We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great on a budget”
Review of SF Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SF Plaza Hotel
Ranked #199 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great on a budget”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were looking for somewhere cheap to stay for 2 nights, that wasn't in a dodgy area. This hotel was perfect for that. For $150 for both nights it was far cheaper than anywhere else I could find. Location was great - 5 min walk to Union Square. We trundled our luggage from BART station, less than 10 min walk.

It was dated and basic but clean and the tv/shower etc worked fine. I can't comment on breakfast as we were up and out by 6am (jet lag!) so no sign of any food offered. I avoided using the lift apart from when we had our cases, it did sound a bit clunky but didn't plunge us to our deaths as some previous reviews had implied. Wifi worked well on first couple of floors.

I'd stay there again if I ever go back to San Francisco.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    106
    151
    67
    80
See reviews for
53
181
56
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed a week at the Astoria during late September and had not one complaint. I stayed on the 6th floor and had a room with a view. The room was basic and clean and included a light breakfast. GREAT location right next to the Chinatown gate. What a value, will stay again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sftotn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I found this little gem on line. What a great location. We left Little Italy, walked back through China Town and got to our hotel minutes. GPS said .6 mile from where we ate. Easy walk. What a value. Older hotel but very charming. Only a couple blocks from trolley too. If you can walk, you will like it. Basic but very do able. Much like hotels in UK

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianemerrill4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Room with two twins under $70 on a busy weekend, this place isn't advertising as fancy, it just does the trick. The tv in the room is probably worth thousands, it is an antique!drinking water cooler in the lobby,save your water bottle to refill!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omarucsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

I have read many negative reviews here,but I don't know why.I've been little bit nervous before check-in, but then I was suprised.The room looked old but was cleaned,even bathroom.The room didn't smell good,but ok...Bed wasn't comfortable, but we could sleep.You can hear a noise late night from the street,but I guess,It's a problem all older hotel in SF. I would definitle stay here again,because I couldn't find a better price in downtown SF,where you can have your own bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bobanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
España
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I wasnt expecting anything fancy from this hotel, just a basic and clean room to sleep in during our stay in SF. The problem was when we checked in and went to our room, that smell that came from the room was just disgusting. I had to use my deodorant to take away that horrible pee smell apart from opening the window (or at least part of it as it wouldnt open totally) to ventilate the room a bit.

The towels were not totally clean, we had to change them a couple of times because they had weird stains on them. Although they did smell as cleaned, but we were not very happy about the idea of those stains on the towels.

The location is fantastic, next to Chinatown, Union Square and a Cable Car stop just at the end of the street. If you are not happy with the "breakfast" they have (we never knew about the breakfast, as the not very kind girl at the reception, didnt tell us anything about it), there is a Subway just in fron and for 3 dollars something you will have a nice menu including a big coffee.

I dont think I would stay here again...I think I would try and pay a bit more and get something better!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Davao
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, in a room with 2 beds, already had low expectations for the hotel since we booked it primarily for the price and location, but still was not as I expected it, did not meet my already low expectations!

positives:
hotel was cheap at $75 a night,
in a good location, relatively safe area, right next to the entrance to Chinatown, just a few minutes walk to union square, Starbucks across the street as well as a mini grocery store
Small room, has a huge walk in closet, or rather storage area where we placed our huge luggages and made it into a dressing room!

Negatives:
Unwelcoming front desk staff, as mentioned the lady in the front desk was bordering on rude

Hotel smelled old, elevator was an exciting ride, bumpy would be an understatement, but it does have a certificate that it was inspected for safety

Room is very basic, bed was noisy, with 2 cute pillows that were lumpy but smelled clean though, floor had areas that creaked when stepped upon, it appears that it has a wooden floor that is loose under the not so clean carpet, there is no coffee making facility inside the room nor even anywhere in the hotel, no refrigerator as well, TV with a built in VHS(imagine, a VHS!) with no apparent remote for it, with a fan and a heater that badly needed cleaning. Outlets were difficult to locate, you had to move your bed away from the wall to be able to use it. Street noise was easily heard, from the vehicles to people loudly talking
For the bathroom, at least the bowl flushes properly, soap is very low quality, shampoo smells like a medication I cannot recall, better to bring your own. No hair dryer. The towels were white, but visibly of different shades! Some a dark white may be very old ones, they smelled clean though. Bedside lamp was not working.
If you want a cup of coffee or tea, or just a cold glass of water, you have to go down to the lobby where there is a water dispenser that does not work! So just cross to Starbucks instead once you are in the lobby!
Bell service is non-existent

In the end this place was more of a locker room and bed for us. We were out the whole day, and came back late at night.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rexoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#148 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Union Square
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#135 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#155 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#168 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Chinatown
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
#105 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SF Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SF Plaza Hotel

Property: SF Plaza Hotel
Address: 510 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3697 (Formerly Astoria Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SF Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SF Plaza Hotel is at the heart of San Francisco with many famous attractions nearby. It is the perfect walking distance to popular destinations, such as Chinatown, the Financial District and San Francisco's renowned Union Square. Our hotel is surrounded by amazing shopping, as well as an excellent variety of restaurants, museums and attractions. If you are looking to explore beyond the beautiful downtown area, we are just minutes away from public transportation including MUNI, the subway and the iconic San Francisco Cable Cars. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, we welcome guests from around the world looking for an affordable and comfortable place to stay in the wonderful city by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your SF Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel San Francisco
Astoria San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing