We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”
Review of La Luna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Luna Inn
Ranked #166 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Good value and location. Although not by Fisherman's Wharf, close bus line and restaurants you can walk to. Small room. The staff were exceptional, and very knowledgeable. Breakfast was fine, and great that they had parking and could print out the boarding passes, especially when we got in the wrong lane to return the rental car and running a bit late, so did not have to deal with the passes. I walked a lot, and walked down to the Marina Road. Comfortable beds, could use a small fridge, to keep drinks cold.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

I'll start with the pros...clean room, comfortable bed. Here are the cons...Traffic so loud outside the room that we couldn't hear the TV. Air conditioning did not work. No hot water for the first two days. Housekeeping missed cleaning our room 2 days out of the 4 we stayed there. Had to go down to the office and get our own towels and toilet paper. The bathroom door did not fully shut and the entry door had such a big gap that I could see outside with the door closed and locked. I would never stay here again...there are better choices.

Room Tip: All rooms face the street and will be noisy. No quiet rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy60319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This was our first stay in this motel. Location was excellent, in Cows Hollow, just a few minutes
from the Golden Gate Bridge. Our room was spacious and fairly quiet. We did find that it could
have used more lights. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly. Parking, wi fi and continental
breakfast were included. Breakfast was really limited, just toast, English muffins and cooked
cereal and the dining area was very small. We were a short walk away from a main street
that had a large selection of reasonably-priced restaurants and for those who require a more
substantial breakfast, there was a diner about a block away. Would recommend, but be prepared
for the limited breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcothibault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

What a surprise of a motel in a great location. My check in was swift into my queen room located in the building behind the front desk, room 10, ground floor. Upon entering I was shocked at how well decorated and spotless it was. My sleep was restful with ear plugs as a busy Lombard street is just outside. But I always sleep with ear plugs so this was not an issue.

There was PARKING!!! This particular area, the Marina District is a really tuff place to find parking. But this hotel has off street parking.

The price was incredibly reasonable for my queen room, what I believe was the lowest rate, AAA.

Having stayed at two other motels in the immediate area and two large hotels, downtown, La Luna would be my absolute first choice when staying in San Francisco in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are close to the street, bring ear plugs to ensure a quiet night sleep. Also, there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The only thing I liked about this place was the bed and the fact that the air conditioner worked. Charged us a ridiculous amount for such a mediocre hotel... we booked a different hotel (upscale and fifty times nicer) our last night in San Francisco for ONE HUNDRED dollars cheaper. This place looks pretty seedy from the outside. Thank goodness the inside of the room is cleaner than it's curb appeal. The location is decent, walking distance to good shops etc but MOST hotels in the area are in a good spot. This was a complete rip off. Not to mention the guy behind the desk had an attitude with us upon check out because we needed to charge a different card for one of the nights. How inconvenient for him. Will never go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SM04travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Large room , king size bed , one desk chair , no other chairs , stayed 2 nights , had to ask for another bath towel ( 2 of us) next night no wash clothes ,door lock not good ,one good push & some one could have gotten in , so put our one chair in front of the door , way to bright in room from hall way lights , & dark lighting in the bathroom . Breakfast was a joke , don't waste your time , did have free parking if you got there @ the right time , Very small parking spots ,could hear people upstairs walking around & people next door talking & coming & going .road noise also.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VGA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The hotel is on busy Lombard Street, but if you ask for a room in back you can't hear the traffic. It is conveniently located to transit and it's an long, but easy walk, in nice neighborhoods to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ferry Building. The real advantage to this place is the free parking. We didn't have to get to the airport until early evening, and they even let us leave the car after checkout. We must have lucked out on a room or got a recently remodeled room because the furniture was new and the bathroom was urban cool.

Room Tip: Rooms in back have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveladdict032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#145 of 230 in San Francisco
153 reviews
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#132 of 230 in San Francisco
664 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#142 of 230 in San Francisco
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#126 of 230 in San Francisco
512 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#114 of 230 in San Francisco
775 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Luna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Luna Inn

Address: 2599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2503 (Formerly Pacific Motor Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £77 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Luna Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We combined smart and stylish, custom designed furnishings with just enough 1960s "Motor Inn kitsch" to create a fun, whimsical atmosphere at La Luna Inn. The interior of our guest rooms feature all custom designed furnishings, pillow-top mattresses, plush bedding and modern amenities including flat screen TVs and free wireless internet access. All in addition to free parking and complimentary lite continental breakfast served every morning in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Luna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Luna Hotel San Francisco
La Luna Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing