We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Night's Sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #41 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
boston
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Good Night's Sleep”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We combined our family's summer vacation with college visits in California and started the adventure on August 12th in San Francisco. Four of us stayed in a suite at Hotel Monaco for one night, including my husband and our two teenagers.

Pluses:
- Helpful, courteous staff
- Comfortable beds and thick walls/curtains made for a comfortable sleep, helped also by air conditioning
- Layout of the room (Size isn't too bad considering you are in the city)
- Chilled citrus water in the front lobby
- Overall decor (Lobbies, "living room," room decor and small touches like fun robes)
- Morning coffee and juice bar (We missed the wine reception, which sounds lovely.)

Disappointments:
- As others have mentioned, the neighborhood has seen better days. Our teenagers, who often rush out to explore without us when we travel, decided to stick around the hotel.
- The "breakfast" line reminded me of lining up for rations at summer camp.
- This is a nit, but the grout/caulking in the bathroom tub needed a pick-me-up

Bottom line: A good night's sleep at a high price. The hotel is just fine for families, but waterfront options may better even better for travelers with children and teens.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear lisa028,
Thank you for such a comprehensive review with both the positive and the negatives. We appreciate all feedback and we always know we have room for improvement. I know you were only here with us for one night and I hope you can come back next summer for a longer stay.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,323
    807
    244
    84
    51
See reviews for
397
1,048
142
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge NZ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Great location to Union Square and many tourist attractions. We had a car and parking was easy at a near by car park, $25US per day. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. Had a room on the top floor 7. Rooms were clean and tidy, bed good except the pillows - needed to ask for softer flatter pillows. Internet free and most of the time worked really well.
Unfortunately we were not aware the restaurant and bar was closed due to being refurbished. The noise from the construction work was heard in our room, and was not nice when my husband was trying to have a rest in the afternoon or do some work. When discussed with the gentleman at the front desk he was very good and explained why they had not advised us of the situation ( we booked via Expedia) and was able to give us a discount. Thank you.
Breakfast was not a good experience. Our allocation was one pastry or scone and one piece of fruit per person plus juice and coffee. First morning we arrived a few mins after 9am (9:03) and they had already packed away everything and there was no offer of getting anything for us.
For anyone not use to big cities be aware in this area there are many street people begging or just in their own little world.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank RippeyCambNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear RippeyCampNZ,
I am sorry to hear you did not know our restaurant would be closed. It has caused some noise in the hotel. We will all be happy when the work is finished and we have our restaurant back.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay a night in San Fran for a night while on our way to Monterey. The hotel was super welcoming and friendly. The rooms were tight but really cool and clean. I was really happy to see how close it was to union square. We walked and walked and loved our visit.

This hotel is a no brainer

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Una L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Una L,
I am glad to hear you had a nice stay in our hotel. San Francisco is a walking city and definitely the best way to see the city. I hope you can come back.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was my first trip to San Fran so I didn't know what to expect, but I did expect more. This hotel was great even though the room was smaller than some I have stayed in NYC! The staff was friendly and accommodating at the hotel and restaurant. They even had a wine hour with snacks, which was a nice touch. My complaints come from the area the hotel was in which was awful and filled with drug users. If I went back I would recommend staying by the wharf. Overall I felt disappointed by the city, but thankful I had a great place to stay each night and was glad I spent the extra money!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amplexusomnium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Ash, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is a great hotel in a fantastic location right by union square.

The staff on the desk and the transfer driver were friendly and helpful Rooms were clean and well decorated.

What did disappoint me was that the hotel as shown on hotels.com are of the hotel how it used to be - with a highly rated restaurant and bar attached. If we had known that there would be no room service or bar in the hotel we would have probably gone elsewhere. It's more like a 3 star hotel without them but still at 5 star prices.

The breakfast service laid on to try to compensate was poor - with a grumpy attendant handing out the two pastries per person and the self-service orange juice and coffee often all gone.

In summary - when / if they have a proper restaurant and at least room service back then I'd recommend it, but until then there are better options.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Peter E,
I am so sorry to hear that you were not aware that the restaurant would be closed during your stay. It has been difficult for us to get that information out to everyone. The pastries we have been offering in the morning are just a way to hold people over until they can find a more proper breakfast. The complimentary breakfast has been a lot busier than we expected and we have been working to improve it. Our restaurant will be completed in January of 2015 and we hope you will come back then to try it.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is centrally located, just near Union Square and Market St. The BART subway (Powell St) is close by and the Moscone Conference center is about half a mile on foot.
There are plenty of shops, restaurants, banks and pharmacies surrounding the hotel, plus parking garages and a couple of car rental companies.

Although in a busy area, I didn't hear any outside noise with rooms clean, comfortable and quiet. They were spacious with en-suite bathrooms (something many San Francisco central hotels don't have as standard).

The wifi was fast and reliable - free when you signed up for their rewards program. The minibar was well stocked and they had a good list of complimentary products (toothpaste, deodorant, coffee) that the staff brought to my room very promptly. My only wish was to have a coffee marker in the room as standard so I could've made tea/coffee at my convenience.

The hotel did serve complimentary tea/coffee and fruit/pastries in the morning and offered a wine hour in the evening which was an added bonus! I didn't use the gym facilities but having a yoga mat and yoga/pilates TV channel in the room was excellent.

The staff were all very friendly, polite and professional. I will definitely stay again if I return to SF.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Victoria R,
I am happy to hear you had such a nice visit with us. We think our room are well insulated from noise, but some people are more sensitive than others. Overall, I am thrilled that you would stay with us, again. Let us know in advance of your arrival and we can have a coffee maker in your room.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Many thanks to the staff at Hotel Monaco, especially Marisa and Eddie for making our stay so enjoyable. As requested, there were rose petals scattered around the room and it looked even better than I thought it would!! We knew there wouldn't be a restaurant/bar coming in, so that was no big deal, and motivated us to check out more eating establishments. The Waterbar was a great place to celebrate our anniversary, but we found a little gem called Nob Hill Cafe that had the BEST bread and pasta I've had in a long time.

Room Tip: Choose a suite
See more room tips
Green Features: There were no requests asking guest to reuse towels or not change bedding daily.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaV_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear AnnaV_4,
We are so happy to hear you had a perfect anniversary. And thank you for the kind words about Marisa and Eddie. They loved being part of your perfect stay.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,722 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,105 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#72 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing