We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District
Ranked #188 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We checked in at 3:00. At 3:05 I told the desk we would be checking out the next am. Bath room light was out. Had 2 remotes to make
TV work. It didn't ! Had to carry luggage up a flight of stairs thru last years leaves. Room was filthy. When u look out the window you can see the mop and bucket. I dropped the remote, I found lots of dirt and change around the bed. The bed was old and very uncomfortable. AAA recommended this hotel. I won't use them to plan a trip for
Me again

Room Tip: Stay away from this place
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

We have made some changed in this hotel and we are looking at ALL of our reviews and finding out what our travelers want and need. So thank you for the info.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Sandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I selected the hotel for its location good experience with Howard Johnson in the past.However the room was not very clean, had stains every where and plumbing was poor.Toilet almost over flowed and TV had a big burn mark at the center of the screen. It was obvious that the place is not well maintained and badly needs renovation. Poor value for $200+ per night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
2  Thank Khalid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

We have the pricing according to the fair market value at the time it was a holiday weekend the prices are higher, however we do understand that for you it was not acceptable. We are very sorry and we have rectified many things at this hotel and are making upgrades. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I booked this hotel last minute via a discounted site at an excellent rate. I was looking for something within walking distance to attractions that included parking and this was by far the best deal. We often stay at hostels in private rooms and found this room at an even better rate.

I arrived late and the parking lot was full so I was instructed to park on the side of the street which I did and had no issues overnight. The next day there was a space available in the garage so I moved our vehicle in there where I still had no problems. The rooms and breezeways are very dated but I spent so little time in the hotel that it really didn't matter. I found the room to be clean and have no complaints about the cleanliness. I did not have any problems with noise however I can see how some people could have complaints especially when the hotel is busy just based on the layout of the hotel. They had free wifi and offered a breakfast in the morning which consisted of packaged danishes, fruit, coffee and juice. Nothing special but at least there was some fruit I could take on the road for the day. The desk staff wasn't overly helpful but I was able to use their wifi to answer most of my questions. The hotel was in a good location, had restaurants nearby and was within walking distance to Lombard Street and Fisherman's Wharf.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juneflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Thank you for the fair and honest info. regarding our hotel. We are a limited service budget hotel, however customer service can always be improved. We are making changes and trying to make this a better hotel and yes we have a great locations. Thanks again for your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed in early May '14. We were pleasantly surprised w/this hotel. The staff is friendly, the rooms were very clean, the bed's firmness was perfect...not too soft nor too firm. It was quiet for us, we didn't hear any street noise nor noise of other guests. One drawback, no elevator. The location is great, right between Golden Gate bridge and Fisherman's Wharf area!

Room Tip: request 1st level if you have knee issues or heavy luggage, no elevator
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyoti P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for the feedback, we are updating many things, and it is nice to see it is making a difference, we agree we do have a great location. within walking distance to many things. Thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vino P, Manager at Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#135 of 229 in San Francisco
639 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#140 of 229 in San Francisco
217 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#115 of 229 in San Francisco
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#130 of 229 in San Francisco
160 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#118 of 229 in San Francisco
507 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#146 of 229 in San Francisco
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District

Address: 1940 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2807 (Formerly Ramada Limited San Francisco/By the Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £142 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited - San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Ramada San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing