We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Luna Inn
Nearby Hotels
Beck's Motor Lodge(San Francisco)
US$252
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$366
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$348
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$346
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Diva(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$465
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$386
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
US$488
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$290
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (703)
Filter reviews
703 results
Traveller rating
74
240
240
89
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
240
240
89
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe golden gate bridgechestnut streetpalace of fine artsmarina districtbusy lombard streetfree continental breakfastfisherman's wharfbus stopbeds were comfortablesfwalgreensneighborhoodbayuber
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 703 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The location was good, you are walking distance from shops and restaurants, some which were really nice. The staff were friendly and gave us lots of advice about how to get around and get bus/tram passes.

I wouldn't bother at all with the breakfast here, it is so limited that we couldn't find anything filling. You basically get a choice between oatmeal and English muffins. Each morning I just made a hot chocolate and then walked up the road to a really nice diner which did excellent cheap breakfasts.

The room was pretty basic, no fridge or microwave. But it was comfortable enough. You could get orange juice or coffee any time for free from reception. The area felt safe and I really enjoyed San Francisco. Book in advance for Alcatraz tours, especially the night ones as they fill up a long way in advance! Really fun trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarbleMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear MarbleMagic,

Thank you for your review of La Luna Inn. We are happy you enjoyed our location and value and that you had a fun trip to San Francisco. We hope to welcome you again!

Regards,
La Luna Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The La Luna Inn is a good value on a budget. If you want to stay in a great and convenient neighborhood at a really low price, this is it. Located right next to the Presidio of San Francisco at the edge of the Marina district, it is a really good location on Lombard Street.
Check out the Presidio and the Disney Family Museum in it! Very cool!

The room was clean and spacious with a view of the Golden Gate Bridge. It featured a refrigerator and an ironing board. I would have loved a Microwave, but no dice. The street facing room was a bit noisy for my family, not used to city sounds.

The La Luna Inn serves a Continental Breakfast - not great shakes, but again, for the budget traveler it's good enough. One suggestion to them would be to have things you can grab and go. As it is, all of the stuff has to be prepared - toast, oat meal, etc.

All in all, I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_M48406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear David_M48406,

Thank you for taking the time to review La Luna Inn. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the value of our hotel, our location and our amenities. Thank you for the recommendation on the breakfast, we will definitely take that into consideration.

Regards,
La Luna Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Cute little style. Our room was rather small but was clean and decently taken care of. Small parking spots and limited but free! No bath tub in our room. Also no mini fridge or micro wave. Comfy beds and pillows! All in all one of the better motels I have been to!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Jessica S,

Thank you for your review of La Luna Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our facilities. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Regards,
La Luna Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This former motor inn of years gone bye has been turned into a decent boutique-type hotel. It's location on busy US 101 towards the Golden Gate Bridge make it a + and a - all at the same time. Noisy if your room faces the street, but we saw the reviews and everyone- including the very friendly and helpful staff - told us to request a room on the 3rd (top) floor in the rear. Very little noise in our large, nicely appointed room. Shower stall is small, but bathroom is standard size. The location was great for us as the property offers FREE parking which is a premium in San Francisco (where many of the downtown hotels charge $40, $50 and up per night to just to park!!). We took public transportation at .75 each to Ghiradelli Square-Fisherman's Wharf-Pier 39 waterfront tourist area. Took multiple trips the cable cars and more. For two days we never had to take the car out!! HUGE savings in gas + parking + time!! We even walked (about 15 mins.) to the Presidio of SF where the wonderful Walt Disney Family Museum is located. Two nearby restaurants/shopping neighborhoods really make this a great find in the City by the Bay.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room away from the street and on the top, 3rd floor. You'll never notice the traffic!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LT7744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear LT7744,

Thank you for your kind words about La Luna Inn. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a fun vacation. We hope to welcome you again!

Regards,
La Luna Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This place surely was the gem of the Hotels we stayed in San Francisco. The location great, The staff amazing. The rooms huge, clean & user friendly. Abit noisy but hell you are in the guts of San Francisco. The breakfast average but then they tell you this when you check in. Would stay here again with no apprehension.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel. Still abit noisy as our rooms backed onto a side street which we didnt realise. Take earplugs if you dont sleep well. But after walking around all day sleep was not a problem in those large comfy beds.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Wendy C,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at La Luna Inn. Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you again soon!

Regards,
La Luna Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews