
    110
    63
See reviews for
58
260
54
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

For so much money I expect a little comfort. You're not going to find it here. The bed is hard and the rooms spare. There is no thermostat and I assume no air conditioning. Not that you need it often in SF.
The elevator is rickety, noisy and drops when you get in it. There's a sign so you don't trip if it doesn't level.
Free wi if is good fwtw

There is no security latch on the door either, something I missed.
I don't recommend this one.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank JFouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Hello JFouts,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies that our services did not meet your expectations. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy our complimentary wifi services during your stay.

Kind Regards,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Desk Supervisor
The Good Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Mariposa, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband surprised me with a last min trip to the city for our days off. We arrived late as we live about 3 hours away. We were greeted with a smile. Rooms not what I'm use to with hotels but nice to see recycled materials used in new ways. The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is there was no fridge that would have been nice. We were given an upstairs room in the back was nice so we could smoke without having to go to far and we were near the car. Plan on staying again next time we are in the area

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Office Supervisor at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi Christopher S,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed our accommodations, our services and the hospitality of our friendly staff. We certainly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on with us and the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next visit into San Francisco!

Best Wishes,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Office Supervisor
The Good Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I had booked a room at the good hotel, our plans changed and we had to cancel booking several months before the booking date. After several attempts to cancel the booking via email with no response, I called the hotel from Australia. I was advised that the booking was cancelled and asked for confirmation email - not received. Called again, booking was not cancelled, they then told me it was cancelled and asked again for email - no response. Called a third time and was put on to Ricky who was extremely helpful - cancelled booking as it was still booked (!!??) and received cancellation email straight away.

Overall, a frustrating experience and will never be recommending or staying at the good hotel, San Francisco.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

The Good Hotel is a very nice and comfy eco consicous hotel, everything was very clean. All the crew was really gentle and friendly. They offers very nice rooms at a very affordable price in a good neighborhood, you have a lot of public transportation around. We also enjoyed the free bikes and the inexpensive parking price (compared to other hotels in the city) .

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mikamich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Office Supervisor at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi mikamich,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations, the service of our staff, and the comfy eco-conscious decor. Your review I'm sure will help our future guests make the best of their stay while in San Francisco! We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best Wishes,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Office Supervisor
The Good Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Next time I'm in San Fran I think I'll pony up and pay a little more for accommodation and stay in a better neighborhood.

Cheap compared with other hotels, but there were lots of homeless people in this area, and as 3 females we found it a little scary to be out at night. Not the safest neighborhood from speaking to locals.

Quality if the rooms was fair. The beds were comfy...but the room and bathroom were very small.

Lift smelt like urine...so we always took the stairs.

Very convenient to public transport to & from the airport, and walking distance from Union Square.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Office Supervisor at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hello Rhi H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and comment on your recent stay at The Good Hotel. It is great to hear that your our comfortable beds & convenient location to public transportation. Our central location in the SoMa area is an advantageous place to be able to get around the city and view all of our local attractions. While the SoMa area is not the most polished neighborhood in the city, it's eclectic atmosphere and nightlife are improving. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on your recent trip and we look forward to having you back with us the next time you travel to San Francisco.

Kind Regards,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Office Supervisor
The Good Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron Park, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for a business trip to the city. I was very nervous about staying here but I was pleasantly surprised when I got in my room. Very clean!!! Every thing in the room is very minimal and the rooms are small but is was great for just me. The area is a little shady, and not much around for food and such. But over all I would recommend. Good price and very clean!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank janelleharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Janelleharris,

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at the Good Hotel. We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay at the Good Hotel and that you found our rooms to be clean and efficient. The next time that you are in town for business or leisure we hope to warmly welcome you back to the Good Hotel.

Thank you again for your time and response.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Good Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#121 of 229 in San Francisco
381 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#187 of 229 in San Francisco
753 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#125 of 229 in San Francisco
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#177 of 229 in San Francisco
2,982 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 229 in San Francisco
2,324 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 229 in San Francisco
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Good Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Good Hotel

Property: The Good Hotel
Address: 112 7th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2809 (Formerly Hotel Britton)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Good Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district of downtown San Francisco, the Good Hotel has 117-rooms and is intended to be the first hotel with a conscience by taking a green approach to design that inspires the "good in us all." Renew, Reuse, Relax!Guest rooms feature sustainable products and materials such as 100% reclaimed wood bed frames, bed linens and light fixtures made from recycled water bottles, and our "sink positive" installations; all designed to be environmentally friendly.The convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre, the Theater District, and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Good Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing