We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dodgy area, no duvet cover and phone call charges!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #41 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dodgy area, no duvet cover and phone call charges!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel was the last stop on our honeymoon. We had been spoilt in Las Vegas where we stayed at the Mandarin oriental and equally so at the modern Honolulu in Hawaii, so when we arrived and were told there was no restaurant or bar, due to refurbishment we were very disappointed. I completely agree with other reviews on here , the area is dodgy particularly at night with many homeless people wandering and asking for money as well as people hanging around in groups on street corners.
When we got to our room (Queen deluxe) , we were left a little underwhelmed. The room was small, however it was clean and tidy. Another grievance (not mine my Wife's) was the lack of duvet cover! The duvet was just placed between two flat sheets and therefore moved in the night for the duvet to then touch her skin, which she thought was very unhygienic!
As mentioned above due to there not being a restaurant we were given complimentary breakfast tokens , which allowed each person to a pastry and a coffee, disappointing. As we arrived very late in the evening and due to the area being some what concerning, we were recommended to order a take away. The concierge were helpful in making the call for us. On our last night we wished to eat out and couldn't get hold of concierge to make the booking for us, we dialled from our hotel room phone. On check out we were charged 8 dollars ( not that this is a big amount) for concierge calling the take away, then booking a reservation at one restaurant and for the 1 minute call we made on our last night. We were disgusted by this as the hotel provided no food or beverages and we had no other choice but to eat and drink out.
Overall this hotel is poor, the staff are helpful and friendly enough but this does not make up for the poor amenities and high prices. This hotel thinks it is a lot better than it actually is, we will be looking elsewhere if we go back to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Well, if our room was a queen deluxe, I'd hate to see the options below this!! Noisy, can hear...
See more room tips
Green Features: Toiletries were recycled other than this I can't really comment.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhodipeeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Rhodipeeey,
I am so sorry to hear that the end of your honeymoon was less than satisfactory due to some of the issues you had with our hotel.
If you would like to send me a private e-mail, I would be more than happy to remove the charges for the phone calls made to the restaurants. You are absolutely correct that you should not have to pay for those.
Again, I am sorry we did not even come close to your expectations. Once we have our restaurant back in operation next year, I think you would be much more satisfied.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,331
    809
    245
    84
    51
See reviews for
399
1,051
142
506
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is a nice hotel in the centre of S Francisco. Confortable and easy access to all amenities.
The only pathetic thing was the complimentary breakfast. Although complimentary it would have been better not to have offered it. Either you offer a breakfast or You do not offer it at all.
It is no good to have a coffee and one toffee and then have to complete the breakfast elsewhere. Its a nonsense. This requires managerial attention.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Franco C,
Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear you did not care for the complimentary continental breakfast. We will definitely take your suggestion under advisement and look at not offering the breakfast in the future.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Walking distance to Union Square. Top quality service in terms of staff and cleanliness. Standard size room and bathroom. Liked the design very much. The lobby is rather dark but this is part of their design I guess.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UtedB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear UtedB,
I am happy to hear you felt our service and cleanliness was top quality. We hope you can come back for a future visit.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

First time at this Kimpton. Vibe of hotel is trendy but still warm. Very good customer service. Room was super clean and functional - not huge, but this is San Francisco. Had less than a stellar breakfast in the hotel restaurant and without asking manager comped the meal. Pros.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear TheCains,
I am sorry to hear you had a less than stellar restaurant experience, but I am happy to hear we did not make you pay for it. As you may have seen, our restaurant is now closed for renovation and it will not reopen until January 2015. I hope we can provide you with a much better meal the next time.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We combined our family's summer vacation with college visits in California and started the adventure on August 12th in San Francisco. Four of us stayed in a suite at Hotel Monaco for one night, including my husband and our two teenagers.

Pluses:
- Helpful, courteous staff
- Comfortable beds and thick walls/curtains made for a comfortable sleep, helped also by air conditioning
- Layout of the room (Size isn't too bad considering you are in the city)
- Chilled citrus water in the front lobby
- Overall decor (Lobbies, "living room," room decor and small touches like fun robes)
- Morning coffee and juice bar (We missed the wine reception, which sounds lovely.)

Disappointments:
- As others have mentioned, the neighborhood has seen better days. Our teenagers, who often rush out to explore without us when we travel, decided to stick around the hotel.
- The "breakfast" line reminded me of lining up for rations at summer camp.
- This is a nit, but the grout/caulking in the bathroom tub needed a pick-me-up

Bottom line: A good night's sleep at a high price. The hotel is just fine for families, but waterfront options may better even better for travelers with children and teens.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear lisa028,
Thank you for such a comprehensive review with both the positive and the negatives. We appreciate all feedback and we always know we have room for improvement. I know you were only here with us for one night and I hope you can come back next summer for a longer stay.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge NZ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Great location to Union Square and many tourist attractions. We had a car and parking was easy at a near by car park, $25US per day. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. Had a room on the top floor 7. Rooms were clean and tidy, bed good except the pillows - needed to ask for softer flatter pillows. Internet free and most of the time worked really well.
Unfortunately we were not aware the restaurant and bar was closed due to being refurbished. The noise from the construction work was heard in our room, and was not nice when my husband was trying to have a rest in the afternoon or do some work. When discussed with the gentleman at the front desk he was very good and explained why they had not advised us of the situation ( we booked via Expedia) and was able to give us a discount. Thank you.
Breakfast was not a good experience. Our allocation was one pastry or scone and one piece of fruit per person plus juice and coffee. First morning we arrived a few mins after 9am (9:03) and they had already packed away everything and there was no offer of getting anything for us.
For anyone not use to big cities be aware in this area there are many street people begging or just in their own little world.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank RippeyCambNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear RippeyCampNZ,
I am sorry to hear you did not know our restaurant would be closed. It has caused some noise in the hotel. We will all be happy when the work is finished and we have our restaurant back.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay a night in San Fran for a night while on our way to Monterey. The hotel was super welcoming and friendly. The rooms were tight but really cool and clean. I was really happy to see how close it was to union square. We walked and walked and loved our visit.

This hotel is a no brainer

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Una L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monaco_GM, General Manager at The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Una L,
I am glad to hear you had a nice stay in our hotel. San Francisco is a walking city and definitely the best way to see the city. I hope you can come back.
Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,728 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,111 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#72 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a turn-of-the-century building in the heart of downtown San Francisco, The Marker, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, is located just steps away from the historic beauty of Union Square. Distinct among San Francisco's lifestyle hotels, the signature warmth permeates the property from the service to the design of the interiors. Surrounded by the city's top theaters, restaurants, museums and shops, the urban boutique hotel features 208 newly renovated, vibrant and stylish guestrooms. The Marker celebrates the vibrancy of the city and the dynamism of its guests through innovative programming and thoughtful service. Guests can enjoy thoughtful special amenities including unlimited PressReader access for the digital newsstand, bicycle rentals to explore the city, in-room spa services and more. The lobby living room's plush, over-sized couches and curated local activations beckon guests to stay a while and soak in the comfortable, social atmosphere while unique programs, steeped in local authenticity, connect guests to the best of the destination. In addition, guests can enjoy the hotel's new dining concept, Tratto, a spirited bar-driven restaurant serving rustic Italian fare with modern sensibilities and casual, communal-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marker San Francisco, A Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing