We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As usual, one of the better deals in San Francisco”
Review of SF Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SF Plaza Hotel
Ranked #201 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
honolulu
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“As usual, one of the better deals in San Francisco”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I again stayed at the Astoria at the beginning of June 2014 and I had a good stay as usual. Many hotels were expensive or sold out due to an apple app conference but I was able to book a good price on the Hotel Astoria web site (way cheaper than using search engines like Kayak, orbitz, etc). $59 a night for a weekend stay (Thurs - Sun, 3 nights) came out to around $204 when you add in taxes. I had the barebones economy room, 1 bed, old tv, sink and towels (soaps and shampoo also). I had a shared bathroom (never saw anyone in it or using it) and no breakfast as I usually pick up my own meals. I asked for a quiet room and was placed in the middle of the hotel. The window opened up and you could see rooms all around but no real view. Many people would look at this hotel and rooms and old elevator as "dumpy" but they served my purpose, someplace safe, quiet, affordable and centrally located in downtown San Francisco. Right at the Chinatown gate in a good neighborhood (not in the tenderloin area thank goodness). Some cafes and eateries and a starbucks across the street and near all the Chinatown eateries and stores. A few blocks from Union square and right around the corner to catch buses.

Now, this isn't the Hyatt or Marriott so don't expect to be pampered or get first class service, there aren't many amenities in this place. But then you aren't charged the high rates either. I couldn't find any lower rates (other than hostels or rooms in the tenderloin area - not very safe IMHO) using the standard search engines, I found prices to be best on their own web site.

Some negatives to the hotel: Many rooms don't have a working deadbolt. The room has one of those safety chains to secure the door when you are in (we know how safe that is) and a regular doorknob with lock on it. There is a peephole so you don't have to open the door to see who is outside. The tv is really old and probably has 12 or so channels at best. The walls are very thin, you can hear your neighbors or their tv. The floorboards creak so you can hear people walking outside your room. The elevator is rickety and old and slow, I found it easier to just walk down the stairs to get out of the hotel. They do have a wifi area in the lobby and in the 2nd floor conference room but not in the rooms. The rooms are old and worn; to some the rooms may be considered dirty, bed old and stiff, sheets not the whitest, etc. No air conditioning and although there is a heater in the room I'm not sure how well it works. Parking is available but expensive (not affiliated with the hotel). Shared bathroom has no bath mat or a paper mat at best on a tile floor.

The positives: The price is very good, very affordable in an expensive city. The hotel is in a good safe location. front desk staffed 24 hours a day. Basic room to lay your head for the night.

If you are budget minded and not especially picky then this is the place for you. You might be pleasantly surprised. If you are skittish or the slightest bit picky then I would suggest paying a lot more to stay in a nicer hotel.

The Astoria is usually one of the hotels I check on when I am going to visit San Francisco.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the inside of the hotel. That way you aren't as affected by the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaiitravellerinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    106
    151
    67
    80
See reviews for
53
180
56
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirschweiler
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Price was cheap, esspecially ffor San Francisco..The Location. is great and central. Nearly directly at Chinatown and Chinatown Gate. The rooms are simple . They are basis Motel Style. Not exactly that Up to Date and kinda of Old fashioned. One of the Bed squeak . But the rooms and the Hotel are clean.

Very friendly and helpful Staff. They took a parcel from Amazon in for me. They answers your questions. I waited at 5/6am outside for my Airport Pick Up and they askeed me , if I would come in to wait. I would book there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneSommer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is exactly what you would expect for a two star. The rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable. Although our linen wasn't changed on our last night. If you want just a bed to sleep in and be close to everything then this is it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Witchychick23
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location – it is in the heart of San- Francisco walking distance to many public transports including a short walk 5mins-10mins to the nearest world famous cable car. 10mins walk to clothes shopping. Many restaurants nearby. Both are available for a sit down meal and fast food. There is a car rental place Alamo I think it is called, less than ten minutes’ walk from the hotel, which we used. And the hotel is at the ‘gate’ of Chinatown.
The hotel itself looks best as you step two foot inside; chandelier at reception desk greets you. However after that initial welcome it is all pretty basic, somewhat old hotel.
The room was just big enough for a double bed a chest of drawer to put a massive old TV on and a table. There is a sink and mirror in the corner of the room and the bathroom consists of a shower and toilet. I must say that I found the bathroom clean.
Just bear in mind the price is relatively cheap and the location is fantastic so therefore the rooms furniture is extremely basic and a bit dated/old. The bed is on the firm side if that bothers you. The lift can only carry a number of people. .We did not opt for breakfast in the hotel as that was charged extra and we would rather find breakfast outside. The wifi is FREE only in the reception area as the signal does not reach the rooms. The lady at reception is nice and friendly and useful. She does talk with a tough manor that makes it seem like she is shouting at you, but she is not shouting at you. I think maybe it is a manor required to run and be the boss of the hotel. The knowledge she has is good and she is always willing to answer any questions regarding the city.
Overall I was happy to stay there for the price and the convenience that it was in the centre of the city and as a city it is not a cheap city. I can’t comment on the street noise as when I am tired (as I was after a day of sightseeing) I can sleep through anything, but the street noise did not bother me. No air-con. There is a small wall heater in the room. If you are on a budget and just need somewhere to sleep only and put your stuff for one two nights maybe three nights at a stretch – then this is a great hotel at a good price in a Fabulous location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Fl
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel with a friend on vacation 4/28/14-5/2/14 in a deluxe room, #405. The hotel is very old, but I can't say it's run down. It could use some freshening up perhaps. The location is excellent, literally at the gate to Chinatown, and a few blocks from the Montgomery st. BART station. There are also plenty of restaurants and stores nearby also. Our room was a corner one overlooking the intersection of Bush & Grant st. There is no A/C, and with the windows open it wasn't bad, but at night keeping the windows open wasn't an option because of the noise from the street below, even late at night. Earplugs might be a thought. There was no coffee maker, clock or hairdryer provided, but there was a wall mounted heater and a small tv on the dresser. The beds were very firm, and the furniture was kind of worn but functional. The room was always clean. Everything in the bathroom worked without problems, plenty of hot water, etc. The Continental Breakfast started at 8am consisting of toast, bagels, hard boiled eggs, sweet rolls, juice, milk & coffee. The staff was always pleasant.
Overall, it wasn't bad. I don't need a lot from a hotel, mainly clean, comfortable and secure. For the most part, Hotel Astoria provided that. If you pay $98 a night in downtown San Francisco and expect a Hilton experience, you are setting yourself up to be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DZJaxFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerald, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Very basic, clean, safe and comfortable. People at front desk were very helpful.
Sort of felt like I was home on vacation. Location is awesome.
I would stay here again. Was a great experience, met travellers from all over the world, while sharing wifi space in the conference room. Value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The price is right if you just need a sleeping room. The hotel is located within a few steps of the China Town Gate. We bought a 3 day MUNI pass and was able to get around very well on both the trolleys and buses. Our room was at list half of the next closest hotel and had a small free breakfast. The staff is kind and attentive. Will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Get an even number room with shower. Some rooms do not have bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elyse K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#150 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Union Square
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#135 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#155 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#167 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Chinatown
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
#104 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SF Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SF Plaza Hotel

Property: SF Plaza Hotel
Address: 510 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3697 (Formerly Astoria Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SF Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SF Plaza Hotel is at the heart of San Francisco with many famous attractions nearby. It is the perfect walking distance to popular destinations, such as Chinatown, the Financial District and San Francisco's renowned Union Square. Our hotel is surrounded by amazing shopping, as well as an excellent variety of restaurants, museums and attractions. If you are looking to explore beyond the beautiful downtown area, we are just minutes away from public transportation including MUNI, the subway and the iconic San Francisco Cable Cars. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, we welcome guests from around the world looking for an affordable and comfortable place to stay in the wonderful city by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your SF Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel San Francisco
Astoria San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing