We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel chain!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #40 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great hotel chain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2008

The Kimpton chain is one of my favorites - they have great properties that are well-run, clean and nicely decorated. The Monoco in San Fran (and Chicago) are perfect for a fair price. The hotel staff is helpful, the food is great, the maid service is perfect. I can't say enough about how good Kimpton hotels are!

  • Liked — well-run hotel with great decor
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhileasFogg_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,302
    794
    238
    81
    51
See reviews for
391
1,034
140
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
526 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2008

From the moment we booked our room, we knew we had found a special hotel. The Kimpton group has done a beautiful job of restoring this majestic hotel into a whimsical delight that will please the senses.

The hotel staff is very professional and will go out of their way to make your stay a memorable experience. We met some of the nicest travelers who have made the Monaco their hotel of choice at the complimentary happy hour.

Our room was tastefully decorated in a whimsical theme of stripes and for the animal in each of us, the hotel supplied animal motif robes. The beds were so comfortable and the linens were of the highest quality.

PS I am not being paid for this review.

  • Liked — Too many to list
  • Disliked — No complaints from me
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linnbada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2008

Stayed for a long weekend while attending a conference. I honestly can't think of any complaints! Our room was SPOTLESS. Very friendly and helpful staff, and we rarely if ever heard any noise while in our room. I guess the only thing I didn't *love* was that about a block in one direction, the neighborhood became a bit sketchy and I wouldn't want to walk around at night by myself. Overall, a very nice stay. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HL950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvfarm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2008

I arrived at the Hotel Monaco quite jetlagged after a flight from Australia. Even though I arrived at midday, my room was ready and the check in process quick & corteous. My Suite faced onto Geary Street (2nd floor) but I found the room lovely and quiet and easily fell into a jetlagged sleep for the afternoon !
The room I stayed in was lovely - a separate lounge with TV, a huge plasma in the bedroom. Overall very clean and the furnishings unique, giving real character to the room, so it didn't feel like one of 1000 as the big chains can. The bed was divine - very comfotable and the bathroom beautifully appointed. I immediately felt very comfortable.

Strolling into downtown area was just an easy two block walk to Union Square past lots of lovely galleries & shops. The friendly Res staff gave me a map & suggested a walking tour.
Room service that night was great.

No complaints at all from me - the hotel was everything I expected and more - I'd definately recommend it.

  • Liked — Uniquely styled rooms, lovely cosy atmosphere in common areas
  • Disliked — Nothing !
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mvfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

My wife and I have just returned from a 7 day stay in the Hotel Monaco in San Francisco and were extremely impressed with the whole experience. The Hotel itself is situated two blocks from Union Square which is great location for shopping and eating but is still far enough away to avoid a lot of the traffic and noise you would expect from a City Centre. Although this location is moving towards the Tenderloin District mentioned by others there were certainly no issues around walking to and from the hotel and didn't give us any worries at all. You will encounter lots of homeless people and beggars throughout the city and this area was no worse than any other. The Monaco is a lovely boutique hotel with stripy wallpaper, canopies over the beds, large fireplaces in the common areas and staff dressed in rather strange velvet uniforms. Our room was on the 7th floor and was a decent size, extremely clean and had a unbelievably comfortable bed (difficult to get out of when your body is 8 hours behind!). As many others have pointed out the staff are very pleasant and will bend over backwards to help you with any questions / requests. We have stayed in more expensive hotels with fancier reputations than the Monaco but none have left such a good impression as this hotel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness & Service
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TSG_Go_Giants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise Idaho
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2008

We love the hotel. You can (and we do) request a goldfish in your room for your stay. The help is actually helpful, the elevator is quick (I think it knows by sensor when you are coming towards it) The rooms are very nice by any standard - but by "city standard" very good as well.

  • Liked — the staff, the elevator, the location was nice, but that doesn't seem overly important in SF
  • Disliked — hm, I guess the view of the RiteAid wasn't amazing...
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daninboise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Monaco 14 to 18 August 2008 and had a great time.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, without being intrusive, and the room was well appointed with a generous sized bathroom.

The hotel is in a great location for tourists (like we were!), being just a few minutes walk away from Union Square. Some reviewers have commented upon noise outside at night - hey, it's a city centre hotel, what do you expect?!

Our goldfish, Jay, was a lovely touch too - particularly appreciated by our 7 year old daughter, as was the rubber goldfish given to her by the bellboy one morning whilst we waited for a cab!

One last thing - you MUST try Dottie's True Blue Cafe for breakfast, one block from the hotel.

Thanks Monaco - when we get the chance to return to your great city we'll be sure to stay with you again!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Restricted storage space in the room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChilwellRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,061 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#72 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1640 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing