We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Good Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
US$195
US$155
MysticHotel.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$298
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
US$243
US$195
ComfortInn
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
InterContinental San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$237
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$273
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$397
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$296
US$247
InterContinental
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$229
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$328
US$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$454
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (673)
Filter reviews
673 results
Traveller rating
51
176
245
127
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
176
245
127
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsphoto boothbudget hotelmain buildingbart stationfew blocksdowntown sftrolley
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 673 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked this hotel then saw all the bad reviews.
When we arrived we were a bit put off by all the passport photos stuck to the wall,the reception was more like a youth hostel.
We were however given a room across the courtyard from the main hotel which was quiet and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Plenty of tea and coffee in rooms, but there is fresh coffee and milk in reception.
The area is not as bad as we thought it would be. There are a lot of homeless people near Market and 6th Street but that can be said of other places in San Francisco, if you don't bother them they don't bother you.
The hotel is in a good location, within walking distance of Fishermans Wharf (about 30 minutes) and the Ferry Building, and Union Square. Public transport is almost on the doorstep.
There are Excellent Restaurants (Rocco's) and bars just 1 block away.
Good Hotel doesn't have a bar itself, but you can use the Best Western across the road.
All in all we enjoyed our stay here. You could pay a lot more for a "posher" hotel, but what's the point?

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the courtyard, it is quieter and you don't have to keep going through reception and see the passport photos!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JillA46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hello Jill A,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations, the service of our staff, and appreciate your candid insight about our surrounding area. Your review I'm sure will help our future guests make the best of their stay at The Good Hotel while in San Francisco! We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best Wishes,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Desk Supervisor
The Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Nice, quite and clean hotel. Location good for all places in SF (link to BART, walking almost to everywhere). Next to bus stop to airport (20min ride).
The rooms have nice decoration. Friendly staff, ready to help you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgios B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hi Georgios B,

We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us at The Good Hotel and the Trip Advisor community. I am pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations and service! We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to San Francisco, thanks again!

Kind Regards,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Desk Supervisor
The Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Arriving at the Civic Center for the first time was daunting, and arriving at the Good Hotel really was a life saver!

Though our room didnt look anything like their professional photos on the website (we ended up being put in a room in an outside block?!), we felt safe and secure, the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, the room facilities were really good (shower especially big and powerful), the location is great for all places in SF (good links to BART, buses and walking to most places).

As a bonus, the cleaning staff were fantastic and very friendly.

Just remember not to make coffee in your room - as they serve fresh coffee and real milk in the reception - which they forgot to tell us about until we found out on our last day as we were leaving :(

We would 100% stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFtraveller49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hi SFtraveller49er,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, our services and the hospitality of our friendly staff. We certainly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on with us and the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit into San Francisco!

Best Wishes,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Desk Supervisor
The Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel on the 17 th we were not advised of a $34- parking fee , the girl in the office showed us the small print the next morning ! We have been travelling from LA for 10 days prior and had not paid previously . It's a ripoff ! In.my opinion and the street below was very noisy . Rename it bad hotel !

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hello Tony H,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies for the situations you encountered during your stay and that our services did not meet your expectations. I am sorry to hear that you had a less than favorable impression about our hotel and our accommodations.

If I can assist you in anyway I am at your service. Please give me a call at 415-626-0200.

Kind Regards,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Desk Supervisor
The Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I've stayed here many times over the past five years, as I travel to San Fran for business. I've been less satisfied with every visit. The prices keep going up, and the services continue to go down, including the friendliness of the staff. I agree with other reviews about the noise level. I always ask for a room with the windows facing the courtyard rather than the street. The location to Union Square is very convenient, but there's not much more in the immediate area.

Room Tip: Rooms that face inside the courtyard in the main building are the most quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisajilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at The Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hello lisajilk,

I do apologize that we fell short of your overall expectations; our staff does continuously aim for outstanding customer service. We understand the frustration you felt and have addressed with each department the comments you have provided. We thank you for your feedback and do hope that you are willing to give us another chance as we are capable of providing excellent customer service.

If I can assist you in anyway I am at your service. Please give me a call at 415-626-0200.

Best Wishes,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Desk Supervisor
The Good Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews