We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive room in downtown San Francisco”
Review of SF Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SF Plaza Hotel
Ranked #199 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Inexpensive room in downtown San Francisco”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

I have read many negative reviews here,but I don't know why.I've been little bit nervous before check-in, but then I was suprised.The room looked old but was cleaned,even bathroom.The room didn't smell good,but ok...Bed wasn't comfortable, but we could sleep.You can hear a noise late night from the street,but I guess,It's a problem all older hotel in SF. I would definitle stay here again,because I couldn't find a better price in downtown SF,where you can have your own bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bobanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    106
    151
    67
    80
See reviews for
53
181
56
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
España
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I wasnt expecting anything fancy from this hotel, just a basic and clean room to sleep in during our stay in SF. The problem was when we checked in and went to our room, that smell that came from the room was just disgusting. I had to use my deodorant to take away that horrible pee smell apart from opening the window (or at least part of it as it wouldnt open totally) to ventilate the room a bit.

The towels were not totally clean, we had to change them a couple of times because they had weird stains on them. Although they did smell as cleaned, but we were not very happy about the idea of those stains on the towels.

The location is fantastic, next to Chinatown, Union Square and a Cable Car stop just at the end of the street. If you are not happy with the "breakfast" they have (we never knew about the breakfast, as the not very kind girl at the reception, didnt tell us anything about it), there is a Subway just in fron and for 3 dollars something you will have a nice menu including a big coffee.

I dont think I would stay here again...I think I would try and pay a bit more and get something better!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Davao
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, in a room with 2 beds, already had low expectations for the hotel since we booked it primarily for the price and location, but still was not as I expected it, did not meet my already low expectations!

positives:
hotel was cheap at $75 a night,
in a good location, relatively safe area, right next to the entrance to Chinatown, just a few minutes walk to union square, Starbucks across the street as well as a mini grocery store
Small room, has a huge walk in closet, or rather storage area where we placed our huge luggages and made it into a dressing room!

Negatives:
Unwelcoming front desk staff, as mentioned the lady in the front desk was bordering on rude

Hotel smelled old, elevator was an exciting ride, bumpy would be an understatement, but it does have a certificate that it was inspected for safety

Room is very basic, bed was noisy, with 2 cute pillows that were lumpy but smelled clean though, floor had areas that creaked when stepped upon, it appears that it has a wooden floor that is loose under the not so clean carpet, there is no coffee making facility inside the room nor even anywhere in the hotel, no refrigerator as well, TV with a built in VHS(imagine, a VHS!) with no apparent remote for it, with a fan and a heater that badly needed cleaning. Outlets were difficult to locate, you had to move your bed away from the wall to be able to use it. Street noise was easily heard, from the vehicles to people loudly talking
For the bathroom, at least the bowl flushes properly, soap is very low quality, shampoo smells like a medication I cannot recall, better to bring your own. No hair dryer. The towels were white, but visibly of different shades! Some a dark white may be very old ones, they smelled clean though. Bedside lamp was not working.
If you want a cup of coffee or tea, or just a cold glass of water, you have to go down to the lobby where there is a water dispenser that does not work! So just cross to Starbucks instead once you are in the lobby!
Bell service is non-existent

In the end this place was more of a locker room and bed for us. We were out the whole day, and came back late at night.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rexoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Visited this hotel with my wife and friends. The lady at the front desk was extremely rude, the room dirty and smelly with old tattered furniture. Bathroom cabinet was rotting and the carpet old and threadbare. We had a blocked toilet and reported it to the front desk. Nothing happened and I had to ask a cleaner to fix it, and she did. Later that day the guy at the front desk asked me if someone had fixed our hot water. The location is great but noisy. I wouldn't stay here again but those on a very tight travel budget may find the price OK.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. Located close to union square and china town. The hotel is in desperate need of renovation and a good clean wouldn't hurt either. It gives the impression that the owners are too stingy to fork out money for any nicities. What put me off most about this hotel was the awful, blunt customer service. It wouldnt hurt the staff to crack a smile.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sc104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Fantastic location here. From a UK perspective - this place worked out at £47.82 a night. For the both of us. Other than hostels - you couldn't really get cheaper. The front desk staff were helpful. We had arrived a day prior to our booking. They sorted us out in the top floor, and we stayed in that room the whole week. There was no A/C, and as the weather got warmer, every room was provided with an upright fan. This was fine for me. No breakfast - but you're so close to the heart of the City, its not a problem. Free Wi-Fi in the meeting room on the 2nd floor. Travellers meet there to use the Wi-Fi and its fine. It was nice to sit in that cool room & connect back home. No complaints here for the money. The lift was fine & we were allowed to store our cycles safely. A great Hotel. 10/10.

Room Tip: The higher the better for a view of China Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Average and just enough I you need just a bed for a night.
We were traveling for more than 24 hours and we would not spend any more than we did.
Considering that we were her just 7 hours, the price included continental breakfast it's fairly good.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#148 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Union Square
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#135 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#155 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#168 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Chinatown
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
#105 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SF Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SF Plaza Hotel

Property: SF Plaza Hotel
Address: 510 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3697 (Formerly Astoria Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SF Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SF Plaza Hotel is at the heart of San Francisco with many famous attractions nearby. It is the perfect walking distance to popular destinations, such as Chinatown, the Financial District and San Francisco's renowned Union Square. Our hotel is surrounded by amazing shopping, as well as an excellent variety of restaurants, museums and attractions. If you are looking to explore beyond the beautiful downtown area, we are just minutes away from public transportation including MUNI, the subway and the iconic San Francisco Cable Cars. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, we welcome guests from around the world looking for an affordable and comfortable place to stay in the wonderful city by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your SF Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel San Francisco
Astoria San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing