We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #48 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 June 2014

One of the favorite places of SFO. The hotel is comfortable, recently modernized and very well located. I had the pleasure of staying there several times.

If the basic rooms are small, the suites are properly sized. They have been recently redecorated. This is not the design of a "W-like" hotel but it is nice .....without Plus.

The bathroom of the suite monte carlo we had, however, was border line (contour doubtful bath including: molds), large area but "genuine warmth". It would smart to separate bathroom and toilet and give at this bathroom a little more attention. Talking "jacuzzi" is also very conceptual and was misleading even if in fact the tub is jet

The staff is very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: rooms far from the lift if it's possible (noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HDLBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear HDLBruxelles,
We love to hear that this is one of your favorite places to stay in San Francisco. We did recently complete a major renovation of the guest rooms and we are happy to hear you approve. Our suites definitely offer more space and they have much larger bathrooms as compared to our standard rooms.
We hope to see you soon on a future visit to San Francisco.
Best,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,450 - 1,456 of 2,872 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights from May 17th to the 19. The location was very close to Union Square but also close to a rougher area. Not really the hotels fault. Rooms were smaller but typical for down town cities. They were clean with minor blemishes. The staff was very helpfull in typical kimpton fashion. Wine hour is always a plus. It's just hard to feel like your getting value when staying in SF. The rates you pay here in the city would get you suites in Napa. The $60 a day valet parking would leave a sour taste in most people's mouth... I will continue to stay at Kimpton hotels but maybe try the fisherman's wharf area next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Robert B,

Yes, hotel prices continue to climb and climb here in San Francisco. Our summer months tend to be extremely busy and that does not help. We hope you felt that our high level of service added some of that value back that you felt you may have been missing elsewhere. And always make sure to ask us about other parking options. There are less expensive (non-valet) options around the corner from us.
Best,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I am a local to San Francisco and spent one night here to celebrate my husband's birthday. The hotel staff was so helpful- my glasses broke and they went to extremes to help fix them. the room was fairly big- we had two double beds- the bathroom is huge. Coffee in the lounge in am and wine for happy hour. Just about 2-3 blocks down to Union Square. Public Transportation across the street, close to the cable car and can easily walk to the Embarcadero . Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: if they have a king bed - I would suggest that instead of two doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paris4us063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Paris4Us063,
I am happy to hear you guys had a nice birthday celebration with us. Most of our rooms have one queen bed. We do have a limited number of rooms with one king bed that are not suites. Otherwise, most of our kings are located in the suites, which will offer a little more room, but the prices will be a lot higher. Now, come back for your birthday.
Best,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at Monaco for two nights and had a great stay. The staff were great and very friendly with plenty of tips for getting around San Francisco. We made good use of the free bike hire to cycle across the golden gate bridge and also the free wine hour from 5-6pm. We stayed in the Mediterranean Spa Suite on the top floor which was a fantastic size, with a nice view of geary and taylor st plus all the mod cons and a very comfortable bed. The hotel is well located with easy walks to union square and market st and well located to bus stops. I would recommend Monaco to anyone wanting extra space at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lazo2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Lazo2310,
Yay! It sounds like you had a lovely time with us. You had a great room and it sounds like you really experienced the city. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our bikes, because it really helps you see more of the city .
Best,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel as part of our first wedding anniversary holiday celebration.
The hotel is in a great location a few hundred metres from union square. The hotel is quite traditional in decor with some quirky, individuality to the bedrooms.
The hotel has some great personal touches, free wine everyday between 5 and 6, free water tea, coffee in the lobby and the free use of a number of cosmetics as well as hair straighteners which was great for me as I couldn't use mine.
What made this hotel extra special for us was on the day of our wedding anniversary we came back to find a bottle of champagne and glasses. We didnt say it was our anniversary, the maids had just seen our cards in the room. In general service and staff in the US are helpful and happy but the hotel Monaco takes it to the next level, I would highly recommend.
I only have only have one piece of negative feedback and that was the lack of storage in the room which meant our room got very messy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katiebachd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Katiebachd,
I love when we surprise and delight people. It is harder than people think it is. I am not sure how we knew it was your anniversary, either. But, it means someone was paying attention and they acted upon that knowledge. Congratulations on your recent marriage. We are very happy for you.
Sometimes I recommend that people store empty bags with us in our locked storage closet. If you need a little extra room that can help.
Best,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Monaco hotel for two nights when we came to San Francisco for our first time. The staff was top notch, they did everything could to make our stay enjoyable. Wine hour at 5, free bikes to borrow, and not to mention comfortable modern room made our stay wonderful. We were sad to leave!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank NickAndMara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear NickandMara,
We were sad you left, as well. Please come back and see us, again, soon.
Best,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great location near Union Square and public transportation. The room had a cool modern feel, with free wifi as well. Every afternoon there is a fun happy hour to enjoy, and refreshing cucumber water all the time, no need to buy bottled water. Really love the Kimpton way, we have stayed at 3 in 3 different cities so far.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
3,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,758 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
541 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#67 of 230 in San Francisco
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1640 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £137 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing