We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #39 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful hotel, perfect location”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel is beautifully decorated, friendly staff, complimentary tea and coffee, complimentary wine reception, easy walking distance to Union Square, very helpful and friendly staff, comfy beds. We'd highly recommend for anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristySmalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,356
    825
    252
    85
    53
See reviews for
411
1,070
147
516
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

First time we have stayed here but for sure we will be back.
As usual we put our trust in Tripadvisor and we came up trumps with The Monaco. As soon as our taxi dropped us off we knew we had made the right decision. The staff were the most welcoming we have experienced in a major city for a long time.
We booked a deluxe room and we were given 716 on the top floor, not much of a view but incredibly quite. Very convenient for everything ,just a couple of blocks from Union Square.
The concierge on duty for most of our stay was very helpful and suggested a great little restaurant Kim Than which is a 5 minute walk up Geary St.
Some very nice touches like the complimentary wine and cheese hour .
The Grand Cafe on site restaurant is great fun and a wonderful decor .
The hotel is also pet friendly.
This will be our base for any future visits to San Francisco!

Room Tip: We stayed in 716 which was very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed this past week for two nights at the Monaco having discovered the Kimpton chain last fall. Excellent location, close to Union Square, the cable cars and many good restaurants. The hotel room was small, but beautifully appointed, and comfortable bed. Happy hour was wonderful and so was the citrus water in the lobby. Free Wi-Fi is a good savings in the San Fran area hotels.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Very hip. Room was a bit small, but definitely a good value for a short stay! Mini bar was cool. Decor was cool. There was a chalkboard in the room which would be cool, but I don't really know what the purpose was. The bathroom was probably the best part. Well equipped. No view from the window though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coastj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Female business traveler stayed for 3 nights for a conference.
Pros:
Fun environment
Excellent staff
Good food
Fairly central location in downtown San Fran.

Cons:
$52 a day parking
Bathrobes need to be replaced

I'll be back for a pleasure trip in the future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sacha_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights starting our California honeymoon. It was great. Clean room with excellent service throughout hotel. Complementary champagne also kicked off our special trip and was very much appreciated.
Very good coffee in the morning to!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TeamHillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I always appreciate Kimpton's excellent value and customer service and Hotel Monaco was no exception. The room was large by downtown SFO standards and the décor added to the roomy feel. Housekeeping was not as thorough as I would have liked but overall the rooms and public areas are very well kept and do not look worn. A very nice restoration of a historic building; not just paint over the rust like many properties. WiFi signal and speed were excellent (10+ Mbps) from our 6th floor room.

As usual, I found the Kimpton staff members to be well-trained, friendly, and accommodating of our every request.

Room Tip: Call the front desk directly to make your reservation if you have particular needs or concerns about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyTakeFromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#31 of 228 in San Francisco
557 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 228 in San Francisco
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#54 of 228 in San Francisco
4,383 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#33 of 228 in San Francisco
1,993 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#72 of 228 in San Francisco
3,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing