We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #46 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed here for a one night business trip. The room though typical size in the city, is small by typical hotel standards. The fixtures and finishes in the room are very nice, updated and beautiful. The room and hotel overall are updated and very comfortable and free use of a bike is always cool in the city! Kiimpton hotel service is always impeccable and this hotel is no exception. Great place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear John T,
I am so happy to hear we lived up to your high expectations that were set at other Kimpton hotels.
Please come back and see us for more than one night the next time. Then, you can check out some of our other features like our spa.
Best,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,755)
There are newer reviews for The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,349 - 1,355 of 2,756 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We visited the hotel during Memorial Day weekend. We liked the hotel, but thought the staff was different. They seemed flustered and not very welcoming. When we got there the staff seemed a little overwhelmed (I think probably because it was busy). We asked if there was an early check in and they said that the cleaning staff was still working on it and they would call us when our room was ready. We checked in our bags and decided to wander around the city while we waited. At 4 pm we went back to see if our room was ready, since check in time was 3 pm and we didn't receive a phone call. We asked a different front desk associate and she apologized that no one called. They said that they were just busy. She gave us free drink tickets for their bar for the inconvenience, but then told us that they give them to everyone anyways.

Our room was small, but that is to be expected for a boutique hotel. It was decorated cute and was clean. The hotel gives you free wifi if you sign up for their membership and says that they can provide things like phone chargers if you forget them. The hotel also has a restaurant that you can eat at and wine hour with free wine. It is a nice hotel for couples; it has a romantic feel to it.

The location is about a 5 min walk to union square. It is good for using the public transportation, however it seemed to be on the border of the touristy union square, nob hill and some homeless shelters and a soup kitchen so be careful you are walking in the right direction.

Pros:
- Cute hotel
- Clean
- Free Wifi
- Free wine hour
- nice location

Cons:
- staff felt rushed like we unconvinced them
- location (be careful what streets you are walking down- on the border of union square, nob hill and homeless shelters/soup kitchen)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel_allsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very nice hotel in a great location near Union Square. The staff are all super friendly, and the restaurant/bar are also great. Free wifi which is a plus in hotels in San Francisco. There was a nice wine reception when we arrived. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamM00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear CynthiaH1978,
Thanks for recommending us. That is the sincerest form of flattery.
Best,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A warm greeting every time we walked by the front desk made my sister and I feel at home, and the hotel décor is fun, arty, and unique. The staff helped with restaurant recommendations and directions--always with a smile and a quick wit. We loved the location and the hotel was a good value for a big city. Yes, our window faced a tall brick building which gave the hotel a four star rating in my book, but all things considered, I'd definitely stay here again. Good service, ambience, and amenities--a delightful four days in the city. (written by Richard's wife)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardM5951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Richard M’s wife,
We always like it when guests can stay with a little longer, so we can get to know them better. I am glad you were able to experience our hospitality.
Please bring your sister back for another visit soon.
Best,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here in the summer of 2011, which apparently is before they renovated. The room we had was beautiful, I wouldn't have expected they'd be renovating in the next few years. We found the staff very friendly and helpful (except in the restaurant-- the bartender was a drag, but that was three years ago).

The location is great...IF you turn right out of the hotel towards Union Square. DO NOT venture left up Geary Street into the Tenderloin, especially after dark. Seriously, I wish I were kidding. That aside, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmK339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear EmK339,
If I am reading your review correctly, you stayed with us over 3 years ago. A lot has changed in San Francisco over the past three years. Yes, we renovated all of our rooms just one year ago. We think they look great. You can see the pictures on our website. And there have been a lot of bars and restaurants that have opened up to the left of the hotel on Geary Street. I hope you can come back and experience the changes.
Best,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel with a friend for 3 nights during our trip to San Francisco. The hotel is in a great location. Just a short walk to Union Square and the cable car.

The hotel is very nicely appointed. It was recently remodeled and sets the standard for the Hotel Monaco brand. The room was pretty spacious for San Francisco. The bathroom was very small. I love that they have bikes you can borrow to ride around the city. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HavePillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have stayed at the DC, Portland, Seattle and now San Francisco Monaco. The rooms are always spacious, decorated beautifully and very comfortable. The thing that brings us back time and time again is the service and experience. The wine hour, raid the mini bar, bring your dog or borrow a bike are some of the great perks to staying here.

The location of this Monaco is great for getting around downtown easily. The staff is so pleasant and great at taking care of all of your needs.

Room Tip: It is not a very tall building so if you are looking for a view of the city it is not great. We sta...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Melody B,
I, too, think the Monaco hotels are a lot of fun. But, I am clearly biased. You still need to visit the Monaco hotels in Baltimore, Chicago, Denver, Philadelphia, Alexandria, Salt Lake City and then you will have visited them all. I think you have set a great goal.
Best,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#56 of 230 in San Francisco
492 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
3,687 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#72 of 230 in San Francisco
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £151 - £564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing