We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
US$193
US$155
MysticHotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$571
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$265
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rex San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$252
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$246
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$285
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$315
US$266
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$248
US$183
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$451
US$362
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,992)
Filter reviews
2,992 results
Traveller rating
1,549
949
310
110
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,549
949
310
110
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel monacowine hourunion squarekimpton hotelsliving roomgeary streettenderloinwine receptioncomplimentary winejunior suitemini barfew blockseach eveningfree coffeehomeless peoplelocation is greatrooms are small
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,014 - 2,019 of 2,992 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The best thing about this hotel is it's location. It is two blocks away from the Union Square a center of San Francisco where all the shops are located.

The rooms are specious with a comfortable bad. The only thing I didn't like was that they still had those old TV's with a pretty bad resolution. It was hard watching new movies on them.

I did go to try a SPA and I have to tell you. It is not worth it. It small and the person that did my massage was a novice. She had cold hands, massaged my left hand and leg differently then the right one and overall was just unprofessional.

If you drive and want to live a car don't leave it with the hotel there is a garage park in the same building just to the side of it and it is 39 dolars per night instead of 50 per night.

Room Tip: Only suits have new flat screen TV's
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyprianc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

great location and value - would stay again. Nice Bar and lobby

Room Tip: higher floor
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oceanhuatulco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights in this hotel at the end of June. Our room was nice, clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly and attentive to details: we got some champagne, chocolate and a bigger room as we were on honeymoon! The food in the Grand Cafe is nice but pricey.
Special thanks to Keiko for her professionalism and her tips, we had the most delicious sushi ever thanks to her! I recommend this hotel for its location, the staff and the clean and spacious rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vimla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Even getting a last minute bargain, you are likely to pay quite a bit for this boutique hotel known for its high standard of service. The wine reception is nice; however, if you have visited wine country before going you may be disappointed. The free (chair) massage therapist working for tips in the wine reception was a nice touch. Our room was rather small and looked into an alley. Like most hotels in SF, you can expect to pay $50 for parking. All in all you may ask yourself was it really worth the price unless you get an outstanding deal.

Room Tip: We had a room with two double beds--it was quite cramped.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRuss82799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed 3 nights in a deluxe suite with my wife, 14 year old daughter and her friend. The separate living room was a real plus. The kids enjoyed having their own space. The bathroom was large and the tub spa was relaxing after long days of walking around San Francisco. The master bed was super comfortable. We liked the morning coffee service bar although a complimentary continental breakfast would've been nice for the price we paid for the room. The location is good. It's about a 5 minute walk from Union Square and access to BART and SF's excellent public transportation. One of the reason's we chose thte Monaco was for it's central city location. The no-host bar in the room was pricey, but offset by having a Walgreens across the street. All things considered, we highly recommend staying at the Monaco.

Room Tip: Suites are bigger and better for more than 2 travelling together.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VaaShaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews