We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #40 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So pretty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Really lovely room in a good central location. Kind of pricey to park. the weirdest thing was that housekeeping tried to clean my room at 8:15am. I would totally return to this hotel on my next San Fran trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Penuski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,302
    794
    238
    81
    51
See reviews for
391
1,034
140
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Monaco in September 2013 for 3 nights as part of our roadtrip along the West Coast and this little gem of a hotel made out visit to San Fran truly special! The rooms are unique and luxurious and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The only small negative was the pricey valet parking but that is to be expected in the centre of San Fran I suppose.
We enjoyed the free wine and snacks at 5pm every day we were there, which was a really lovely touch. I'm afraid we were antisocial and took it back to our room but were really impressed that this wasn't a problem with the hotel staff. We met lots of guests in the lift with glasses of wine doing the same thing as us!
We used the spa facilities which were lovely and clean and we were the only ones in there - perfect!
There are some reviews on here that talk about the surrounding area of the hotel being a bit 'dodgy' but I disagree. To be honest, there are a fair few homeless people in San Fran but then that's the same in most big cities.
It is a very short walk from the hotel up to Union Square where you can get the tram down to Fisherman's wharf. Just one tip, if you're there for 3 days and intend on using the tram every day (we did) then it's cheaper to buy a season ticket than it is to buy a single ticket each time you travel which can add up and end up being quite pricey! Whilst we're on the subject on walking up to Union Square, you must eat breakfast at Pinecrest diner which has a huge queue every morning so you can't miss it! They do the most amazing waffles and omelettes that keep you full for hours! Yum!
If we return to San Fran, which I hope we will, we will definitely stay at Hotel Monaco again. If you're not sure whether or not to go, please do! It really is lovely!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissNicolaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay and was able to mix in some fun on a business trip. They have great townie bikes for free. You can take a ride straight to Embarcadero and explore. I made back in time to enjoy the wine hour in the lobby. Very quaint and comfortable lobby with many seating areas. An added bonus was a free chair massage!
My room was clean, comfortable with great decor. It had an umbrella and a yoga mat. I really appreciated those extra touches.
My only negatives was that I missed having a coffee maker in my room.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Everything about this hotel is great. Service, cleanliness, and location.


There was lots of homeless around the hotel, if that makes you uncomfortable you may not enjoy yourself. If you self park down the street you can also save about 15 dollars a day on parking.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We went to San Francisco to celebrate birthdays. We have seen this hotel but never stayed there until now. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is absolutely wonderful. Lauren helped us at check in and with her great personality she made us feel very welcome! Thank you for making our birthday celebration an memorable one!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Loved the Artwork. Beautiful place. Great Restaurant attached as well. Location was perfect. I had a great time shopping and was able to walk just about anywhere. Watch out for the street people though. San Fran seems to have quite alot of them.- You may walk into a few puddles.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have really liked Kimpton hotels in other cities (Ink 48 in NYC is one of our faves). They have the "cool kid" vibe, and often have pretty nice perks (the drinks for $1 is a nice perk if they have it when you stay there--2 cocktails/night from the hotel bar for $1 added to the cost of the room. The service/check in was great--we got in early from our flight from the East Coast, and we were able to check in right away. The rooms are all very well-decorated. You can tell that they put a lot into renovating the hotel. However, my pet peeve is when hotels forget about renovating the bathroom (leaving the old shower/tub combo)--I feel like with a little more effort they could make a nicer bathroom with large walk-in showers instead of the tub, which no one uses. Although the decor in the room was great, the beds were WAY too soft, so neither of us slept well. Also, the location is very close to Union Square, which is great--in the center of the action, but you can definitely hear noise from the street. They had a complimentary afternoon wine tasting (my only gripe here is that the wine happened to be from Australia, and of course, we were looking forward to tasting some good Californian wines) and in the AM they have a complimentary coffee. My husband and I will likely consider this hotel again back in SF or perhaps another one of the KImptons.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelrabbit2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,062 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#72 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1640 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing