We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Right in union square, modern rooms, amazing staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marker San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco
Ranked #43 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Right in union square, modern rooms, amazing staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have just left the hotel monaco San Francisco - we had a wonderful stay at the hotel as we were honeymooners they have us the back of the building so we didnt get the street noise and they also left a bottle of champagne which we didnt get to have due to jet lag ! The staff were amazing they were very helpful and always had the answers for us. We loved Jaspers restaurant just around the corner great food and great prices too - the only thing I can say I didn't like about the hotel was the menu it was a bit too fancy for my liking I feel there bar menu could if had some burgers or a more simple option. You are right in the heart of the shopping district and about a $15 cab ride to the pier - we tried to get the cable car but the lines were huge! I would highly recommend getting the free kimpton restaurant you will get free wifi with your log in and $10 to spend on the mini bar :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauzb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear lauzb88,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials. And thank you for choosing us for your honeymoon. I am sorry you did not get to sample the champagne.

Thank you for pointing out that our bar menu is more simple than the main dining room and we do offer options like burgers. Plus, you can order from the full dinner menu at the bar, as well.

As you stated, if you sign up for our guest loyalty program, you do receive complimentary Internet and a $10 credit to the mini bar. And we will also send you e-mails (if you opt-in) with our best offers. Not a bad deal for a free program.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    757
    223
    72
    45
See reviews for
357
970
129
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Was here for work..great spot..just a cab ride to great restaurants and shopping..friendly and very helpful staff..the atmosphere is wonderful..Rooms were warm and inviting and they have wine happy hour 5-6..good perk after a day of working.



Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in November for 3 nights. Well located for downtown, helpful staff and concierge. Rooms have been updated and are very nice and for a downtown hotel the rooms are nice and quiet. Only major gripe is the WIFI. You have to sign up to the marketing spam in order to get free wifi.

Message to the management- this is ridiculous. In any reasonable hotel nowadays you get free wifi, easily and instantly, having to sign up like that is taking the biscuit. You charge a lot to stay in your hotel (don't say oh well every hotel in SF does) and you could do better than try and reel me in to your marketing emails. It cheapens the "boutique" feel of the hotel and reflects poorly on your owners brand.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Midge651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Midge651,

Thank you for the positive comment about the Hotel Monaco and the staff. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

I am sorry to hear that you did not like signing up for our Kimpton InTouch loyalty program in order to receive complimentary wifi. There is the option to opt out of all of the e-mails, so that you will never hear from us. But, then you will miss out on our special offers and exclusive discounts.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

My wife and I stayed in the hotel Monaco for 2 nights on our honeymoon in August 2012. The hotel is perfectly located and ideal for exploring the city. The rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable.

By far the highlight of our stay was the exceptional service and care provided by the concierge and door staff - they went above and beyond the call of duty (giving their time, advice and recommendation) to ensure that our stay was truly wonderful!

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MickC-KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear MickC-KK,

Thank you for the “shout-out” for our concierge and door staff. I am so happy to hear you felt they went above and beyond the call of duty and they helped make your stay truly memorable.

Congratulations on your marriage. Feel free to come visit us for all of your anniversaries.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed at The Hotel Monaco last weekend with my husband and had a wonderful time. The location is conveniently located close to the ACT Theater and not too far from Union Square. The hotel is located on Geary Street which isn't as noisy as Powell St. which is a plus especially with the throngs of people and the cable cars on Powell. There are numerous restaurants located close to the hotel also. The staff is very friendly and very helpful with restaurant recommendations. We stayed at the hotel with a group of friends and were able to visit in the spacious lobby and enjoyed the wine hour from 5-6 p.m.

Room Tip: The rooms aren't large but are comfortable for SF
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diplaskow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear diplaskow,

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your weekend visit with us. We are lucky to have such a huge living room area where our guests can congregate. As you mentioned, we use that same space to serve our coffee and tea in the morning and our wine in the evening.

Please come back and see us when you are back again for another play at the ACT.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Selected this hotel as part of a travel package and was not disappointed. I was traveling for a business meeting and did not wish to stay at the large Hilton nearby - so this was my choice. At reception they were able to upgrade my room to a "junior suite" at a small cost premium. The staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful throughout the stay. The atmosphere was casual and fun. The room spacious, well furnished with great linens and bed. I liked the wine and cheese hour every afternoon in the comfortable lobby area as well as the coffee in the AM. After 5 nights I actually felt like I was going home. Only complaint was the noise level from the street. I was on the 6th floor facing Geary Street which can get quite noisy at night. You might ask for a quieter room off that street. That said, I would not hesitate to recommend as a great place to stay when in SF. Very convenient to Union Square and downtown but on the edge of the Tenderloin area.

Room Tip: Avoid room on Geary Street if you don't like noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VisitingProfessor_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Michael K,

Thank you for recommending us to your friends and colleagues. That is actually the highest compliment someone can give us.

A majority of our suites do face Geary Street. Depending on your tolerance for city noise, some guests find them very quiet and others find them incredibly loud. Again, it just depends on what you are used to.

We hope to see you on a future visit to San Francisco.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
309 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

My husband and I stayed five nights at the Monaco while he was in town on business. There were a couple of glitches but the hotel staff took care of them promptly and with great attention. First of all, it's a great location, just two blocks from Union Square, Macy's, etc. The lobby is old school gorgeous with a large "library" complete with cozy gas fireplace where complimentary wine and pretzels/cheese are served from 5-6 p.m. daily. We also received complimentary continental breakfast coupons with the package we booked online. The restaurant is wonderful in terms of decor - again, gorgeous with high ceiling, white tablecloths, all the amenities. We only had breakfast here because the dinner menu seemed a bit strange, pricey and rather limited; however, there are a ton of nearby restaurants to try. We especially liked the Daily Grill (a block away). Monaco rooms are small with a small closet and rather uniquely (modern) decorated but immaculate and the hallways, carpeting, woodwork - everything seems fresh and updated. We had problems with the wi-fi a couple of times but the staff took care of it quickly. I had to ask for a different hair dryer because ours kept cutting out; again, prompt service. There were three free newspapers to choose from, free morning coffee and afternoon "lemon water." The staff could not have been nicer. We chose the Monaco partially because of the fitness room but with only two treadmills it was a bit hard to access. A final note - the hotel was very quiet!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare46408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Clare46408,

We like when people are able to stay with us for multiple nights, because then you get to try out all of the different aspects of the hotel.

Please know that we are far from perfect. We do make mistakes and we can forget things. But, if you tell us what has happened, I promise that we will do everything we can to remedy the situation. I am happy to hear that was the case for you.

We have recently simplified our lunch and dinner menu in the restaurant. So, you will have to take another look the next time you are in town.

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,689 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,745 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco

Property: The Marker San Francisco
Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1640 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Marker San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing