We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay near Union Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #40 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent stay near Union Square”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We thorougly enjoyed our stay here. It was a pleasant surprise given that their rates were very reasonable and their location very close to Union Square and a little over a mile from the Ferry Building Marketplace. From the minute we pulled up outside we were greeted warmly and the men at the Bell Desk ensured we were quickly checked in. Even though the building itself is old, the staff keep it clean and make you feel as if the place is trendy. Before we even arrived we were sent a personal e-mail from the hotel asking us if we had any special request or needs.

When making the reservation I joined the Kimpton Hotel club and am happy I did. After this experience I will definitely check to see if there is a Kimpton hotel available in other cities I travel to. I would highly recommend you do this. They had a few extras thrown in right off the bat--no waiting for tons of points accumulated first.

Room Tip: Join the Kimpton club and they will put you on as high a floor as possible which was helpful in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyNSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,332
    809
    245
    84
    51
See reviews for
399
1,052
142
506
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We really enjoyed our four night stay at this hotel. This was the final stop of a three week tour, so were grateful to find that this hotel was a great way to finish our journeys. The service in this hotel is first class, staff always greet you, and it is nice to be remembered by your name.
When we arrived we were disappointed to find that our room did not really have a view, however, staff then went out of their way to provide a room to our satisfaction, and even gave us free breakfast vouchers to compensate, which we did not expect. The standard of service was maintained throughout our stay, and was consistent in all areas of the hotel. We particularly grateful to Timothy, who always came up trumps with an answer to any question we asked. It is also very useful that the hotel will carry out your flight check in for you.
Although rooms are on the small side, if you have stayed in a Paris hotel, then you will have a good comparison. However, we liked the quirky decor, and the room was well equipped and clean.
The hotel is ideally placed for all of the main attractions, with Union Square and the major shopping areas just down the road. Trams run from Union Square to other attractions, such as Fisherman's Wharf. If you are interested in theatre, then this is very nearby, but book early.
We ate in the restaurant, which again is a very attractive room, and all of our meals were excellent.
We really enjoyed the daily 5-6 pm wine tasting, which was a great way to unwind on returning to the hotel.If you feel so inclined you can even get a massage during this time. Highly recommended, but do make sure that your wine glass is full before you start.
Once again I must thank the staff for making our stay at this hotel so memorable. We loved SF and will definitely use this hotel again.
Don't hesitate, book it now !
PS The shuttle (Lorrie's) from the airport is very good, and you can book this from the hotel's website, under maps and directions. The hotel will then book your return journey, if you let front desk know.

Room Tip: Try and get a higher room, and if possible one facing outwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunsetbeach08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
273 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed just one night in this hotel. Small rooms, great location and very good, friendly service. Clean and inviting

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Monaco for 4 nights in May. We had a great visit. The room was clean and very comfortable. The desk staff was also very helpful. Monaco is in a good location for sightseeing, and you can get to most places pretty easily either by walking or on public transportation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to get away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamespowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Monaco for 6 days in June, and had a double-double room. Although there is some street noise at night, the hotel itself is quiet and comfortable. The room was clean and the bathroom was unexpectedly large. Beyond the beautiful surroundings of the hotel itself, the staff is what makes this a great experience. Eddy Lopez, one of the concierges, gave us spot-on directions on how to get the Alcatraz using the Muni. As travelers not accustomed to public trans, he made it so easy to navigate that we had extra time to enjoy the Pier upon arrival. On the public trans note, I do not recommend the cable car experience unless you are willing to wait 30-40 minutes in line in Union Square to catch one. We did it once, then got the good scoop from Eddy about the Muni, and never went back. The front desk was friendly and accommodating, and the staff at the Grande Cafe and Brasserie was excellent. We dined there on the first night and had the most delectable duck confit flatbread. I highly recommend this hotel for the staff, the accommodations, and the location. You can catch the Muni close by and shop at the incredible 5-level Westfield plaza at Union Square, with no need for a car. Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the end of a hallway on the opposite side of the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bethchr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2012

When asking for recommendations for local eats; Timothy (Fiji) was extremely knowledgeable and helpful! He gave us several recommendations and the one we chose was delicious!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank em b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to acknowledge Timothy! We really appreciate you choosing to stay with us, as we know you have many options when choosing a place to stay. I hope you'll both be back next time you come to San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We liked the monaco. We had a deluxe king suite, which was roomy and had a great view. We stayed at Hotel Palomar during our last visit, and this hotel was much roomier in the lobby and the staff was very friendly. We loved the bar, they comped us some drinks because we missed out on the wine hour at check in. Overall, very friendly, well-appointed and nice. The only downside was the room had a slightly mildewy smell to it. We didn't complain, as I think it was in the carpet or the air conditioning system Or maybe the building is just old. But it didn't largely detract from the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dineandwinelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,728 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,112 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#72 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing