We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, high quality but rooms a bit small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #41 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Very clean, high quality but rooms a bit small”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

I've stayed in various hotels around Powell St BART Station (Palomar, Marriott Marquis, Pickwick). It's a great location for getting to places and there's a Walgreen's on every corner!

Hotel Monaco is a Kimpton hotel, and their hotels are always quirky and high-quality. Free Internet, cocktails (though always at a time I can never attend), nice toiletries, great beds. This certainly describes the Monaco. The hotel was extremely clean and well-appointed.

On the downside, the rooms are fairly small, especially when compared with the Palomar or Marriott. However, it's plenty for single travelers. My room faced the rear of the building and there was no noise.

The Monaco is two blocks west of Union Square and the area is quite lively at night. One block east is the American Conservatory Theatre, a beautiful building restored after the 1989 earthquake. It's currently showing "Tales of the City", a fun musical set in San Francisco in the 70s. After the show, the area was filled with people streaming past the art galleries and nearby clubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fermax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,323
    807
    244
    84
    51
See reviews for
397
1,048
142
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Great location, unique decor, super friendly staff. This was a trip as a gift to my son, he was well pleased and had lots to say about that "Cool hotel Monaco"

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowdyBub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We recently stayed at the Hotel Monaco, June 2011, and were very impressed.
Hotel is centrally located to Union Square (2 / 3 blocks walking) and has some great restaurants within the local area. Reception was very helpful in recommending restaurants handy to the hotel. We ate a Mexican restaurant right across the road from the hotel, and it was the best mexican we have eaten.
Hotel was clean, friendly staff and good facilities
On the downside the rooms were quite small, but this not did not bother us, as we were out sightseeing most of the day.
Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrynsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
623 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I've stayed at the Monaco twice in adjoining rooms with my daughters. There is something very cool about this place. The check-in was a bit long the last trip because although they had guaranteed me adjoining rooms when we arrived they didn't have any. The desk was very nice about it though and tried very hard to figure something out. We wound up across the hall which was just fine in the end.
The hotel has a wine and cheese reception every night which is OK. The attached french bistro is excellent. Great either in the restaurant or at the bar for a nightcap.
The location is pretty central to Union Square and the rest of the downtown area.
Overall I enjoyed it here and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bccrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, Director of Guest Services at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Thank you for coming back and staying with us again. I apologize that there was a wait at check-in but I'm glad we were able to keep your rooms close to each other. As you mentioned, we are very close to Union Square and the Grand Cafe does have some delicious French cuisine. Perhaps during your next stay you can visit the Theater District where they have great performances at the Curran Theatre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I got this hotel paying on a travel website, half of the cost of their reservation system.
We were there only for a night, the computer system was down but we were still able to check in. They have free happy hour from 5 to 6 pm. The lobby is nice and clean, they have a permanent table with water, and in the morning you can have coffee and tea as well.
The rooms were not very big at all, I got an upgrade to a queen room from a "petite room" and I can say that it was only the bed in the middle, one extra small space next to the bed on each side, not big at all, new tv and also was a very quiet room even when we were 2 doors down the elevator. The bathroom was nice, only shower, but clean with aveda amenities and good towels. Parking was valet only for $40 a night. Safe place to stay at the embarcadero area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elvo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Loved the room and even though we were right next to the elevator on the top floor it was extremely quiet. The service was very good although I didn't consider this a 5-star resort such as Four Seasons. It's location in the theatre district makes it easy to walk to shopping and night life. I'd stay again but will probably try something new.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieMagersSoulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
263 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We discovered Kimpton Hotels when my wife and I honeymooned in San Francisco 9 years ago and first stayed at The Prescott, which ironically is right around the corner from The Hotel Monaco. We were hooked with that first stay and never consider another property when we come back to San Francisco, or any other cities where Kimpton's are. We have actually stayed at Kimpton's Hotel Monaco in Washington DC.

The Hotel Monaco is our fourth Kimpton property in San Francisco my wife and I have stayed at in the last 4 visits we've made to this great city. We chose it on this visit for 2 reasons - The first was the size of the room we could get at the price range we were willing to spend. There was no question we were going to stay at a Kimpton; the question was what the best room we could get for our money. The second was the fact that we had been inside this hotels lobby on a previous visit and said we definitely wanted to stay on one of our next visits.

The hotel lobby is, in one word, spectacular!

Our room was a Canopy room and for what we needed the room for, it was perfect. This was a weekend getaway and we stayed for only 2 nights. We knew on this particular visit, we weren't going to be staying in our room very much. All we were looking for was a quiet room with a nice bathroom. If you are the type of traveler who likes to have a room you can hang out in and watch TV, then you probably should consider a bigger/different room or another hotel. If you’re going to have more than a couple of suitcases and clothes for, say, a week, this probably won’t do for you. I believe they have bigger rooms there but we didn’t need one. For our needs, the 200 square feet was perfect! The bathroom was roomy enough for us and we felt that we could get dressed without stepping on each and had plenty of room for our suitcases and closet space for our clothes. Don't expect a sweeping panoramic city view either in the canopy room. It's a nice, comfortable hotel room with a great staff. If you want a view, get out and walk around - it's San Francisco after all!

As for the hotel staff, they were the same great we've come to expect as Kimpton regulars. We had to ask for help with just about every aspect of our stay, like an early check-in & late check-out, dinner recommendations and reservations, and transportation to/from the airport and around the city. Everyone was just a tremendous help in making our stay a pure pleasure. But, in particular, I would like to say a special thank you to Mose. When my wife realized she did not bring a charger cord for her Blackberry, Mose went to another Kimpton property to get one for us. And then, told us to we could use for rest of our trip, take it home and just return it at the next Kimpton we stay at. No problem and we will. Just incredible service, thank you Mose!

The location is only a couple of blocks away from Union Square where you can find the trolley or other public transportation to get you to other parts of the city. Chinatown is certainly within walking distance too. Cab rides to places like The Ferry Building and Fisherman's Wharf (The Buena Vista Cafe) are just a few dollars. A Taxi ride to/from SFO is a good 30 minutes and will cost you about $37. Considering that the cheapest shuttle is going to be about $32, it makes for the convenience of having choices to get to/from the airport so you can spend more time enjoying this city.

Speaking of which, there are plenty of great restaurants within walking distance. My wife and I were very disappointed we didn't get to try the hotel's own Grand Cafe. We had heard good things about it and we have eaten at several Kimpton property restaurants and found them to be among the best in any city. We had planned to eat dinner there before our red-eye flight but were unable to make it back to the hotel in time. Oh well, next time, and yes there will be a next time!

We loved everything about The Hotel Monaco. Make time in your stay for the Managers Wine Reception (they have it every Kimpton). We met some great people from Australia and the cupcakes they served (the cupcakes were a first, normally it's very tasty olives), and that's the type of thing you just can't get at a bigger chain. One thing that is never a surprise though is how Kimpton Hotels are always a wonderful part of our visits to the cities they are in.

Thank you for yet another great stay!

Room Tip: The Canopy room is perfect for a 2-3 day stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TENNDAWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,722 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,106 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#72 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing