We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of La Luna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Luna Inn
Ranked #165 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. Clean rooms, comfy bed. Very noisy, busy street. A definite plus is the free wifi! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Close to restaurants and shops. Big bus stops at the door every morning at 9 and 9:30 to pick you up for a tour.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear CathyAllaerts,

Thank you for choosing La Luna Inn for your recent trip to San Francisco. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and value and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards,
La Luna Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights. It's small hotel but in a good location.. 5 minutes drive away from GG Bridge. Little bit noisy in front rooms which facing the street so make sure to avoid it. Neighborhood is safe.. Vary good surface and front disc.. Thanks La Luna for the hospitality

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Fahad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Fahad A,

Thank you for choosing La Luna Inn for your recent vacation. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our location & our friendly staff. We appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards,
La Luna Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The rooms were clean, bed was very comfortable and clean and we found the location good. Very informative staff to help you with whatever you need. The continental breakfast is lacking however. This accommodation is on a busy street so it can be a bit noisy but after full days touring around it did not keep us awake. A 20 minute walk to Fisherman Wharf or you could catch a bus right outside the door. Close to Chestnut street where there was all kinds of cafe's, bars and markets, etc. where most locals go and out of the busy tourist area of Fisherman's Wharf. There is a drugstore and liquor store within the block.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kerri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Kerri C,

Thank you for choosing La Luna Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, friendly staff and comfortable beds. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards,
La Luna Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night on the way south. The room we stayed in was small and faced the street but didn't bother us too much. The room was clean and looks like it had been refurbished but the carpet was stained and had an iron scorch mark. Wifi was good. The breakfast was simple - oats, toast, fruit, coffee and juice - but that was fine for us. The breakfast area was small considering the number of rooms here so you may need to wait to get a seat. Staff are friendly and efficient. Close to Golden Gate Bridge and town. All up it is worth a visit and we would stay again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Amanda C,

Thank you for taking the time to review La Luna Inn. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our location, clean rooms and wi-fi. We hope to welcome you again on your next trip through San Francisco.

Regards,
La Luna Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I had a terrible experience at la luna inn. After trying to book the standard room and being told there wasn't any left I was convinced to do the deluxe king room and promised a view. There was a view of an alley and a wall. We stayed one night and the rooms were comparable to any $70 I've ever stayed in. We decided it wasn't worth another $350 and when I went to ask politely about cancelling I was met with defensive rude attitude. We were told the manager would call us and when they never did we headed back and the lady gave us some mixed up stories about how "he said..." I interjected the manager is a lady and she said "yes she said to tell you..." anyways it took a lot of back and forth to get out of a room without a cancellation fee. It was awful I'd never go back or recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The location was good, you are walking distance from shops and restaurants, some which were really nice. The staff were friendly and gave us lots of advice about how to get around and get bus/tram passes.

I wouldn't bother at all with the breakfast here, it is so limited that we couldn't find anything filling. You basically get a choice between oatmeal and English muffins. Each morning I just made a hot chocolate and then walked up the road to a really nice diner which did excellent cheap breakfasts.

The room was pretty basic, no fridge or microwave. But it was comfortable enough. You could get orange juice or coffee any time for free from reception. The area felt safe and I really enjoyed San Francisco. Book in advance for Alcatraz tours, especially the night ones as they fill up a long way in advance! Really fun trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarbleMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear MarbleMagic,

Thank you for your review of La Luna Inn. We are happy you enjoyed our location and value and that you had a fun trip to San Francisco. We hope to welcome you again!

Regards,
La Luna Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The La Luna Inn is a good value on a budget. If you want to stay in a great and convenient neighborhood at a really low price, this is it. Located right next to the Presidio of San Francisco at the edge of the Marina district, it is a really good location on Lombard Street.
Check out the Presidio and the Disney Family Museum in it! Very cool!

The room was clean and spacious with a view of the Golden Gate Bridge. It featured a refrigerator and an ironing board. I would have loved a Microwave, but no dice. The street facing room was a bit noisy for my family, not used to city sounds.

The La Luna Inn serves a Continental Breakfast - not great shakes, but again, for the budget traveler it's good enough. One suggestion to them would be to have things you can grab and go. As it is, all of the stuff has to be prepared - toast, oat meal, etc.

All in all, I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_M48406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDM, Manager at La Luna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear David_M48406,

Thank you for taking the time to review La Luna Inn. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the value of our hotel, our location and our amenities. Thank you for the recommendation on the breakfast, we will definitely take that into consideration.

Regards,
La Luna Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#135 of 231 in San Francisco
688 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#142 of 231 in San Francisco
154 reviews
Marina District
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#182 of 231 in San Francisco
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#117 of 231 in San Francisco
436 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#141 of 231 in San Francisco
226 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Luna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Luna Inn

Address: 2599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2503 (Formerly Pacific Motor Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £75 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Luna Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We combined smart and stylish, custom designed furnishings with just enough 1960s "Motor Inn kitsch" to create a fun, whimsical atmosphere at La Luna Inn. The interior of our guest rooms feature all custom designed furnishings, pillow-top mattresses, plush bedding and modern amenities including flat screen TVs and free wireless internet access. All in addition to free parking and complimentary lite continental breakfast served every morning in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your La Luna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Luna Hotel San Francisco
La Luna Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing